Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great tool for anyone
The product description says "this is a valuable vocabulary building tool for young children." But I would say it's great for adults too - the pictures make it easier (for me anyway) to learn. Well finished, I'd recommend it for anyone learning Polish.
Published on 4 Dec. 2009 by Ricardo Verdi

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good book
it's a good book, shame that the pronunciation is listed at the back, not together with the words and pictures.
Published 10 months ago by mr buyer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great tool for anyone, 4 Dec. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The product description says "this is a valuable vocabulary building tool for young children." But I would say it's great for adults too - the pictures make it easier (for me anyway) to learn. Well finished, I'd recommend it for anyone learning Polish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I expected this book to be designed as "100 words in Polish" book,, 21 Oct. 2010
Overall great.
Just a bit disappointed that "First 1000 words in Polish" its not done the way as "First 100 words in Polish" book with English explanation. Apart from that great, kids seem to enjoy it but not always clear on the meaning as there is no English explanation by the picture. They have to look for the words at the back of the book, which would have been much easier if they follow the "First 100 words in Polish" design. My kids at 5 and 6 would find it easier to remember the Polish vocabulary and practice the English spelling at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars if you're learning polish, 9 May 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an ideal book to start with if you are learning another language, the simple layout is helpful and if you need help the web site will help you with pronunciation, great ! 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent learning material, 15 Feb. 2011
By 
Henri IV (Paris, France) - See all my reviews
I've found this book very helpful for vocabulary building. Having access to on-line pronunciation is a great extra, especially for Polish! The design is cheery and upbeat, and the words selected are useful. Textbooks usually omit the names of everyday objects, and one does need to learn them. I'm so pleased with this Polish version that I've ordered the French and the Latin also. I'm much more advanced in French than in Polish, so for French the book will serve as a review and reminder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Introduction to Polish Vocabulary, 20 July 2009
By 
Mr. J. H. Baker "Jamesbaker1979" (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a great book for an introduction to vocabulary and is a must for anybody learning Polish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 3 Feb. 2011
A Kid's Review
This is a lovely book not only for children but also for anyone trying to learn Polish.Bright,colourful, I would just expect the pictures of the images to be slightly bigger but apart from that,there is nothing else to complain about.I believe that the book is not suitable for very small children as it is a paperback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book Review, 30 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant book for learning 1,000 Polish words, with free internet pronounciation assistance. It's no good for grammar, or sentences, but it never said it was. If you want to improve your Polish vocabulary by 1,000 words, buy this book. Of course, if you already know some of the words in this book - like I did - then you won't increase your vocabulary by 1,000. For example, I could already count to ten, this book helps me to count to 20. And I knew most of the colours also.

There's a clever little "spot the duck" game running through this book, which was good fun until you get to the page set in the kitchen, and the little duck was in the washing machine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 26 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a good book. The only thing wrong with it is that the English is at the back rather than with the Polish word. But it would be good for someone like myself, who works with Polish children and would like to learn some Polish themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Thousand Polish Words, 7 Jun. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I agree with all the previous comments.

An excellent book, the pictures help to form a visual memory aid.

Excellent value.

Promptly delivered and well packed.

(There is aslo an internet link though I haven't looked it up yet)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Thousand Words, 9 April 2009
By 
grannyfiona (Tayside, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well laid out. Suitable for all ages - even my young grandson could pronounce some of the words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

First Thousand Words in Polish (Usborne First Thousand Words)
First Thousand Words in Polish (Usborne First Thousand Words) by Heather Amery (Paperback - 1 Dec. 2013)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews