Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tried and tested
(Disclosure : I know the author)
I am belatedly reviewing this book after many years of using it with Masters students. This book is an excellent prop for Masters and PhD students who are struggling to scope and plan their research. I have had much positive feedback from students on its utility for them. It is even more effective if their supervisor can signpost...
Published 23 months ago by francesbell

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An exercise in researching research?
The book starts off with an in-depth discussion of the definition of research and it's purposes, and an argument for "evidence-based practice". This concerns the lack of evidence validating fashionable design and development techniques such as UML, XP and others that are used in industry and taught at Universities without questioning or analysing their effectiveness...
Published on 6 Feb 2006 by astrogurl


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tried and tested, 30 July 2012
This review is from: Researching Information Systems and Computing (Paperback)
(Disclosure : I know the author)
I am belatedly reviewing this book after many years of using it with Masters students. This book is an excellent prop for Masters and PhD students who are struggling to scope and plan their research. I have had much positive feedback from students on its utility for them. It is even more effective if their supervisor can signpost them to relevant sections like the diagram on the Research process, and the literature review section that distinguishes between author- centric and issue-centric approaches (a concept that may struggle with). It is written clearly and well-organised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very useful text for IS/Computing Students undertaking projects, 12 May 2006
By 
H. Edwards (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Researching Information Systems and Computing (Paperback)
I am recommending this text for my masters levels students. For the scale of their projects they do not have time to do fundamental quantitative research, and frequently that would not be appropriate: hence many focus on qualitative approaches.

This text gives clear discussions of the pros and cons of different approaches, practical hints and tips and good follow-on references.

However, this text would be less suitable for "pure" computer science students.

My experience is that (despite support from supervisors) many students have difficulties in at least one of the following areas (i) scoping a project (ii) defining their research area and choosing appropriate research techniques, and (iii) clearly, effectively, and critically, reviewing relevant literature. I believe this text provides clear guidance for students to follow in these areas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I like it, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Researching Information Systems and Computing (Paperback)
I received a brand new book as expected .. its very useful for research students .. I would recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good Stuff, 2 Nov 2013
An easy to read and interlectually accessible book that's worth a lot more than than time I spent reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Philodphy underpinning research, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Researching Information Systems and Computing (Paperback)
I used this book with students doing an early childhgood studies degree as the explantions on the philosophy underpinning research was excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars distinction!, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Researching Information Systems and Computing (Paperback)
This book helped me to a MSc with distinction. Fantastically laid out, well written, easy to read (I read most of it during my commute!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Both book were core modules of my pathway., 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Researching Information Systems and Computing (Paperback)
Both books are core module of my uni courses and were recommended. So far they have help in no small ways to guide my understanding and prepared me for my exams. However more review will be added by the end of the semester
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cool book, 15 Feb 2009
This review is from: Researching Information Systems and Computing (Paperback)
This is really a good book in helping an IS student learn about research classifications and methodologies.

Though going to class would sure help if this is all new to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An exercise in researching research?, 6 Feb 2006
This review is from: Researching Information Systems and Computing (Paperback)
The book starts off with an in-depth discussion of the definition of research and it's purposes, and an argument for "evidence-based practice". This concerns the lack of evidence validating fashionable design and development techniques such as UML, XP and others that are used in industry and taught at Universities without questioning or analysing their effectiveness over other methods in a formal and rigorous way.
Unfortunately, these, together with the section on ethics, are the only highlights of this book.
This book could be reduced to half the size if it left out the many patronising explanations and examples of things that anyone with some form of university education in IS/computing should know ("The internet is used for listening to radio broadcasts from around the world via Internet Radio"). I also doubt if anyone would take time to complete the "practise exercises" in research techniques in general, and who would be available and qualified to comment on the results without a good knowledge of the field in question!
It concerns itself deeply with the philosophical paradigms of research - a whole topic in itself and hardly specific to the computing field. There is also in my opinion a heavy bias towards qualitative (over quantitive) research and the social science aspect of information systems and their uses, with little practical advice for those undertaking research in hard-core computing science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Researching Information Systems and Computing
Researching Information Systems and Computing by Briony J Oates (Paperback - 4 Nov 2005)
27.16
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews