Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars14
3.1 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£16.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 April 2006
I'm sorry to have to disagree with everyone here but the idea that this is a 'practical guide' for tax avoidance is utter rubbish. The book is so vague, so badly written and so full of errors as to make it completely unreliable and almost entirely useless. I only hold back from giving it no stars at all on the basis that he's managed to copy some official tables from the Inland Revenue correctly on such matters as taper relief and business miles. Otherwise, to be blunt, you can learn many times this amount by visiting the Hmrc's website for nothing.
The order of the book is more or less random with no connecting or explanatory headings, presumably because it's simply a list of any bits of information he could lay his hands on at the time. I was also more than annoyed to have paid for a book that has only one chapter before it enters its appendix. Is it some sort of joke? Seriously, if you trust any of the contorted, confused and misrepresented assertions in this book then you are a financial idiot, and should consider abandoning your business.
The intellectually inept meanderings of the text are adequately summed up by the 20 pages of proud advertisements for the author's moronic 'self-help' and 'spiritual growth' books at the end of a book that lasts only 57 pages to begin with.
Avoid at all costs, unless you think trusting people who peddle expensive self-help courses the best way to look after your finances.
0Comment35 of 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2006
Dont wanna appear too rude, but the authors surname describes the book beautifully - Blank...I've bought many books from Amazon and this is the first one Ive ever had to return. (Wish Id read the reviews before I ordered) As mentioned by others, half of the book is for the appendix - ie addresses (Which you can find on the net) and the author's other books. I also ordered tax for Dummies which covers far more and is good value for money.
0Comment21 of 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2007
Clearly a poor product. The sad thing is that the two reviews above seem to be highly suspicious. e.g. a chartered accountant with a number of years' training being intrigued by a book introducing tax saving for beginners - I think not. Avoid.
0Comment12 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
Right tax avoidance. Here's the trick. First, and this is very important, get some really sharp legal types (believe it or not there's a few out there if you know which rocks to turn over). These guys will help you find loop-holes in the tax system of the economy you wish to exploit (sorry, I mean operate in), and are a stone bargain at a couple of million quid a pop - hey they'll even help you write it off! Second get yourself a good P.R outfit who will spread the word that you're "changing the face of retailing" and are helping "the little guy". Now you can really go to town. Charge all in-house expenses at exorbitant rates, but farmed out to offshore branches, paying little or no tax. Make everything look like a loss on paper and before you know it you will have put your competition (square-dealing, tax-paying dinosaurs) to the sword. Then when you've got a monopoly position in the market, charge what you like. God,I love this business!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
This seems a particularly appropriate book for Amazon to retail given their own record of tax avoidance in the UK. Perhaps they should consider paying tax at a level more appropriate to the scale of their operations here, rather than expecting those of us who have no choice but to pay tax to effectively subsidize their business by paying for infrastructure and tax credits for the poorly paid?
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2013
Topical and timely, the first question you need to answer is whether or not you think you have a business in the UK. As recommended by Amazon, Google, Apple and Starbucks.
11 comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2010
This book is a complete and utter waste of time and money and should be regarded as a total rip off. You have been warned.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2006
Has some useful info. But is 58 pages of text and 30 pages of addresses followed by 20 pages of other works by the author. A bit excessive really.
0Comment17 of 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2006
Wanted a tax book that was simple but effective and was recommended this one by my accountant. He said it would be simple enough even for me. I must be thick or something but I found it heavy going. The author doesnt waste his words, everything is straight to the point and concise. The information was excellent for my purposes but there was too many ways of saving on my taxes suggested. I found after the first few pages I had to make notes to come back to many pages I was interested in. Its a small book and contains many contacts in the back for accountants and professional tax specialists. I noticed that most of these specialied in offshore tax planning as well, obviously the author must have an interest in that although he didnt dwell too much on that point in this book. I give it 4 and not 5 stars because the author did over sell his other books in the last section of the book titled Other works by the author, a blatant attempt at advertising his other books. However it still doesnt ruin this book for me as it more than helped me with great tax saving ideas on my tax return.
0Comment11 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
There's nothing here you can't read in the FT or the inland revenue website, I could have spent my £3.20 better
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
We can help resolve this! Specialist Discreet Advice
  -  
Buy References, Reports, Guides. Essential for Tax Practitioners.
  -  
Earn 35K+? - Contractor, Ltd, Paye Pay less Tax Now - Instant Quote