Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Phonics Words - great!, 12 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Phonics Words (Very First Reading) (Hardcover)
I first stumbled across this in my local library. It is a relatively new book (2013). My son was 3 (nearly 4) and could recognise all the letters phonically in the alphabet and was showing lots of interest in words - pointing at them in books and pretending to read them whilst tracing them with his finger.

On each page there is a 3 letter main word, such as 'cat' in large letters at the top and then lots of different pictures or lots of things going on in one bigger picture with 3 or 4 captions, including the main word. For example: cat on a mat / sad cat / fat cat / cat in a hat. With a tiny bit of help/prompting/reminding, spelling and blending the words, he soon got the hang of it and was very keen to keep 'reading' this book over and over.

I thought it was a lovely start to reading and something that was easy enough to begin at home before he had started in reception class at school. I only wish there was a follow up. There are other books in the series, but they seem to be a bit more complex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great first words, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Phonics Words (Very First Reading) (Hardcover)
My son had no confidence in reading school books, but found this achievable and interesting. It is great for learning to sound out words - c.a.t / f.o.x, basic phonics and confidence building as words are repeated. A perfect book for reception class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My grandson loves it, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Phonics Words (Very First Reading) (Hardcover)
When he became really interested in reading for himself this was the book that got all his attention. Lovely illustrations and as with all Usbourne book great for its purpose. Ok he might not get loads of use out of it but it can be kept for his sister and they really are so reasonable. I have ordered the Phonics Book 2 to go with this one as a progression. I would reccomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Phonics made easy!, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Phonics Words (Very First Reading) (Hardcover)
I have finally found a simple book of phonics which is perfect for my Italian Reception children who are learning English as a second language! It has simple pictures which make sense, interesting questions and the sounds and words use follow a logical sense of order. What a shame the book isn't bigger. A4 size would be perfect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Books, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Phonics Words (Very First Reading) (Hardcover)
Bought for my 3 year old who is going full time in September 2013 and she is really enjoying the words and pictures on the same page and finding it easier to read and connect words and pictures
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Phonics Words (Very First Reading) (Hardcover)
I like it a lot, it is easy and helpful. My daughter enjoys reading it. Easy word, good continuation for big phonics book by Usborne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 11 May 2013
This review is from: First Phonics Words (Very First Reading) (Hardcover)
Fantastic introduction to phonics. Complements usborne phonics workbooks, flash cards and phonics 12 book box set.
Would highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful reading tool for beginners., 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Phonics Words (Very First Reading) (Hardcover)
My daughter enjoys this book and is interested in using the pictures to help figure out the words. The book is set up to link the subject to the words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

First Phonics Words (Very First Reading)
First Phonics Words (Very First Reading) by Mairi Mackinnon (Hardcover - 1 Mar 2013)
Used & New from: £12.47
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews