Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting for five-year-olds
Beautifully written and illustrated retellings of a selected few of the many fairy tales written by Hans Christian Anderson. Particularly impressed by the Little Mermaid, which is an antidote to the saccharine Disney version of the story. Too well done to be upsetting, but the darker side of fairy stories is at least present here. My daughter and I have read these again...
Published on 14 May 2012 by Jen the Pen

versus
6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not clear these tales were "retold"
Very disappointed when the book arrived and it turned out the tales were retold versions of Hans Christian Andersen stories, not the originals.
This was not clear from the image and description of the item
Published on 15 Feb 2012 by L. Linton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting for five-year-olds, 14 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Hans Christian Andersen (Usborne Illustrated Story Collections) (Hardcover)
Beautifully written and illustrated retellings of a selected few of the many fairy tales written by Hans Christian Anderson. Particularly impressed by the Little Mermaid, which is an antidote to the saccharine Disney version of the story. Too well done to be upsetting, but the darker side of fairy stories is at least present here. My daughter and I have read these again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 25 Sep 2012
By 
K. Wilson "skatz" (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Hans Christian Andersen (Usborne Illustrated Story Collections) (Hardcover)
I think this book is wonderful! All Andersen's classic tales told in a manner that is appealing and easy to understand by children from 5-9. The illustrations are gorgeous and the text is in depth enough to hold the attention of children that are past picture books but still like pictures in their books if you know what I mean! I have bought the Grimms Fairytales (also beautiful) too but will probably put that one away for Xmas but will review it at a later date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully illustrated, 3 April 2013
By 
K. Warren (Chester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Hans Christian Andersen (Usborne Illustrated Story Collections) (Hardcover)
I bought this book so that my Year 1 class could listen and read the story of Thumbelina. Thumbelina seems to be one of the forgotten classic fairytales and my class were intrigued by the story. They loved the illustration and kept reffering to the book as 'the special Thumbelina book' because the binding was nice and they were not used to illustration that didn't look digitalised. Thumbs up from me. Also, the other stories are equally well written and nicely illustrated. My only downside is the lack of adjectives, however my class post-it noted them in :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, beautifully illustrated, fabulous size. Not for the under fives., 28 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Hans Christian Andersen (Usborne Illustrated Story Collections) (Hardcover)
This is a lovely book which for grown ups or smaller hands is a really nice size, many childrens books are quite large and trickier to handle while negotiating the duvet whilst page turning at bedtime. I bought this on the back of my daughters obsession of Frozen, as it is said to be loosely based on 'The Snow Queen', I could of bought this story alone but I'm glad I didn't as it's nothing like it! It is however a great take but a bit heavy/involved/wordy for my just-turned-five year old. There are a couple of stories like this in the book but there are also slightly shorter simpler ones.

It's a book that will grow with her and for that, it's a really nice, quality read that's been added to her bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic tales with nice illustrations, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Hans Christian Andersen (Usborne Illustrated Story Collections) (Hardcover)
Can't go wrong with the classic fairytales. This edition of the storybook has a nice 'soft' hardcover and nice illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Hans Christian Andersen (Usborne Illustrated Story Collections) (Hardcover)
Wonderful stories, well-known obviously, but wonderfully written.

I have other books from this series and love the size of the book - ideal for bed-time stories!
To be honest though I had expected more pictures in this book, as is the case in the other books that we have in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Book, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Hans Christian Andersen (Usborne Illustrated Story Collections) (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful book with lovely illustrations to capture the imagination of a small child. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Hans Christian Andersen (Usborne Illustrated Story Collections) (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful, forever book. I bought it for us in school with Year 3 children but I have since using it added it to my 8 year olds book collection. It is so well presented and illustrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased!, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Hans Christian Andersen (Usborne Illustrated Story Collections) (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful book bought as a christening present for a little girl who hopefully will enjoy having the stories read to her. The illustrations are lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely "reading" material, 18 April 2013
By 
moon granny (Berkshire England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Hans Christian Andersen (Usborne Illustrated Story Collections) (Hardcover)
Lovely pictures, not too much text on each pages, most of the well known tales are there - and of course a happy ending - Ideal bedtime reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Illustrated Hans Christian Andersen (Usborne Illustrated Story Collections)
£9.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews