Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent companion to learn anatomy
Anatomy is one of the fundamental aspect of medicine. This is also why there are so many different books out there! Being a student from Birmingham, anatomy is not known to be our strength hence we know which book not to use, and at the same time every good anatomy material is good news to us and Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy is definitely one of the favourite! Simply...
Published on 28 Oct. 2011 by Particle88

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Quality not worth the financial saving
I was very disappointed as this was a secondhand cheaper copy. It was tatty and scratched. I have seen this book new in hardback and the picture are extremely vibrant. The print on this copy was flat, smaller and bland. I really wish I had spend the extra money as the quality was not worth the saving.
Published 4 months ago by penelope zikic


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent companion to learn anatomy, 28 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Atlas of Human Anatomy: with Student Consult Access, 5e (Netter Basic Science) (Paperback)
Anatomy is one of the fundamental aspect of medicine. This is also why there are so many different books out there! Being a student from Birmingham, anatomy is not known to be our strength hence we know which book not to use, and at the same time every good anatomy material is good news to us and Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy is definitely one of the favourite! Simply the fact the illustrations are done by Frank Netter has already earned a positive review, but the material it accompanies with this book is unbelievable. Available by activating the book on Student consult allows access to: image library, clinical library, MCQ, Clinical pearls, clinical cases, 3D tv, Dissection videos. The diagrams in the book are well drawn, clear and well labelled. Different views are also available, whether it's basic radiograph or cross-sectional images. This will help students to learn the parts fairly easily. As the title suggests, it is only an atlas, so no clinical information or explanation are provided in the book. However, its only weakness (lack of clinical information and explanation) is also its strength, being purely an atlas, the simplicity allows student to appreciate the beauty of anatomy. It is difficult to judge the value in revision (especially as different institutions have different style and systems in teaching and assessing anatomy) but in my humble opinion, it is definitely helpful in the initial exploration, maintaining of interest and appreciation in anatomy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atlas of Human Anatomy - Frank H Netter MD, 5 April 2011
By 
Mr. Graham Pillage "GPTRIDENT" (Solihull, U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Atlas of Human Anatomy: with Student Consult Access, 5e (Netter Basic Science) (Paperback)
As a retired engineer with a fascination for anatomy, I can safely recommend this book to anyone. I have been studying this volume together with Gray's, and although they both have their benifits, when one considers that the illustrations in this volume are paintings by Netter, one is really in awe of such work. In particular, for an enthusiastic amateur, these illustrations miss vitually nothing. I found that the illustrations showing muscle attachments and their insertions, a massive help in understanding the overall joint assemblies and their function.

This volume is strictly an atlas, which enables one to find intimate details very quickly, without having to wade through any text. All in all, a very impressive work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the finest illustrations of anatomy you could own., 4 April 2011
By 
Alan Lovejoy "ancient brit" (ROSS ON WYE, HEREFORDSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Atlas of Human Anatomy: with Student Consult Access, 5e (Netter Basic Science) (Paperback)
Frank Netter is on record as defining his mission as producing medical illustrations "not too complex that they may be difficult and confusing to read; not too oversimplified that they may not be adequately definitive". The results of his lifetime's illustrative work however are many thousands of incredible illustrations, superbly planned, detailed and executed. A wonderful work by a great artist and surgeon. This volume has been the anatomy atlas of choice the world over for many decades; always a pleasure to pick up and study!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best edition yet, 16 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Atlas of Human Anatomy: with Student Consult Access, 5e (Netter Basic Science) (Paperback)
One of the classic textbooks that every medical student should get when studying anatomy. Although many people say you can `just use an older version of the atlas' as anatomy doesn't change me - however true that statement maybe, the 5th edition of the atlas has many online features that are exclusive on the studentconsult website. From dissection videos to online `flash cards' in the format of `drag and drop' are amazing to help learn and revise anatomy in a very digital way. Anatomy doesn't change much, but the way to learn anatomy can. I highly recommend getting this edition of the atlas purely for the amount of online material it provides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunningly clear artwork, 27 April 2011
This review is from: Atlas of Human Anatomy: with Student Consult Access, 5e (Netter Basic Science) (Paperback)
This is an iconic human anatomy atlas, which has helped to no end with my anatomy revision for a medical degree, and is an essential supplement to a textbook of human anatom for any medic!

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Frank M Netter MD: Painter/Doctor, 24 Dec. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Atlas of Human Anatomy: with Student Consult Access, 5e (Netter Basic Science) (Paperback)
Frank M Netter MD initially graduating with an art degree before comnpleting his medical degree. In a nutshell, that is why this atlas is exceptional. You have the benefit of someone who is proficient in painting (yes, all of those were painted) combined with someone who has also completed a medical degree so it's fair to assume he knows his anatomy. And boy, oh boy, does he know his anatomy. This atlas misses virtually no structure in labelling or in the painting and often goes beyond most anatomy textbooks in naming structures.

For my study of anatomy I used this in conjecture with Gray's Anatomy and Moore's Clinically Oriented Anatomy - both being fantastic textbooks. This is probably the best atlas available and an essential for anyone who is studying to become any health care professional.

The only downside is the Student Consult. It is clear (like with most medical textbooks that offer it) that it was just an afterthought. However, on a positive note, the Netter 3D interactive Map is pretty useful. You get 30 day free trial after which you have to pay. Just use the trial and consider if it is something that you would want to invest in. It was worth it for me, as I am a visual learner and is particularly useful for complicated structures such as the bones of the skull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding reference book & learning tool!, 14 April 2011
By 
VHA (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Atlas of Human Anatomy: with Student Consult Access, 5e (Netter Basic Science) (Paperback)
Great drawings, clearly labelled. Shows everything (including intricate systems) in good detail. It's been extremely helpful as a learning tool and reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great illustration, 26 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Atlas of Human Anatomy: with Student Consult Access, 5e (Netter Basic Science) (Paperback)
Best illustration of anatomy that I know of, but this is a picture book and does not have the detail required for understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a wonderful atlas human anatomy, 9 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Atlas of Human Anatomy: with Student Consult Access, 5e (Netter Basic Science) (Paperback)
For me Frank H. Netter is the best Atlas of human anatomy you can use,it's really wonderful.

Kind regards

Mª Jose Sagastizabal (Spain)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Quality not worth the financial saving, 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Atlas of Human Anatomy: with Student Consult Access, 5e (Netter Basic Science) (Paperback)
I was very disappointed as this was a secondhand cheaper copy. It was tatty and scratched. I have seen this book new in hardback and the picture are extremely vibrant. The print on this copy was flat, smaller and bland. I really wish I had spend the extra money as the quality was not worth the saving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Atlas of Human Anatomy: with Student Consult Access, 5e (Netter Basic Science)
Used & New from: £28.86
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews