Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Her Mother's Hope
The infomation from Francine Rivers website:

"The first part of an unforgettable epic family saga about the sacrifices every mother makes for her daughter and the very nature of unconditional love. On the eve of the First World War, fiery Marta Schneider leaves Switzerland and her difficult childhood behind, determined to find a new life on her own terms...
Published on 31 Mar 2010 by Mrs. B. Gillespie

versus
8 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacks Purity!
I have just completed a novel by Francine Rivers called Her Mother's Hope and it was the reading of this book that has spurned this letter of warning. In brief: the novel follows the life of a girl called Marta, who is raised in a Lutheran home in Switzerland but who goes on to explore and experience the wider world. The reader follows Marta's adventures from a painful...
Published on 13 May 2011 by robert


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Her Mother's Hope, 31 Mar 2010
By 
Mrs. B. Gillespie (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Her Mother's Hope (Paperback)
The infomation from Francine Rivers website:

"The first part of an unforgettable epic family saga about the sacrifices every mother makes for her daughter and the very nature of unconditional love. On the eve of the First World War, fiery Marta Schneider leaves Switzerland and her difficult childhood behind, determined to find a new life on her own terms. Barely out of her teens, Marta is haunted by a devastating loss. Marta becomes a hard working domestic who has little time to dwell on what might have been. Instead, she draws her strength from what could be. Then, Marta meets Niclas Waltert, a man just as determined as she to forge a better life in a new place. Marriage and motherhood bring both joy and heartbreak, as Marta must surrender her long-held ambitions for the sake of her husband and children. Only the strong survive and Marta is determined to raise a daughter as strong as she. But as Hildie reaches young womanhood and another war is fast approaching, those hopes become too heavy a burden for Hildie to bear. Born with a heart to serve others, Hildie pursues her calling as a nurse, something Marta can't understand. Marta's years of hardnosed parenting have left Hildie still hungry for her mother's love...and now for her mother's respect. Amid the drama of WWII, Hildie falls in love and begins a family of her own. She wants her daughter, Carolyn, never to doubt her love--but the challenges of life conspire against her vow and the only person who can come to her aid is the person she remains so desperate to please: Marta, her mother.

With hallmark touches of brilliant prose and gripping characterizations, Her Mother's Hope is a rich, moving epic about faith and dreams, heartache and disappointment, and ultimately the resilience and tenacity of love."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a blessing!, 27 Aug 2010
This review is from: Her Mother's Hope (Paperback)
What a beautiful story! I have all of her Christian themed books and this is by far the most touching! I could not put it down ... it really inspired me - It stirred my heart and I found myself looking at my own life, my relationship with my toddler daughter .... It reinstalled the need for prayer in my life and surrendering to the Lord!
WOW - you will never be the same!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Her Mother's Hope, Francine Rivers, 27 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Her Mother's Hope (Paperback)
Her Mother's Hope is a really well written book, with a great story line which presents issues which many people could relate to. It is a book which I could not put down, really enjoyed it and look forward to the following book which continues the story. Her Mother's Hope #1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Her Mother's Hope, 29 July 2010
This review is from: Her Mother's Hope (Paperback)
This book was bought as a present. The recipient was thrilled with it. A friend of hers had already read the book and shared that it was brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 19 Oct 2010
By 
seaside Jenny (Cleveland, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Her Mother's Hope (Paperback)
A fast moving story which kept me interested to the very last page. I immediately sent for Part two "Her Daughter's Dream" and found it difficult to put down. The pace of Francine Rivers' books is good for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 29 Sep 2010
By 
This review is from: Her Mother's Hope (Paperback)
The item was perfect for what I wanted it for. It was also in the state the seller specified and delivery was so fast. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another fantastic book!!!, 25 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Her Mother's Hope (Paperback)
Well, another awesome book by author Francine Rivers! I couldn't put it down, and I loved all the details of the swiss part of her life. My brother is engaged to a swiss girl and I loved that I knew what she was talking about with lots of the small details! It is an addictive read and I didn't want it to end! I can't wait to read the sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slow reading, 30 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a good read but very slow storyline.
Some very deep family happenings.
Traveling to many countries throughout the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Her Mothers Hope by Francine Rivers, 8 Feb 2011
This review is from: Her Mother's Hope (Paperback)
My second Francine Rivers book- couldnt wait to read the third which I am presently doing. A touching story about the relationships between mother, daughter and granddaughter. Wanted to read it but wanted it to last! Highly recommended reading with an incidental easy approach to God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the most inspiring books u could read, 7 Feb 2011
This review is from: Her Mother's Hope (Paperback)
I am so glad this is the first novel I have read this year! It is inspiring and character building. A must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Her Mother's Hope
Her Mother's Hope by Francine Rivers (Paperback - 1 Mar 2010)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews