Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best text book ever purchasd
this book was the best text book ever purchaesed! easy to read format, with chapters clearly defined. I am studying nursing leadership at degree level and found this book to contain everthing I wanted and more in relation to the theories of leadership and could put it all into context within the nursing profession. I particulary like the "advantages and disadvantages"...
Published on 1 Mar. 2003 by Jill R

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good but...
A good read, but for a real insight into leadership in 2009, it is worth also exploring the issues of collaboration that are essential for successful leaders in these troubled economic times.
Collaborative leaders look beyond their immediate group or team to others in the organisation and a wider circle outside - to suppliers, partners and others with whom they can...
Published on 13 Feb. 2009 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best text book ever purchasd, 1 Mar. 2003
By 
Jill R (PRESTON, LANCS. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
this book was the best text book ever purchaesed! easy to read format, with chapters clearly defined. I am studying nursing leadership at degree level and found this book to contain everthing I wanted and more in relation to the theories of leadership and could put it all into context within the nursing profession. I particulary like the "advantages and disadvantages" section of each chapter which helped enormously with analytical skills and critiquing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read for graduate and postgraduate students, 8 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This is an excellent summary of the current state of leadership research. The book is composed of 12 chapters 10 of which each deal with a single leadership theory.Each theory is clearly outlined followed by sections headed strengths and criticisms. An ideal layout for any student with an essay to write. Far better written then most popular management books and containing a vast amount of useful and easily understood information, I highly recommend it to lecturers, trainers, students, and general readers who are fed up with reading the latest mangement cookbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent primer, 17 April 2009
By 
Layla Halabi (Dubai - UAE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Leadership: Theory and Practice (Paperback)
Northouse writes engagingly and clearly and presents an excellent primer on managerial leadership. The book covers all the main elements needed to gain an understanding of the topic as well as the general progress of leadership theories and their application in a managerial context.

Each Chapter is dedicated to an approach starting with the Trait Approach in chapter 2 (after an introduction to leadership in chapter 1) and culminating with Contingency theory. All the chapters are organized in a consistent and logical manner starting with (1) a description of the theory; (2) how does it work; (3) its strengths; (4) weaknesses; (5) applications and then some (6) case studies. This makes Northouse's treatment very straightforward and combined with his writing style, both an enjoyable and educational read.

However, while this book is probably the best introduction to the topic, readers looking for more in-depth information or a more academic treatment would probably be better serve with Yukl's "Leadership in Organizations:Global Edition"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leadership: Theory and Practice Peter Northouse, 17 Nov. 2008
By 
Alan Walsh (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Leadership: Theory and Practice (Paperback)
This book helped me get the best results on my course. Clear, concise and relevant. An easy read on a difficult and complex subject. If only there were other books written like this in all subjects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Encyclopedia of Leadership Models, 3 Jan. 2010
This review is from: Leadership: Theory and Practice (Paperback)
This is an excellent book to gain an overview of leadership models. It is not a novel and would prove dry to read from cover-to-cover. I have used it as a reference document which I have dipped in to in order to extract understanding on certain ideas and theories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and sound book, 14 Jan. 2010
By 
This review is from: Leadership: Theory and Practice (Paperback)
Very clear and concise book with the recent trends on Leadership styles and methods. Highly recommendrd for students to get an initial launh in the business world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reading list, 10 Feb. 2013
I bought this item as I am working towards my ba pcet. It arrived quickly and in good condition. I have not yet used it. But this item was on the reading list!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars book review, 20 Jun. 2009
By 
A. Besemer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Leadership: Theory and Practice (Paperback)
I had to buy this book for class but it is an easy read with lot of information on various leadership theories and ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 21 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Leadership: Theory and Practice (Paperback)
Quick delivery and was what I expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good but..., 13 Feb. 2009
This review is from: Leadership: Theory and Practice (Paperback)
A good read, but for a real insight into leadership in 2009, it is worth also exploring the issues of collaboration that are essential for successful leaders in these troubled economic times.
Collaborative leaders look beyond their immediate group or team to others in the organisation and a wider circle outside - to suppliers, partners and others with whom they can collaborate, to leverage relationships based upon mutual trust in the search for win-win outcomes. 'Collaborative Leadership: How to succeed in an interconnected world' is probably the best description of this and is a good manual for anyone running a business or project in these recessionary times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Leadership: Theory and Practice
Leadership: Theory and Practice by Peter G. Northouse (Paperback - 19 Dec. 2006)
Used & New from: £1.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews