Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars an inspirational read
If you're interested in pro wrestling, this isn't near the quality of harts, foleys, jerichos or flairs. However, if you want to read an inspirational story, of how someone lived their life in the fast lane, setting their own man made goals, achieving them, feeling underwhelmed, and discovering that the only goals that count are ones that God sets, this is definitely a...
Published 8 months ago by Rob

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly written
This book tells you nothing except how selfish luger was.
No remorse shown, no real details about many things.
If you want to read a good wrestling book avoid this.
Bob holly/foley/hart etc all have better books.
Published 10 months ago by Tony F


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly written, 17 Sep 2013
This book tells you nothing except how selfish luger was.
No remorse shown, no real details about many things.
If you want to read a good wrestling book avoid this.
Bob holly/foley/hart etc all have better books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter rubbish, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Written apparently in the belief that the average wrestling fan is a double-digit IQ halfwit, this one-dimensional pile of mince is about as illuminating as a broken torch. I'd say the writing was hackneyed if only I thought the ghostwriter would understand it. I feel ripped off that I spent money on this bilge. Want to know what Lex thought of the famous Brody incident? Tough, it's not mentioned. What you get instead is a very superficial book that offers no insight or detail about anything. Avoid. Get Bob Holly's book instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars an inspirational read, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you're interested in pro wrestling, this isn't near the quality of harts, foleys, jerichos or flairs. However, if you want to read an inspirational story, of how someone lived their life in the fast lane, setting their own man made goals, achieving them, feeling underwhelmed, and discovering that the only goals that count are ones that God sets, this is definitely a book I'd recommend reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars not what expected, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
More of a book about religion then wrestling, not what I expected at all, felt like I was being preached to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars This is more of a confessional than an autobiography, 25 Sep 2013
By 
Adrian Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When put into context I see the frustrations of other readers. If you wanted a book on wrestling then this really isn't it.

Instead you get a confession about the wrong doings of a man who found redemption in religion. It's quite interesting in that respect as I do not feel he is looking for pitty, nor forgiveness - from what I understand he has attempted to do that face to face with those he believes he has wronged. We get an account of a man who feel in love with himself and all things material, and how it destroyed his soul.

It is a shame we don't hear more about the wrestling. He had such a long career, and it is really rushed through so quickly. But as with other wrestling books, this isn't an autobiography as such, more a part of his life put into context through wrestling.

I would say worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Read!, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An honest account of a mans journey, warts and all... I'm really glad you've made it out the other side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wrestling with the Devil
Wrestling with the Devil by Luger Lex Hollis John D Borden Steve Sting (Hardcover - 13 Aug 2013)
13.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews