Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book but note the size!
This is a lovely book (and my little granddaughter obviously thinks so too). However, buyers should note the size - I thought it would be larger in measurement than it is. It doesn't in any way detract from the content, but giving it as a gift I was just a tad disappointed. The squashy cover feels lovely to hold. I would buy it again.
Published on 28 May 2012 by Anne Powell

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Barren
I was very disappointed with this book. It was the usual Usborne problem - the pages you see online when you 'look inside' are just gorgeous but all the others are lacking and barely illustrated. Most rhymes did not have an illustration and those that do have are illustrated with tiny, unimaginative pictures which are the type of thing you might see on a curtain or the...
Published 10 days ago by Cheyne


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book but note the size!, 28 May 2012
By 
Anne Powell (Portsmouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Usborne Illustrated Book of Nursery Rhymes (Illustrated Story Collections) (Hardcover)
This is a lovely book (and my little granddaughter obviously thinks so too). However, buyers should note the size - I thought it would be larger in measurement than it is. It doesn't in any way detract from the content, but giving it as a gift I was just a tad disappointed. The squashy cover feels lovely to hold. I would buy it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Usborne Illustrated Book of Nursery Rhymes (Illustrated Story Collections) (Hardcover)
We have bought this book for our daughters 1st Christmas, it arrived well packaged and is beautiful. The front cover is thick and padded, nice to the touch. And the nursery rhymes, sayings, songs, tongue twisters and lullabies are just lovely and really take you back to your childhood. The illustrations on each page are beautiful.
There is an index at the back of the book which is superb if you or your child has a favourite.
I looked at a lot of the nursery rhyme books and I am delighted that I chose this one, it really is beautiful, we can't wait to start this book with our little girl.
Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Book, 21 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Usborne Illustrated Book of Nursery Rhymes (Illustrated Story Collections) (Hardcover)
I've bought this book for my Grand Daughter for Christmas. It's a lovely looking book, quite traditional and has all the nursery rhymes you expect to see in it. Good Value for money. Very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Usborne Illustrated Book of Nursery Rhymes (Illustrated Story Collections) (Hardcover)
This is a very good collection,beautifully illustrated. It is about the same size as an iPad,so easy to hold and take with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Usborne Illustrated Book of Nursery Rhymes (Illustrated Story Collections) (Hardcover)
This book has all the nursery rhymes that I remember that are forgotten nowadays. Perfect to teach the little ones of today what nursery rhymes are all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful old fashioned book, 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Usborne Illustrated Book of Nursery Rhymes (Illustrated Story Collections) (Hardcover)
Wonderful book for my two new little granddaughters! I wanted a proper, traditional Nursery Rhynme book and this was perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Barren, 8 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Usborne Illustrated Book of Nursery Rhymes (Illustrated Story Collections) (Hardcover)
I was very disappointed with this book. It was the usual Usborne problem - the pages you see online when you 'look inside' are just gorgeous but all the others are lacking and barely illustrated. Most rhymes did not have an illustration and those that do have are illustrated with tiny, unimaginative pictures which are the type of thing you might see on a curtain or the edge of a plate. They also frequently fail to be faithful and correct to the content of rhyme - as though the artist hasn't read the rhyme properly and makes mistakes. It also seemed that poor choices had been made on what to illustrate - so some rhymes which are well-know as short rhymes are written in their full-length as ridiculously long rhymes which become boring and tedious and are barely illustrated. After reading through the whole book with my child we returned it because it simply wasn't rich enough in illustration and became quite boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Usborne Illustrated Book of Nursery Rhymes (Illustrated Story Collections) (Hardcover)
I love this book and really enjoy reading it to my baby boy. He loves looking at all the beautiful illustrations as well. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Usborne Illustrated Book of Nursery Rhymes (Illustrated Story Collections) (Hardcover)
Lovely book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it. Kid loves it., 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Usborne Illustrated Book of Nursery Rhymes (Illustrated Story Collections) (Hardcover)
And you too could love it.. No, seriously, it really is a lovely book. Easy to hold and feels quite tactile. Really lovely pictures and great rhymes. Not more to say really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Usborne Illustrated Book of Nursery Rhymes (Illustrated Story Collections)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews