Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterclass in medical literature
Guyton and Hall's Medical Physiology is a superb textbook. It is a comprehensive bible for the pre-clinical medical student, with good, clear illustrations and a clinical emphasis which is in keeping with most basic medical science texts of today. However, perhaps more importantly, the beauty of Guyton and Hall's book lies in its smooth, serene prose, which manages to...
Published on 2 Feb 2011 by S. Javed

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars HORRIBLE PACKAGING
The Book itself is very well done but the package arrived with one day of delay. Moreover , the wrapping was utterly poor and unsuited for the content ( the box arrived practically opened and visibly damaged). I am very disappointed. The carrier should be reclaimed.
Published 1 month ago by Peppe santrox


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars guyton-great book, 13 Jun 2013
This review is from: Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology: with STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 12e (Guyton Physiology) (Hardcover)
this is a great book. it contains excellent pictures and content regarding physiology. I got it dirt cheap from bookwormusa.com. The book is thick and heavy. It is a little lenghty however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the Critical Care Nurse, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bough this for a Critical Care degree. Really useful and informative and learned a lot from reading it outside of university.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written., 18 Mar 2012
This review is from: Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology: with STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 12e (Guyton Physiology) (Hardcover)
This is a brilliant textbook. The writing style is amazing. It can be read from cover to cover or you can dip into chapters and it still reads very well. The renal and CVS chapters are particularly good. Quite complex topics are explained very clearly with the aid of diagrams and analogies.

This is one of the very few textbooks I enjoy reading. Its way too much for a medical degree but if you're someone who enjoys physiology or has trouble getting their head round physiological principles then definitely get this. The only downside is that the units are American (eg mmHg instead of kPa for resp pressures).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Guyton, 16 Dec 2011
This review is from: Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology: with STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 12e (Guyton Physiology) (Hardcover)
Will always be one of the best medical physiology books you could ever get your hands one without a doubt 100% detailed.

I find the structure is choppy in places but all the basic and detailed information is there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars HORRIBLE PACKAGING, 14 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology: with STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 12e (Guyton Physiology) (Hardcover)
The Book itself is very well done but the package arrived with one day of delay. Moreover , the wrapping was utterly poor and unsuited for the content ( the box arrived practically opened and visibly damaged). I am very disappointed. The carrier should be reclaimed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It took me 6 months to understand that the details were just blocking my way to understand the principles of physiology, 8 Sep 2013
This review is from: Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology: with STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 12e (Guyton Physiology) (Hardcover)
I love details, but the amount of details in Guyton and Hall is overwhelming. As much as I hate to say this, the book was not usefull. As a reference yes, but not as your primary studying book. It takes hours and hours to cover up simple topics because it is so detailed. This made it really hard to figure out what the important stuff is.

In the middle of the year I tried something different, which worked a lot better. Guyton and Hall pocket book combined with constanzo. The pocket book says everything Guyton says, just the unnecessary details left out. I started to understand the princeples of physiology better and I could learn much more in a shorter time.

I would recommend for the physiology course Guyton and Hall pocket book, Constanzo and in case you have to check up something more; google.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guyton distils the essentials, 29 Aug 2011
By 
Sleepy Geek (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology: with STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 12e (Guyton Physiology) (Hardcover)
I have the eleventh edition of this textbook, and am just someone who wanted to understand how his own body works. The book has been revised and updated, no doubt incorporating more up to date material. But I am a little worried that the firm and clear storytelling of Arthur Guyton is being gradually replaced by mushy "all opinions are valid" committee writing. For example, a key sentence in the introduction has been rewritten thus:

Eleventh edition:
"Thus, the human being is actually an automaton, and . . ."

Twelfth edition:
"Thus, the human being is, in many ways, like an automaton, and . . ."

To no purpose, and with no evidence, physiology itself has been downgraded from objective scientific account to a sort of body of opinion. Is the editor a politician and not a scientist, perhaps?

Despite my misgivings about the editing, this is still a book everyone should read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology: with STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 12e (Guyton Physiology) (Hardcover)
Would love more detailed explanation on certain parts but will do as a foundation to build on further knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology: with STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 12e (Guyton Physiology) (Hardcover)
Excellent textbook!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Oct 2014
This review is from: Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology: with STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 12e (Guyton Physiology) (Hardcover)
perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews