Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars emblematic Clarke novel: big on ideas, if less so on character
This is a very solid sci-fi novel, a scenario of the future that is complex and unpredictable. It is not about swashbuckling adventure, but paints a vivid picture of a future world with absolutely wonderful details, from the hand-held computing device that records every moment of your entire life - if you can find where you filed it, such as a strange howling on the...
Published on 30 May 2011 by rob crawford

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining concept of Clarke's original Saturn Dreams
Upon reading Imperial Earth, I could not help but think of how 2001 the book and the movie were so different - and that this book, written shortly after the movie premiere was in many ways a second try for Clarke to bring life to Saturn.
Though that doesn't deter the quality of the book at all.
Clarke introduces time-old experiences of life in a colony against...
Published on 2 Mar 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining concept of Clarke's original Saturn Dreams, 2 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Imperial Earth (Paperback)
Upon reading Imperial Earth, I could not help but think of how 2001 the book and the movie were so different - and that this book, written shortly after the movie premiere was in many ways a second try for Clarke to bring life to Saturn.
Though that doesn't deter the quality of the book at all.
Clarke introduces time-old experiences of life in a colony against a vast, yet remote empire - paralleled mildly to the three hundred year ago colonization of the Americas by the Britsh empire. In Imperial Earth, these ideas of colonization are reminded over and over again - from the comminque and travel time difference from Titan to Earth, to the sheer isolation that Titan has as a community within our solar system.
The part I enjoyed was Duncan's time while on Earth. I especially like the company Enigma - makes me wish we had a company like them now!
On whole, Imperial Earth is an enjoyable read, enough to spend an afternoon with, but not deep enough that you will live with it long after you read the final decisions that Duncan has to make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars emblematic Clarke novel: big on ideas, if less so on character, 30 May 2011
By 
rob crawford "Rob Crawford" (Balmette Talloires, France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Imperial Earth (Paperback)
This is a very solid sci-fi novel, a scenario of the future that is complex and unpredictable. It is not about swashbuckling adventure, but paints a vivid picture of a future world with absolutely wonderful details, from the hand-held computing device that records every moment of your entire life - if you can find where you filed it, such as a strange howling on the moon's surface that the narritor hears- to the neural stimulator that functions as a kind of drug, permanently altering the brain in unforeseen ways. It also brings in cloning as an issue as well as the economics of supporting a colony far far away from Earth, all with systematic musings that completely surpass normal sci-fi standards. WHile these aspects may sound fantastical, they are woven in to a rather mundane story that drags a bit in the middle, but winds down to a surprise at the end.

Recommended. Clarke was one of the absolute best. He will be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book, 6 Mar 2014
By 
Miss L. M. Preece (east sussex, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imperial Earth (Paperback)
bought this as my old copy had fallen apart. a must have in your book collection and never tire from reading it. would recommend to everyone. a timeless classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Imperial Earth, 19 Feb 2013
By 
Thomas Sandstrom "Corwin56" (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imperial Earth (Paperback)
In my mind one of the great Clarke novels. It ties together the projected science and life on future Titan with politics and developments on Earth and the satelites. This is probably THE novel when todays SmartPhones were first described. This is a very good novel from one of the grand masters of SF
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oldie but Goldie, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imperial Earth (Kindle Edition)
Although his optimism seems to sometimes get the better of him. Here we are in 2013 and still war and poverty are the hallmarks of human existence in sharp contrast to Mr Clark's utopian vision of 2001. Nonetheless he is an extraordinarily visionary. So much of the technologies he wrote about before the Apollo lunar landings has now become everyday familiar items.

The book is a great read the characters are believable and well fleshed out and the plot is both engaging and intriguing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Imperial Earth
Imperial Earth by Arthur C. Clarke (Hardcover - 28 Oct 2005)
Used & New from: £37.10
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews