Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bravo Ava Maria!
I bought this trilogy after reading Lucia Lucia and loved it even more! I totally immersed myself in the world of the central character, Ava Maria, and her life in Virginia. There are no great twists and turns, just wonderful observational story-telling. I aslo got to care about all of the characters in the book, my favourite being Fleeta, whose pearls of wisdom I copied...
Published on 15 Feb 2010 by Ms. Nancy Buckland

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Holiday read
I chose this book for a reading group. It was Ok but I wouldn't read more of the same type
Published 16 months ago by J. Woods


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bravo Ava Maria!, 15 Feb 2010
By 
Ms. Nancy Buckland "foxymissb" (Liverpool, Merseyside United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Stone Gap Trilogy: "Big Cherry Holler", "Big Stone Gap", "Milk Glass Moon": Big Stone Gap, Big Cherry Holler, Milk Glass Moon (Paperback)
I bought this trilogy after reading Lucia Lucia and loved it even more! I totally immersed myself in the world of the central character, Ava Maria, and her life in Virginia. There are no great twists and turns, just wonderful observational story-telling. I aslo got to care about all of the characters in the book, my favourite being Fleeta, whose pearls of wisdom I copied and use as my own. It's a big whopper of a book to read but the three novels are just the right length - and when you finish you'll want to read more. I loved everything about this trilogy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warms your Heart, 15 Feb 2007
By 
Ms. Martina M. Buggle (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Big Stone Gap Trilogy: "Big Cherry Holler", "Big Stone Gap", "Milk Glass Moon": Big Stone Gap, Big Cherry Holler, Milk Glass Moon (Paperback)
I bought this book because it was on special - I could not put it downn. I could actually smell the mountains and visualise the seasons changing in Big Stone Gap. I sat up half the night reading the first book because I could feel Ave Maria's loneliness, Jack Mac's longing for her and the desperation of Mrs. Mac for her son to be happy and Ave Maria to wake up and grab that man with both hands. I swore to myself if our heroine the all round do gooder Ave Maria spent her life getting involved with other people because she was so scared of feeling or getting hurt and Jack Mac loved her for ever. He just got her, he just sat back and waited and with a hell of a push from his Mom, Ave Maria started to feel. Can't wait for the movie!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BIG STONE GAP TRILOGY, 4 Feb 2011
By 
Anne Burleson "anniescot" (Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Stone Gap Trilogy: "Big Cherry Holler", "Big Stone Gap", "Milk Glass Moon": Big Stone Gap, Big Cherry Holler, Milk Glass Moon (Paperback)
THIS IS ONE THE MOST ENGAGING AND ENJOYABLE SET OF STORIES THAT I HAVE READ IN AGES. ACTUALLY, I HAD ALREADY READ ALL OF THEM AND THIS SET WAS FOR A GIFT. HOWEVER, I REREAD MY SET AND ENJOYED THEM JUST AS MUCH AS I DID ON MY FIRST READING. I DON'T ENJOY ALL OF TRIGIANI'S NOVELS BUT THIS THESE I CAN HIGHLY RECOMMEND. YOU WON'T BE ABLE TO PUT THEM DOWN , I PROMISE YOU! ENJOY .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Stone Gap Trilogy, 1 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Big Stone Gap Trilogy: "Big Cherry Holler", "Big Stone Gap", "Milk Glass Moon": Big Stone Gap, Big Cherry Holler, Milk Glass Moon (Paperback)
I bought this as a Christmas present for my sister-in-law, having read all of Adriana Trigiana's books. The three books in one is great as after reading Big Stone Gap, you can't wait for the next part of the story. Trigiani is one of my favourite writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars listening to a friend, 14 Nov 2009
This review is from: The Big Stone Gap Trilogy: "Big Cherry Holler", "Big Stone Gap", "Milk Glass Moon": Big Stone Gap, Big Cherry Holler, Milk Glass Moon (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book a lot, so much so that it is one of my all time favs. The book hit on topics very close to my heart and I felt that I was listening to an old friend, so much so that I am taking my own sweet time finishing it, and will probably re-read it many times in the future!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful read!, 8 Sep 2005
By 
BEH (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Big Stone Gap Trilogy: "Big Cherry Holler", "Big Stone Gap", "Milk Glass Moon": Big Stone Gap, Big Cherry Holler, Milk Glass Moon (Paperback)
This collection was bought on a whim, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. Trigiani's writing is beautiful, eloquent and evocative. This book immerses you in a time and place far away from here and now, but the people and emotions easily draw you into her world. I wanted to read this giant collection non-stop, and took the book everywhere with me, but at the same time I didn't want it to end. A truly wonderful read to keep and read again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reading, 1 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Big Stone Gap Trilogy: "Big Cherry Holler", "Big Stone Gap", "Milk Glass Moon": Big Stone Gap, Big Cherry Holler, Milk Glass Moon (Paperback)
This book puts a smile on your face. Beautifully written with laughtet, love and tears. You will not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Stone Gap Trilogy: "Big Cherry Holler", "Big Stone Gap", "Milk Glass Moon": Big Stone Gap, Big Cherry Holler, Milk Glass Moon (Paperback)
Great book and very fast delivery. Thankyou.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great new find, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Stone Gap Trilogy: "Big Cherry Holler", "Big Stone Gap", "Milk Glass Moon": Big Stone Gap, Big Cherry Holler, Milk Glass Moon (Paperback)
I recently read The Shoemaker's Wife by Adriana Trigiani and enjoyed it so much that I purchased the Big Stone Gap series. These three novels did not disappoint. An insight into American rural life and a family story of ups and downs join together to make an enthralling read. Purchased Home to Big Stone Gap after reading these three to find out what happens to Ave Maria and her family - it is good to find a new author I have not read previously and enjoy the books so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Stone Gap Trilogy: "Big Cherry Holler", "Big Stone Gap", "Milk Glass Moon": Big Stone Gap, Big Cherry Holler, Milk Glass Moon (Paperback)
not just a story - but a history lesson as to how shoes were hand made and marketed earlier this century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews