Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A well constructed story in need of a little more excitement
Isaac Bell returns for another early 20th Century adventure. As the German war machine is building, they attempt to kindap two scientists from a trans-Atlantic liner, but Bell can't fathom why.

This is far from the most exciting of the Isaac Bell novels, with actually surprisingly little by way of action and much more investigation, but as such it feels like a...
Published on 2 Mar 2012 by Jim J-R

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointed
This book was not up to the usual standard. I don't find it as much of a page turner as previous books.
Published 6 months ago by walls


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A well constructed story in need of a little more excitement, 2 Mar 2012
By 
Jim J-R (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Isaac Bell returns for another early 20th Century adventure. As the German war machine is building, they attempt to kindap two scientists from a trans-Atlantic liner, but Bell can't fathom why.

This is far from the most exciting of the Isaac Bell novels, with actually surprisingly little by way of action and much more investigation, but as such it feels like a better constructed plot. It does lack the trademark technological focus of some of the earlier stories which focussed on cars, trains, planes, though there is a little of this in the treatment of early film production.

Despite this, I'm continuing to enjoy the Bell stories more than Cussler's other spinoffs. Perhaps it's the historical setting, but I notice less of the plot holes that appear in the modern-day stories and things seem much more believable.

It's also worth noting that there are a number of typos in my copy - I wonder whether the extreme three-month turnaround between books is making the proof-reading process rushed. I find this quite irritating in a novel as it tends to break me out from the flow of the story. I also find the illustrations laughable and filled with spoilers - what's the point of showing me a picture of a pivotal scene that hasn't happened yet?

Overall, a well constructed story that could perhaps do with a tiny bit more excitement. Cussler's output has yet to return to its peak but has definitely picked up from recent lows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cussler but different, 13 Mar 2012
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Review:
I have to admit from the start that of all the Cussler characters Bell is my least Fav, I read cussler to get away from reality with an over the top action novel. All of this leads me to finally get that i need to stop looking at Issac Bell in the same way as other Cussler books, you do need to put some thought into this book, its not a brain off thrill ride.
When i read the book with this in mind i found that i really enjoyed it and i think i will go back and reread the other Issac Bell books.
The book still has cussler pace and very real characters, but lacks the usual cheesy edge...that i quite like, but even without leaves a fun fast novel, with a well planned and well plotted story. Add to this the old foe Germany, Spies and the historical setting and you have a fun read to while away the hours.

(Parm)

Description: From Back of Book
On the ocean liner Mauretania, two European scientists with a dramatic new invention are barely rescued from abduction by the Van Dorn Detective Agency's intrepid chief investigator, Isaac Bell. Unfortunately, they are not so lucky the second time. The thugs attack again-and this time one of the scientists dies. What are they holding that is so precious? Only something that will revolutionize business and popular culture-and perhaps something more.

For war clouds are looming, and a ruthless espionage agent has spotted a priceless opportunity to give the Germans an edge. It is up to Isaac Bell to figure out who he is, what he is up to, and stop him. But he may already be too late . . . and the future of the world may just hang in the balance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars disappointed, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was not up to the usual standard. I don't find it as much of a page turner as previous books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I am hooked on this series already, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The storyline is good well organised and well written couldn't put it down Clive can certainly pull off a great tale and leave you wanting more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Thief, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A new character from Cussler. A detective from the early 1900s with several plot running concurrently, as is the norm for Cussler and his associate writers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Never disappointed with Clive Cussler always waiting on his next book to be published.
Issac Bell is the ultimate detective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ecellent as ever. Isaac Bell is a phenomena As is, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excelent as ever. Isaac Bell is a phenomena. I was captivated all the way from page one to the very end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The thief, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Clive never fails to keep me griped .from start to finish what a read.Isaac bell ps the man's man like Dirk Pitt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Isaac Bell as earthy as it comes, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another gripping Isaac Bell novel from Clive Cussler well worth the read. Although the "baddy" is not as intimidating as I would expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Thief (Isaac Bell Adventures)
The Thief (Isaac Bell Adventures) by Justin Scott (Hardcover - 6 April 2012)
£18.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews