Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great quality, 13 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Science Experiments (Paperback)
This is a great book that contains a variety of science experiments and good, simple explanations for the results. The experiments require everyday objects such as margerine tubs, tissue paper, wool jumpers, milk etc. The book itself is lovely quality. Really I should be awarding it 5 stars. It would make sense to award it 5 stars as I cannot really fault it. But for some reason, this book does not really rock my boat. I think this is because I view science experiments as something of an adventure for our kids (age 5 and 7) - exciting, marvellous, sometimes shocking. And most of the experiments here, to me they lack the wow factor. But they are all quite interesting in their own way, so we will no doubt use this book and be grateful for it. Afterwards however, we will make citric acid dissolving eyeballs, drop eggs from tall buildings and have at least one explosion. Har!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book!, 2 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Science Experiments (Paperback)
This book is really large (approx. 30.5cm x 24cm) and has amazingly colourful pages that just grab a child's attention and certainly helps to bring science to life and make it fun. The experiments are wide ranging and mostly use products readily available in the home or easily purchased. The book also contains a weblink, where you can then type the page of the book that you are looking at and it will bring up links that will take you to recommended sites for further explanations i.e. BBC Schools, Physics.org, Children's University of Manchester, etc. So far all the links have worked for me but haven't tried them all yet. There are 96 pages in total, which includes the index and glossary. It is very well written book and the layout is so easy to navigate through. I have an (almost) 6 year old daughter and will be using every experiment in this book!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous resource, 3 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Science Experiments (Paperback)
I use this book for ideas for after school Science Club. So far two experiements have failed me but the others have been fantastic! Simple instructions, clear pictures and photographs and a great explanation in kid-speak of the Science behind each experiement. I wish Usborne would provide templates for some of the experiements as I'm not the best artist, but a little bit of googling solved my problems. However, via their web site they do offer some extention style web links.

There is an older, similar version of the text - black cover - Usborne publication. Have borrowed it from a colleague - VERY similar, but if you can find it, even better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars KEEPS A 6 YEAR OLD BUSY, 13 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Science Experiments (Paperback)
Bought for my grandson, 6 year old with a great imagination.

He loves it, never seen him so excited by a book.

Don't think his parents are so exited, he is constantly asking to read the book and try experiments.

If you hear a large explosion over North Co Dublin in the near future.

DON'T blame me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great gift which will encourage lots of interaction between a ..., 23 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Science Experiments (Paperback)
A great gift which will encourage lots of interaction between a younger child (aged around 7 )and their parent or older sibling when trying some of these experiments. There are some which an independent 7 year old could do by themselves too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for my cousin, 21 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Science Experiments (Paperback)
I got this for my 7 year old cousin for his birthday. He really enjoys using the book. I had a little flick through and the experiments I looked at are easily done using household items.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kids Love it, 14 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Science Experiments (Paperback)
Bought it for my 8 yrs old daughter, she loves science experiments and she is very please with it. Keeping her busy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars budding scientist, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Science Experiments (Paperback)
Bought for my 8 year old grandaughter, she loves it so does her father! She can do them herself which is a bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy and quick activities, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Science Experiments (Paperback)
Got this to do some activities with my 5 year old niece, she was really excited about it and we've done a few of them so far. The experiments in it are easy and fun, but what it's missing is a list of 'what's required' at the start of each experiment. You need to read through the whole procedure to make sure you have everything before you start. Also some of them are really quick, so in that case I'd recommend preparing multiple experiments in one go, so you can move on to the next one easily. Overall, fun activities and a great way to get kids interested in science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book - granddaughter loves it., 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Science Experiments (Paperback)
Would definately reccommend for younger children just getting into science.May need a little help from adult but very enjoyable. Go on buy it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

100 Science Experiments
100 Science Experiments by Kate Knighton (Paperback - 1 Dec. 2012)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews