Customer Reviews


14 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Readable, helpful and Stimulating!, 29 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skills in Psychodynamic Counselling and Psychotherapy (Skills in Counselling & Psychotherapy Series) (Paperback)
I have read quite a few books recently on Psychodynamic Counselling, and this is by far my favourite. It is relevant and lively, with many case examples and stimulating comments and perspectives. It explains why skills are implemented, and how, linking it accessibly to the theory in practical and insightful ways. A very interesting chapter looks at working with unconscious communication, and another on interpreting transference and counter-transference. It is a book I will want to keep returning to throughout my work. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendously helpful, 25 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skills in Psychodynamic Counselling and Psychotherapy (Skills in Counselling & Psychotherapy Series) (Paperback)
I'm coming towards the end of a certificate course in counselling and this is the book which despite having been purchased the most recently, has become most thumbed through and well used. It has been tremendously helpful for getting to grips with the actual practice of psychodynamic therapy, and not just the theories underpinning it. It is clearly structured, with relevant case studies used to illustrate how different skills are used in practice, such as working with unconscious communication, working with transference and defences etc., but also clear case studies of the countertransference in the counsellor, counsellor past experiences which still distress, and how this may hinder or harm the client, and how the counsellor makes use of supervision as well as personal therapy. It has widened my previously fairly narrow understanding of what constituted a psychodynamic interpretation, and has been one of the most useful books I've read about psychodynamic therapy. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What you really need to know when training, 29 Mar. 2010
This review is from: Skills in Psychodynamic Counselling and Psychotherapy (Skills in Counselling & Psychotherapy Series) (Paperback)
I am training in the psychodydnamic approach. I have read books at an equivalent level to this book by Jacobs, Spurling, McLoughlin etc and while these were all valuable I found Howard's book to be the most useful. I feel it sets out what you really need to know when you are starting to practice in a much more structured, clear and practical way than the other books. However, as well as setting out the practicalities it also covers theory in a succinct way that allows the reader to see the relevance of it in practice. Another thing I like about this book is that there is a sense when reading it that the author really understands the struggles and difficulties inherent in the training.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Psychodynamic counselling, 11 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skills in Psychodynamic Counselling and Psychotherapy (Skills in Counselling & Psychotherapy Series) (Paperback)
The theoretical underpinning of Psychodynamic counselling comes out of the psychoanalytical tradition which began with the pioneering work of Freud. This book is a valuable resource in explaining the nature of psychodynamic counselling in a straightforward, non jargon manner way. It is a valuable reference book to refer to in the way it describes the principles involved with this form counselling. Pyschodynamic counselling works at many levels and this book very adequately deals with its complexity in a way that is understandable. The content is supported by case work which illustrates the subject matter eg working with defences, resistance, unconscious processes. It is a book that I could refer to time and time again to deepen understanding of psychodynamic counselling, which is an ongoing process. It is well referenced with a bibliography for further reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read!, 22 May 2010
By 
E. Phillips (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Skills in Psychodynamic Counselling and Psychotherapy (Skills in Counselling & Psychotherapy Series) (Paperback)
Such an easy read, not too complex at all. I'm a 2nd year Counselling Studies student and found this immensely helpful for my psychodynamic studies. Would recommend this to anyone who is interested in finding out more about skills used in psychoanalysis work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 13 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skills in Psychodynamic Counselling and Psychotherapy (Skills in Counselling & Psychotherapy Series) (Paperback)
I would recommend this book to anyone interested in counselling but especially those starting out in Psychodynamic training. I am in my first year of the Certificate course and it is one of the best books I have read so far. It clearly explains the key concepts of the psychodynamic approach and helps explain the complexities of transference, countertransference and defences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really found this book informative and thought provoking. Easy to read and thorough approach. Excellent book for those at University!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My bible, 20 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skills in Psychodynamic Counselling and Psychotherapy (Skills in Counselling & Psychotherapy Series) (Paperback)
Great book, integrates theory with case studies. Love the style of Susan Howard writing. A must for anyone beginning studying psychotherapy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars in easily understandable English that I enjoyed and benefited from studying, 15 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Susan Howard writes excellently, in easily understandable English that I enjoyed and benefited from studying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for beginners, 11 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skills in Psychodynamic Counselling and Psychotherapy (Skills in Counselling & Psychotherapy Series) (Paperback)
I'm still reading this but it will help me with my course. It is ready to read and a good reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews