Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jungle Book
The Jungle by Clive Cussler (Background Blurb from the publisher and review)

Juan Cabrillo and the crew of the Oregon have undergone many hair-raising adventures before - but never one quite like this.

Jungles come in many forms: there are the steamy rainforests of the Burmese highland. There are the lies, and betrayals of the world of covert...
Published on 11 Jun 2011 by Parm

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent 'Boy's Own' adventures.....
If you like fast paced adventure books with numerous heroes and heroines, easy access to everyone and everything but highly implausible, Clive Cussler and his co-writers are for you. I usually buy a couple when my regular authors are unavailable, often seduced by the excellent artwork on the front covers which more often hints at something curiously adventurous. Every...
Published 5 months ago by A. F. Prestwich


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jungle Book, 11 Jun 2011
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The Jungle by Clive Cussler (Background Blurb from the publisher and review)

Juan Cabrillo and the crew of the Oregon have undergone many hair-raising adventures before - but never one quite like this.

Jungles come in many forms: there are the steamy rainforests of the Burmese highland. There are the lies, and betrayals of the world of covert operations. And there are the dark and twisted thoughts of a man bent on near-global domination.To pull off their latest mission, Cabrillo and his remarkable men and women must survive them all.

A devastating new weapon unleashed in thirteenth-century China . . . a daring rescue mission in the snowbound mountains along the Afghanistan/Pakistan border . . . a woman gone missing in the jungles of Northern Thailand and Myanmar . . . For Cabrillo, all of these events will come together -leading to the greatest threat against US security that the country has ever known.

In recent books Cussler has become a little off his game, but except with the character Juan Cabrillo, this seems to be where he has retained his mastery of this genre, Dirk Pitt and Dirk Pitt Jnr have had their day and need to be retired in favour of these characters, they have more scope and are more in tune with the modern stories he is weaving.

this is a solid Cussler tale and i totally enjoyed it, it is the usual turn your brian off sit back and enjoy the rollercoaster ride thrill ride so dont expect to have the grey matter taxed and dont buy the book expecting that sort of story line, but for balls out thriller...this is worth the money. (Parm)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect holiday reading, 19 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
picked this for reading on holiday. Once again Clive Cussler did not disapoint. Felt as if I was along for the ride
with the main characters, enjoying the action as it unfolded. Excellent reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A few fantastical elements ruin an otherwise good Cussler, 7 Mar 2011
By 
Jim J-R (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm very much in two minds about this book. Cut off by the US government following the events of 'The Silent Sea', the Corporation are reliant on work from private customers to pay their way, such as rescuing a kidnapped child and hunting for missing persons. It's difficult to say much more about the plot without giving anything away, so I won't.

It starts badly, with a number of blatant scientific and historical inaccuracies, but then as it gets going the action moves quickly and it feels much more like the early Oregon Files books. The middle section of this book is definitely the best writing that's been put out under Cussler's name for some time. But then the ending just seems to throw all that away and goes back to the realm of the ridiculous - Cussler's novels have dabbled in fantasy since 'Trojan Odessey' but this is probably one of the most extreme.

I've been reading Clive Cussler's novels for about ten years now and I'm afraid to say that the half of the canon that's been published in that time are nothing like the standard of those published before. It's really disappointing because there are glimmers of the old Cussler that shine through the gaps, only to be snatched away by the unbelievable twists that feel so unnecessary.

The Oregon Files are probably my favourites of the spin-off series and this one does introduce some good new characters and fresh storylines, but the plot continues to drag it down. I can only hope that improvements will come, but as long as people (like me) keep buying then the novels will probably continue in this vein.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book., 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a Big Cussler fan. Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... this book but Clive Cussler is one of the best for my taste, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yet to read this book but Clive Cussler is one of the best for my taste. Book condition is fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent 'Boy's Own' adventures....., 5 July 2014
By 
A. F. Prestwich (West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you like fast paced adventure books with numerous heroes and heroines, easy access to everyone and everything but highly implausible, Clive Cussler and his co-writers are for you. I usually buy a couple when my regular authors are unavailable, often seduced by the excellent artwork on the front covers which more often hints at something curiously adventurous. Every time I start a book I think 'this will be hard work' but I must admit I enjoy them for their pace and unusual adventures Cussler and co write about. I read many of the early Dirk Pitt books and enjoyed them but I feel they were written in a far slower manner than the modern conveyor belt style of writing. Perfect holiday books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great Clive Cussler book always enjoyable, gripping and fantastic story line. Can't get enough of his books but I have read most of them now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good quality book, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jungle (Wheeler Hardcover) (Hardcover)
The book was in very good condition, however it did not have a dust cover, but overall a good value purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gggggggggeat, 6 May 2014
By 
BRS (East Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As always a great story I hope to read many more in the future. I wish there were a few more made into films and they followed the book properly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clive cussler oregon files adventures, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Clive cussler isa great author books you don't to put down you want to read all of the particular adventures
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Jungle (Wheeler Hardcover)
The Jungle (Wheeler Hardcover) by Jack B. Du Brul (Hardcover - 2 Mar 2011)
Used & New from: £15.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews