Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality book for younger children
This book has been re-written well for younger children and is of a good quality. The illustrations are very well done.
Published 13 months ago by BKS2168

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unremarkable picture book.
This book is a picture book aimed at pre-school & Foundation age children. It simplifies the story hugely - the first chapter, 'The River Bank', for example, is reduced to 34 words and one double-page picture. Consequently, the characters are slightly caricatured - Toad the buffoon, weasels the out-and-out baddies and Badger, Ratty & Mole all terribly sensible...
Published 20 months ago by Mrs Mellins


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unremarkable picture book., 13 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wind in the Willows (Usborne Picture Storybooks) (Paperback)
This book is a picture book aimed at pre-school & Foundation age children. It simplifies the story hugely - the first chapter, 'The River Bank', for example, is reduced to 34 words and one double-page picture. Consequently, the characters are slightly caricatured - Toad the buffoon, weasels the out-and-out baddies and Badger, Ratty & Mole all terribly sensible.

The illustrations are pretty enough, without being particularly captivating and the story is exciting enough for the book to appeal to most 3-6 year olds. However, if you're looking to this book to inspire a love of Kenneth Grahame's classic in a child, this edition doesn't really cut it; indeed, it is just as likely to put off a child from reading the original when they are older by giving away the plot, while failing to give away the magic, of the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality book for younger children, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wind in the Willows (Usborne Picture Storybooks) (Paperback)
This book has been re-written well for younger children and is of a good quality. The illustrations are very well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful abridged version for toddlers, 10 April 2014
By 
Kairra (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wind in the Willows (Usborne Picture Storybooks) (Paperback)
I wasn't sure about this when I ordered it as sometimes abridged versions can miss the point completely. However along with the gorgeous artwork, this book is a fantastic first look at the Wind in the Willows story. It's also great for non readers as well as readers - my 16 month old loves pointing out the things in the pictures as m.co.ukch as the story telling!

Definitely a good purchase and I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely story and beautiful pictures, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great short version of Wind in the Willows for children and beautifully illustrated. My little one loved it as a bedtime story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lovely book, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wind in the Willows (Usborne Picture Storybooks) (Paperback)
I bought this book for work as it was linked with the topic we were doing, some wind in the willows books were too long but this book was just right for the younger children. The illustrations are really lovely too. Fab book!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good presentation, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wind in the Willows (Usborne Picture Storybooks) (Paperback)
Part of my Tales of the Riverbank topic for year 2, so hoping they will have lots of different books to compare
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars lovely children's story, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wind in the Willows (Usborne Picture Storybooks) (Paperback)
the book arrived earlier than expected. the children absolutely loved the story and enjoyed the characters of Ratty, Mole and Toad. Minimal text and shortened version of the story so made for an easy read in literacy lesson. good packaging which meant book was not damages in mail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars wouldnt buy, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wind in the Willows (Usborne Picture Storybooks) (Paperback)
I do buy books for my 3years old frequently and daughter loves reading them but this one was disappointing. Nor me or her like the story - could be done much more gentle and readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely introduction to Wind in the Willows, 27 April 2013
By 
J. J. Ward (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wind in the Willows (Usborne Picture Storybooks) (Paperback)
I wanted to introduce my grandchildren to this lovely story and this was the perfect book for age 2and a half and 5 years old. They love it and the elder one can read some of the words. You cannot go wrong with an Usborne book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wind in the willows, 10 Feb 2013
This review is from: Wind in the Willows (Usborne Picture Storybooks) (Paperback)
I bought this the my daughter who enjoyed reading the book and the excellent illustrations. we wanted her to read the book before going to watch it in the theatre so she had an idea of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa70ba3cc)

This product

Wind in the Willows (Usborne Picture Storybooks)
Wind in the Willows (Usborne Picture Storybooks) by Lesley Sims (Paperback - 1 Mar 2011)
4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews