Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have reference for all social science researchers
Do you know your ontology from your epistemology? Can you tell the difference between essentialism and positivism? Do the words themselves make you want to pull the duvet up and go back to sleep? I too was like that...

I really love this book and it has been a constant reference whilst I've been grappling with a doctorate. For clear, succinct definitions...
Published on 1 Oct 2009 by Self-help junkie

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not useful for who is studying and Introduction to Social Sciences
I am an Open University student and I am half way through the course DD131 "An introduction to Social Sciences". I bought this book with the hope it could assist me through this course which aims to introduce and explore key issues and debates in Social Sciences.

I find it very frustrating that, so far, the book has been of no assistance whatsoever. I also find...
Published on 15 Aug 2010 by Bruno Pires


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have reference for all social science researchers, 1 Oct 2009
By 
Self-help junkie (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Social Science Jargon Buster: The Key Terms You Need to Know (Paperback)
Do you know your ontology from your epistemology? Can you tell the difference between essentialism and positivism? Do the words themselves make you want to pull the duvet up and go back to sleep? I too was like that...

I really love this book and it has been a constant reference whilst I've been grappling with a doctorate. For clear, succinct definitions of the most commonly (over?)-used words in research journals, this is an excellent, friendly resource. I love the way each section ends with a list of further recommended reading: I've used the suggestions several times and they have been very useful both as sources to improve my understanding and as references to add to my list!

Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Reference, 7 Feb 2009
This review is from: The Social Science Jargon Buster: The Key Terms You Need to Know (Paperback)
A dictionary-style reference book useful for anyone studying social sciences. Key terms are defined in one sentence, and then followed by an longer explanation including examples; a section on any debates and controversies surrounding the term; practical application; related key figures and recommended reading for further information. Allows the reader to easily understand words such as identity, social darwinism and behaviourism and to apply them.

The only problem I had with the book was that I thought the cover was very woman-orientated and I can't imagine many men willingly picking up a book with such a feminine design!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not useful for who is studying and Introduction to Social Sciences, 15 Aug 2010
By 
Bruno Pires (Luxembourg) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Social Science Jargon Buster: The Key Terms You Need to Know (Paperback)
I am an Open University student and I am half way through the course DD131 "An introduction to Social Sciences". I bought this book with the hope it could assist me through this course which aims to introduce and explore key issues and debates in Social Sciences.

I find it very frustrating that, so far, the book has been of no assistance whatsoever. I also find it very strange that the key terms and concepts discussed in this course do not figure in this book.

An example of that is consumption or consumer society is completely ignored in this book, (but awkwardly the term "post industrial" does figure in it...).

Also, some terms that might seems of substantial importance are very poorly discussed or explained.
Example of this is "Identity", the author gives a "Longer explanation" that reads nothing like a longer explanation but instead reads like a quick, confused and personal description of "who I am" (who the author is).

Some of the terms that figure in the book also seem rather "common sense", or better, like terms you most likely learned in secondary school.

I am not in a position to judge the professional or academic relevance of this book. But what I am indeed in a position to state is that this book offered me absolutely nothing of relevance when studying a Introduction to Social Sciences and when compared with other similar books that I have read or that I am currently reading and using in my studies, it feels extremely poor and rather amateur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent clear and concise 'jargon-buster', 22 Jun 2009
By 
Michael Walsh - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Social Science Jargon Buster: The Key Terms You Need to Know (Paperback)
Only someone from Australia, free of airs and graces, could produce a book like this. The author is a senior lecturer in social sciences in Sydney. The book is free of the bumptious bunk which clings to social science. Clear, concise and nails all the topics I need for the OU social science course I'm on. I love quoting from the book.Yes, get a decent social sciences dictionary, I've got the one by Duncan Mitchell, but this book is brilliant and is a must have. I like the way it first gives a 'core definition' then the 'longer explanation'. Terrific.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Student must-have, 23 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Social Science Jargon Buster: The Key Terms You Need to Know (Paperback)
Really helpful for students new to social science. Found this invaluable for reading lengthy textbooks and research. Good for producing assignments and making use of relevent terms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly accessible, 20 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Social Science Jargon Buster: The Key Terms You Need to Know (Paperback)
I'm a post-grad student and wanted to ensure I had sufficient grounding in a broad range of social scientific terminology. This text really breaks each concept down very simply, perhaps a little too simply at times. I think it is absolutely ideal for undergraduates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A whole new language, 8 Oct 2014
By 
Dr T (Chester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Social Science Jargon Buster: The Key Terms You Need to Know (Paperback)
Helped me to understand a whole new language when I started social research
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Social Science Jargon Buster: The Key Terms You Need to Know (Paperback)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Social Science Jargon Buster: The Key Terms You Need to Know (Paperback)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Social Science Jargon Buster: The Key Terms You Need to Know
£17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews