Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars15
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
7
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 April 2015
Redemption, forgiveness, heartbreak and CLEAN romance! The main characters are:

Kate - Head of ER Department at Austin Grace hospital. 10 years ago she abandoned her baby boy in the doorway of a fire station after being victimized 9mths previously. She has never forgiven herself and has been on the run ever since, working in 6 hospital in the last 10 years.

Wes - On the Search and Rescue Team along with being part of his family's water well drilling business. Abandoned by his mother in the woods when he was 7 years old, never understanding why. Her remains were finally found a year later. His father eventually remarried and he has the most wonderful stepmother. Wes has never truly come to terms with his mother abandoning him.

Dylan - Wes's younger brother who is autistic but tells Wes that Kate is very pretty and knows when Wes is upset.

Judith - widow. She is a hospital volunteer and you get the impression that something is not right but it is not until the very end of the book that we find out everything about her.

Barrett Lyon - a greasy lawyer that is only looking out for himself and encourages Kate to lie about her involvement with the baby born dead and abandoned in the bathrooms of the ER. Barrett wants Kate to point the finger at someone else.

Lauren - an ER worker who is also a peer counselor.

Matt - Kate's dad, a recovering alcoholic who went down that path when Kate's mom died. Matt desperately wants to mend the relationship with his daughter but at first it doesn't work. He has been clean for 9mths when we hear of him first.

Gabe - Wes's partner who is seriously injured by a rigged gun on a tree going off on a search & rescue for a doll belonging to a family friend with Alzheimers.

Sunni - the previous Head of Department who disappeared a year ago. Kate really struggles with filling her shoes and there is a lot of resentment going around.

Trista - a young mother with a baby girl, called Harley and an alcoholic father who comes to the rehab building next to the ER each day. Whilst he is there, Trista stays with Harley in the ER waiting room. No one sees the danger signs until one day Trista has a breakdown and leaves Harley in the park on a very cold day.

Will she be found in time? Who will find her? What else will be discovered that day? Will Wes forgive Kate once she tells him the truth about her baby from 10 years ago?

This is an EXCELLENT story. Gripping, interesting and also clean. Yes, Wes kisses Kate a few times but that is all. Faith is displayed throughout but also real life situations & questions. Kate does not know how God can ever forgive her for what she did but we read that God can and does!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
This book was another free download (I'm doing well so far this year on my resolution to spend as little as possible on feeding my kindle!) and the author was another one that I'd not read before writing in a genre (medical romance) that I tend not to read but the synopsis intrigued me so I thought I'd give it a go.

I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed the book. The main male character, Wes, was very much on the Alpha male scale of things, very involved with his family and community and was part of the local Search and Rescue team. He had ghosts in his past relating to the actions of his birth mother, ghosts that he can't let go of and spur him on in his quest to "bring them in alive". Wes also has a very strong Christian faith.

The main female character, Kate, is a nurse who recently started work in the ER of Austin Grace Hospital and immediately found herself taking on the temporary position of ER Director following the mysterious disappearance of the previous Director, Sunni. Her attitude has not made her many friends and with feelings running high in the department because of Sunni's disappearance and some malicious on-line posts about the short-comings of the department she is not sure that she wants to become the Director permanently or even stay at the hospital.

Kate also has a secret, one that has tortured her for 10 years. Alone and afraid she had given birth to and then abandoned her son. She had never told anyone about this and felt that God would no longer want to be in her life so she turned her back on the faith she once had and distanced herself from her only surviving parent, her father.

The book is more than just a romance, there is mystery and suspense running right through it along with some very sad parts and some that will make you laugh.

If I had to give this an alternative label it would probably be "Christian Romance". There was certainly little beyond kissing that would offend readers.

I did enjoy it but as it's not a genre I particularly enjoy reading I probably won't be adding any more of the author's books to my TBR list.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2013
Kate Callison is the interim director of the emergency department at Austin Grace Hospital, and she's finding it hard to fill the shoes of her saintly predecessor, Sunni Sprague, who disappeared several months ago. Staff morale is at an all-time low and she is under pressure to improve the reputation of the ER following a series of critical letters published in the local paper. Things get worse when an abandoned newborn baby is discovered in the ER bathrooms, a tragedy that reminds Kate of the secret she has tried to forget.

Wes Tanner is the perfect man. Handsome, blue eyes, works in the family business and leads a small volunteer search and rescue in Houston, Texas. He searches for the lost because he still wonders why his mother committed suicide when he was a child. He is attracted to Kate, but she keeps herself aloof from everyone, especially her father.

There lots of suspense and a nice romance with a good mix of internal and external conflict and an underlying theme of being lost then found. Rescue Team is very well plotted and relatively complex, with solid and likeable yet fallible characters, especially Kate and her father, Matt.

There were a lot of characters including five viewpoint characters, and while they weren't difficult to keep straight, I do think five is too many point of view characters in a novel of this length. Kate and Wes, as heroine and hero in a medical romance, were obvious viewpoint characters, and I could see why Matt, Kate's father, was important.

The other two? The inclusion of one effectively revealed her role in the `mystery' of the letters, while I'm still not sure if the other was a red herring or just setting the character up as being the lead in the next book in the series. This is the second in the Grace Medical series. I had no trouble following the story in Rescue Team, even though I haven't read Trauma Plan, the first in the series. Good, but some lingering questions and too many viewpoint characters prevent it being great.

Thanks to Tyndale House and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
A good story with characters that you could care about but when I downloaded this book I did not know that there was a strong Christian message, and I think it should always be mentioned in the details of the book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2013
Excellent book! it kept the suspense all the way through and was well put together, will be buying more or the series when they are released.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
Enjoyed this romance with a bit of suspense. Lots of drama, tension, emotion. Well written. Good characters. Heavy into Christianity.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2014
I feel a bit of a fraud reviewing this book. I always read thrillers and downloaded this book as one. Personally I would classify it under romance, it's very Mill's and Boone. If I enjoyed that kind of book l would have given it a five.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed this story. So much so that I found myself going back to it instead of getting on with the things I should have been doing round the house. Well written and thought provoking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
A decent free read, a little jumpy in places but for a free book it made you want to finish it, lots of people in so feels like it could be a series of books, would read the authors other books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
This book covers hidden skeletons in your past history that can not be buried, that can tear you apart each day. I got very enthralled in it and did shed a tear.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.