Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Understanding Mathematics for Young Children, 30 Jan 2010
This review is from: Understanding Mathematics for Young Children: A Guide for Foundation Stage and Lower Primary Teachers (Paperback)
A very clearly written and well presented explanation of early maths concepts. It informs the teaching of maths, giving reasons for errors and difficulties. Very useful examples and activities to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars understanding mathematics for young children, 19 Feb 2011
This review is from: Understanding Mathematics for Young Children: A Guide for Foundation Stage and Lower Primary Teachers (Paperback)
A very detailed book aimed at teachers being able to understand the importance of the many ranges of view points and learning positions of children when they are involved with mathematics.Also detailing the key ideas and concepts behind maths and its place in our lives and the lives of young children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource, 26 Nov 2010
This review is from: Understanding Mathematics for Young Children: A Guide for Foundation Stage and Lower Primary Teachers (Paperback)
If undergoing the PGCE this book is a must! Slightly overwhelming and complicated at first but if you keep going its extremely useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all teachers, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is essential reading for all teachers. Whether you have an interest in mathematics or not. It really shows how understanding and relational thinking are at the heart of both mathematics and teaching as a whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for NQTs, 4 Jun 2013
By 
Jen (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Understanding Mathematics for Young Children: A Guide for Foundation Stage and Lower Primary Teachers (Paperback)
This, in my opinion, is an ideal reference book for teaching mathematics in primary school and was recommended in the reading list from my Uni, and by other teachers that I work with. It's clearly set out and has explanations and activities throughout. It's easy to read and understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A work of genius, 17 Jan 2013
By 
M. P. Bell (Cambridge United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Understanding Mathematics for Young Children: A Guide for Foundation Stage and Lower Primary Teachers (Paperback)
While trying to find out why so many children (and adults) describe themselves as "No good at Maths" I have looked at dozens of books which suggest methods which, the authors claim, will help learning. However, they do not try to explain why so many people struggle with maths.

This book is brilliant. It takes you step-by-step through the component parts of learning 'maths' and explains why students can get confused.

The majority of 'experts' who claim to advise on maths do not seem to understand the reasons why the pupils are struggling and simply offer their own 'good ideas'. Haylock and Cockburn are (almost) in a class of their own.

The sheer complexity of maths suggests that primary maths should be taught either by trained experts who understand the process or by untrained teachers who follow scripted lessons.

As Zig Engelmann says: "If the student doesn't learn, the teacher hasn't taught." The high number of young people who leave school "No good at maths" is a preventable scandal and caused by a teaching profession who fail to understand the subject they are teaching.

My only disappointment is the absence of any reference to 'number sense' - the non-conscious 'knowing how many', (or how much) which is essential for success in maths. Very weak number-sense creates dyscalculia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 16 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Understanding Mathematics for Young Children: A Guide for Foundation Stage and Lower Primary Teachers (Paperback)
Every teacher of maths should read this book! It is well-structured and easy to read and helps you understand the fundamental building blocks that you need to make children aware of, so they can correctly construct their own understanding of numbers. I thought I knew quite a bit about maths but this book helped me realize why some of my year 5 children are struggling with doing simple word problems. Actually, it gave me LOTS of reasons why they might be struggling, as well as a variety of activities I can adapt to help them change some of their misconceptions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Understanding mathematics, 26 April 2014
By 
J. Bell "ladybird" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent book for any teacher of maths. Reinforces things you knew in past but forgotten or do anyway and forgot why. Easy to read chapters with excellent ideas for activities. Sometimes you just need a book to make you think and reflect on your practise, that is if you have time to do it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really useful book, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am training as a primary teacher and this has been a really useful book to clarify my teaching methods and understanding of particular mathematical concepts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book very helpful in deepening my understanding and relevant to those teaching in the Early Years. I also have other books by this author and find them very helpful as the explanations are clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews