Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource for post-docs and junior faculty
I reviewed a large number of guides to academic publishing. This book stands head and shoulders above the rest and is the only book I recommend to colleagues and students. It's a very valuable resource for those looking to move from thesis to article and those preparing their early articles for academic publication. The author is a published academic who has taught...
Published on 1 Sept. 2010 by S. Bull

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Not good
Published 1 month ago by MTB fanatic


Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource for post-docs and junior faculty, 1 Sept. 2010
By 
S. Bull - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Writing Your Journal Article in Twelve Weeks: A Guide to Academic Publishing Success (Paperback)
I reviewed a large number of guides to academic publishing. This book stands head and shoulders above the rest and is the only book I recommend to colleagues and students. It's a very valuable resource for those looking to move from thesis to article and those preparing their early articles for academic publication. The author is a published academic who has taught journal writing for over a decade and it shows - this is a very detailed breakdown of what an article needs to achieve to be publishable, how to get there, and a wealth of related materials such as selecting the right journal and perfecting the abstract(and why that's important), and the many obstacles faced by junior and senior authors. It includes a number of valuable examples. The text is much more substantive than the many guides written by academics who've just had sucess publishing in their own fields.

This book is likely to be more valuable for those working in the humanities and social sciences than those working in pure and quantitative scientific disciplines. Some of the very detailed framework and instructions for how to achieve certain stages of article preparation may seem patronising - but are informative and worth glancing through even if the proposed framework isn't followed. The book is tailored for a US market and has a slightly patronising approach to apparently quirky and amateur-led UK and European journals but given the international nature of academic publishing much of the material is very relevant in the UK and beyond. The book is focused on revising already prepared material into publishable journal articles but is also likely to be valuable for those looking to start an article from scratch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Effective academic writing made easy, 26 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writing Your Journal Article in Twelve Weeks: A Guide to Academic Publishing Success (Paperback)
This is an excellent guide to article writing and is equally appropriate for lengthier research work.It can be adapted to chapter writing for example. It is based on a 12-week course but could be done in a shorter time depending on one's personal experience, style ,etc.It is well-rooted in the experiences of a wide number of peoople so is not just one person's views, despite the authorship. There are many relevant examples. What I particularly liked about it was that it is realistic about an individual's motivation, (or lack of it!) reluctance to write more than 20 minutes a day, and so on.
I thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring book for academics with writer's block, 13 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writing Your Journal Article in Twelve Weeks: A Guide to Academic Publishing Success (Paperback)
This book relieved my writer's block first and foremost by taking away the shame connected with it. Noting how common writer's block is among academics, and how little academic work acutally gets published helped me face my emotions about writing. Belcher's book gives concrete pointers for how to get started again. One major thought she conveys is that everybody can write at least 15 minutes a day, no matter how busy their schedules are. It works! A slow start does help you develop your ideas. The only thing I would have liked to hear more about is generating new ideas for articles. Belcher bases her 12 week writing program on preparing a draft that you already have for publication. There are still loads of tips about how to go about getting into writing again, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant.., 12 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writing Your Journal Article in Twelve Weeks: A Guide to Academic Publishing Success (Paperback)
I rarely write reviews about books. Mostly because I just haven't found a book that exceptionally delivers what it promises without being dry.

I am on week 2 of the workbook and I cannot extol the virtues of this book enough. Any early career researcher/ doctoral candidate struggling with writing and is serious about improving needs to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful, 19 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writing Your Journal Article in Twelve Weeks: A Guide to Academic Publishing Success (Paperback)
This book is actually proving me wrong!!! I didn't imagine how it would work but it does and its got me back into my writing and feeling very positive and inspired. The author is very helpful and practical. I feel confident I will get my article finished in the time plan. I think this is worth buying if for example you have recently got a PhD and feel a bit overwhelmed by the pressure to publish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... working my way through this book and it's really useful. It's not a quick fix (12 weeks in ..., 13 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writing Your Journal Article in Twelve Weeks: A Guide to Academic Publishing Success (Paperback)
Have been steadily working my way through this book and it's really useful. It's not a quick fix (12 weeks in still 3 months after all!) but it's well paced, good common sense advice of the sort that we all know really but forget too easily in the rush to do everything at once that is so typical of academic life (at all levels of experience!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 2 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Writing Your Journal Article in Twelve Weeks: A Guide to Academic Publishing Success (Paperback)
A quick guide to writing journals for publication. Quite useful for students and researchers. It helps demystify the process. Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 23 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writing Your Journal Article in Twelve Weeks: A Guide to Academic Publishing Success (Paperback)
Not good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely happy with my purchase, 21 Feb. 2010
By 
John Brennan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Writing Your Journal Article in Twelve Weeks: A Guide to Academic Publishing Success (Paperback)
The book came much sooner than estimated, within 2 - 3 working days, in perfect condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Writing Your Journal Article in Twelve Weeks: A Guide to Academic Publishing Success
£47.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews