Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars88
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 22 January 2011
Twelfth Night is one of Shakespeare's liveliest and most accessible romantic comedies - but also deals intelligently with issues of gender, sexual desire, class and social harmony.

The enchanting story of Viola dressed as the page Cesario, with whom both Orsino and Orsino's erstwhile object of desire fall in love, is filled with rapturous poetry that articulates love, desire and romantic melancholy. But these central relationships are modulated by Malvolio's desire for his mistress Olivia, the bawdy comedy of Sir Toby Belch, and Antonio's unrequited desire for Viola's twin, Sebastian.

Ultimately social harmony is restored - but the portrait of Malvolio gives us an insight, perhaps, into how characters such as Edmund in King Lear, and Iago are created.

So a sunny, feel-good romantic comedy, but shaded lightly by a darker tinge.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2002
This is the edition if you are new to Shakespeare. It presents the play in an easy to understand way with useful notes and commentary. However it is overtly simplistic and lacks the in depth analysis that this great play deserves.
This is one of Shakespeare's most interesting and entertaining comedies. Enjoy.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2014
Just bought this for my daughters A level course. It's perfect for year 12.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2011
These notes are good for GCSE level, but they didn't serve greatly when I used it at A Level. I'd recommend, but only for a more advanced understanding for GCSE.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 26 January 2014
Is slippered middle age on the horizon? Do I seem to prefer Shakespeare's comedies - famously unfunny - to his historical tragedies, nowadays? I certainly didn't get far, at least not yet, with Coriolanus, but Twelfth Night, as with As You Like It, is easy reading. Disguise, mistaken identity, hopeless infatuation, a medley of clowns and love triumphant. All that's missing is a bit with a dog.

It's winter and the rain it raineth every day, so why not curl up with this one?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2011
I was impressed by the whole Kindle experience, but NOT very impressed by the quality of the words in this free edition of 'Twelfth Night':

'O, it came o'er my ear like the sweet sound,'

is how I remembered it, but this Kindle Version has:

'O, it came o'er my ear like the sweet south,'

Not a lot of help, if one is studying the text for an examination. Does Amazon/Kindle have any responsibility for the quality of the Kindle-branded editions they make available?
11 comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2015
Complicated. I've read Shakespeare before and I understand the language he uses but that plot was just crazy! But it was very funny and the use of misinterpretation is always great. Truly laughed out loud. Good one Shakespeare ^_^
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2012
As for the minimalistic title, all I can say is it's not my favourite of Shakespeare's plays, but is of a good quality and the notes, although unnecessary to me, do appear fairly useful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2004
This could have been better but I have high expectancies. Overall this made a lot of vital, relevant points that you couldn't have pointed out if you were feeling a bit brain dead (like I am constantly when writing essays). Nevertheless, I feel there could have been more detail.
The sample essay titles at the back were quite handy, the chapter summaries and analysises were very useful, the little facts at the side about pleasing the examiners and stuff were pretty groovy, and also the tasks really help to revise and improve understanding of the chpaters. If you struggle with Twelfth Night or just want a good notes book about it then get this!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2009
The Arkangel Shakespeare recordings vary a lot in quality, and this isn't one of the best...unfortunate, as 'Twelfth Night' is one of Shakespeare's most musical plays both in atmosphere and versification, and really needs to be heard aloud.

Viola is one of my favourite female Shakespeare characters (much more likable than the female characters in 'As You Like It', with which this play is often compared) but here is rendered unsympathetically. Olivia is much better acted, and the actress who plays Olivia should probably have been Viola, while the one who played Maria would have made a better Olivia.

The clown sings well, but his voice is wrong - too educated and frigid to evoke a sense of wry, aching melancholy. Sir Toby Belch is particularly annoying - a cackling idiot rather than the Falstaffian scallywag of old. Malvolio is suitably puritanical, more arrogant than in some other versions. His arrogance does make him comical in the scenes where he 'woos' Olivia, and the cellar scene is definitely funny and vivid.
22 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)