Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars26
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 July 2011
I have read the other reviews and it's important to say that I would not want to undermine their enthusiasm for the value reviewers have found in this book. Consequently, I'm not going to add to comments about the content.

The problem with this book is that it is written from a particular epistemological viewpoint which, importantly, it does not examine. Consequently, not only are many of the arguments it presents simply not applicable to whole areas of social research, but more importantly, that this might not be evident to the reader.

Take the example of 'rigour'.

On p24 Yin states that "Case study designs need to maximize their quality through four critical conditions related to design quality: (a) construct validity, (b) internal validity, (c) external validity, (d) reliability." Later (p40) he argues that "the four tests are common to all social science methods" (p40). Many other texts and many other researchers would contend that this is an inherently positivist perspective which does not represent the values and criteriology that emerge from other epistemological stances. (To explore alternatives I recommend a paper by Tsoukas and chapter by Byrne - see below).

Positivism is all very well, but I feel even positivist research has a duty to be more critically reflexive, even if only in passing.

Refs:

Byrne, D. (2009) Case-Based Methods: why we need them; what they are; how to do them. In: D. Byrne & C. C. Ragin eds. The SAGE handbook of case-based methods. London, SAGE.

Tsoukas, H. (1989) The Validity of Idiographic Research Explanations. The Academy of Management Review, 14 (4), pp.551-561.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2009
There is no mystery why this book has been successfully published and again several times.

This book is a must about case study methodology, as it explains the whole process from beginning to end in the best possible manner. The writing is very clear and informative, and it goes straight to the point all the way through.

To support understanding and appropriation of the method, the various steps of the process are explained in various ways so that the reader has little risk to be left in the dark.

Whatever career stage or sector the reader will be, this book is extremely useful to keep clear about what case study research can do, and should enable to do.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2009
This book is excellent for Qualitative Researchers undertaking Case Study as Methodology, Yin clarifies the complex definitions and how to define your case. Each chapter assist you throughout your studt, the language is also easy to understand. I am currently in my third year PhD study and this book (and others by Yin) is invaluable
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2013
I have been using this book for my doctoral thesis. It is exceptionally useful and goes into detail that no other recent enough book that I can find does. It explains pretty much everything you need to know about case study research.

However, I would concur with, Peter Jackson's review. You could argue that, case studies by nature, tend to be more of a relativist epistemology and ontology, yet Yin very much seems to come from a positivist place in this book. Therefore, at times I find some of the content slightly contradictory. Other examples of this, for instance, are that there are lots of small caveats regarding exploratory designs for matters that are heavily reinforced for ALL case study design elsewhere in the text without these caveats (e.g. propositions and rival explanations, theoretical frameworks, logic etc.). Also, it does not explain some concepts in the basic terms. For instance, I could not find a specific definition, in Yin's terms, of a `theoretical proposition' anywhere. Defining a concept in basic terms is essential for any levels of study.

As probably one of the less academic doctoral students you'd meet, I have to be honest and say I find this book mind numbing! After several weeks of getting stuck with this book while writing up, I have moved on to various other (older) books and papers and now just dip in and out of this. Sorry to disagree with all the other reviews raving about this book!
44 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2010
This book is a valuable learning aid to understanding both the epistomology and practical ontology of case study as a research methodology. The book is both concise and authoratative. It has been valuable in enhancing my knowledge and understanding and I am fortunate to have read the book and be able to share my learning with my tutees.It is an essential buy if you want to undertake this type of research
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2010
Downloaded this to kindle. It is not possible to read important tables in that medium. Cancelled order, no problem. Will now order hard copy - content is invaluable to anyone undertaking this type of research.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2010
This text is a classic.It's been written in a very simple and straight-forward manner with very succinct illustrations.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2010
This is a very good book, well structured and very helpful to who is doing research studies involving pilots and case studies.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2010
This is an excellent book for both novice and expert researchers, and it reveals the varied use of case study research when carried out as it should; methodically and balanced, with a view to enlighten. Highly recommended.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2013
I got this to guide me on a M level module. Easy to read, follow the thinking and grasp the essentials from this well structured and developed text. No experience of the earlier editions, I have to take the author & contributors word about how much more accessible it is than earlier ones. Purchasing the kindle edition made finding the right pages much easier but I couldn't find page numbers to assist with referencing, just loc points.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)