Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Working Memory in the Classroom
This is a fascinating book. Before reading it I had only a hazy idea what working memory was and that it was something that educational psychologists measured. My daughter and I are both dyslexic and poor working memory seems (in our cases at least to be part of the problem).Sadly the book suggests that it is difficult to improve your working memory, but is full of tips,...
Published on 7 April 2010 by Sue

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For primary school
This book is written in an engaging way with examples and practical suggestions. Unfortunately, and what is not made clear, is that this book is firmly anchored in primary school. All the examples, whilst informative, are of KS1 and 2 children and therefore all the suggested activities are for primary school students. There is very little direct help in this book for...
Published 1 month ago by EnglishLitchick


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Working Memory in the Classroom, 7 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Working Memory and Learning: A Practical Guide for Teachers (Paperback)
This is a fascinating book. Before reading it I had only a hazy idea what working memory was and that it was something that educational psychologists measured. My daughter and I are both dyslexic and poor working memory seems (in our cases at least to be part of the problem).Sadly the book suggests that it is difficult to improve your working memory, but is full of tips, (based on the classroom, but generally useful) on how to make life easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Working Memory in the Classroom, 20 Oct 2009
This review is from: Working Memory and Learning: A Practical Guide for Teachers (Paperback)
This is an excellent book. It gives a clear description of working memory and its importance in learning. It describes the difficulties students face in the classroom when working memory is weak, and gives useful practical suggestions for both students and teachers to use. All teachers should read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars useful, 2 Feb 2010
By 
Ms. Cheryl A. Collins (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Working Memory and Learning: A Practical Guide for Teachers (Paperback)
Having worked in several schools as an assistant and student teacher, this book was the most relevant
and helpful in understanding how children work. I have used it tonnes now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For primary school, 3 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working Memory and Learning: A Practical Guide for Teachers (Paperback)
This book is written in an engaging way with examples and practical suggestions. Unfortunately, and what is not made clear, is that this book is firmly anchored in primary school. All the examples, whilst informative, are of KS1 and 2 children and therefore all the suggested activities are for primary school students. There is very little direct help in this book for students/teachers in secondary school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy read and packed with evidence and practical ideas, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working Memory and Learning: A Practical Guide for Teachers (Paperback)
I needed to know about the challenges of limited working memory and how to spot learners for whom it is an issue. This book described all I needed to know for beginning to plan for interventions with targeted children. I have already recommended it to other practitioners working in primary schools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Working Memory and Learning, 5 May 2010
This review is from: Working Memory and Learning: A Practical Guide for Teachers (Paperback)
An excellent book with clear explanations of a complicated subject. Very helpful practical suggestions to support leaners with weak working memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working Memory and Learning: A Practical Guide for Teachers (Paperback)
A great straightforward down to earth book which clearly explains working memory and in particular poor working memory and ways in which to help over come this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good background reading for teachers, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working Memory and Learning: A Practical Guide for Teachers (Paperback)
This book will change the way you think about those pupils who are not listening. It gives practical strategies and insights to how children retain information. Highly recommended for all teachers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful guide, 23 Mar 2013
By 
Jane Turner "Jane" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working Memory and Learning: A Practical Guide for Teachers (Paperback)
This gave a clear, not too detailed overview of the issues and strategies to overcome working memory difficulties. I felt that for the cover price of the book, there could have been a bit more to it. It is a fairly quick and easy read though and as such would be informative for teachers with all levels of understanding of neurological issues affecting learning. Definitely glad I read it, not sure I'll be going back to it again and again. Maybe one to borrow rather than buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 19 Mar 2013
By 
H. Norris - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working Memory and Learning: A Practical Guide for Teachers (Paperback)
I bought this to help me research and write an essay for a Masters' module in Dyslexia. I thought that paying 20 pound for a book was expensive but should be worth it. However, I paid for two women's views on approaches to aid working memory which were not substantiated. Even the generalisations they made in the introduction about dyslexia and working memory were not supported with findings/quotations from other researchers. It makes me wonder how this book was even published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Working Memory and Learning: A Practical Guide for Teachers
Working Memory and Learning: A Practical Guide for Teachers by Tracy Packiam Alloway (Paperback - 9 Jan 2008)
£21.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews