Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, but buy the main book not this one
This is a great book, but don't waste your money buying the mini versions, they seem (from the sample pages) to be identical content to the main book, so you will end up paying many times more buying the smaller books.

Buy this one instead: The Usborne Internet-linked Children's Encyclopedia

It seems no longer available new - but this version also...
Published 19 months ago by Kit

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor standard
I bought this book for my daughter's 5th birthday and we have gone through it all in less than a week. There is not enough in there to hold her attention, and everything is referenced to the internet. I can look things up on the internet without buying this book. I was very disappointed.
Published on 9 Jun 2011 by MrsL


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, but buy the main book not this one, 21 Jan 2013
By 
Kit (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: First Encyclopedia of Science (Usborne First Encyclopedias) (Hardcover)
This is a great book, but don't waste your money buying the mini versions, they seem (from the sample pages) to be identical content to the main book, so you will end up paying many times more buying the smaller books.

Buy this one instead: The Usborne Internet-linked Children's Encyclopedia

It seems no longer available new - but this version also has 320 pages, so I guess it is the same but newer: Children's Encyclopedia (Usborne Internet-linked Reference)

My 5 year old gets a lot of value from the linked book as part of his learning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor standard, 9 Jun 2011
I bought this book for my daughter's 5th birthday and we have gone through it all in less than a week. There is not enough in there to hold her attention, and everything is referenced to the internet. I can look things up on the internet without buying this book. I was very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 13 Nov 2012
This review is from: First Encyclopedia of Science (Usborne First Encyclopedias) (Hardcover)
OK, as a self-confessed science geek I really like this book. My son got it at a school prize giving and really enjoyed reading through and telling me what he had discovered. As he is only 6 I love the fact that this book has opened up the world of science to him.

He now has the Usborne First Encyclopaedia of History and enjoys that almost as much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars First encyclopedia of science, 11 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Encyclopedia of Science (Usborne First Encyclopedias) (Hardcover)
- Fast delivery, well packaged and arrived in perfect condition

- Purchased this for my 8 year old son, unfortunately it was far too basic for him and he read through it in one day. This is nothing like an encyclopedia and I can't see how it can be called this with only 60 odd pages. The internet linked aspect does increase its depth though.

- Would recommend for younger age groups, possibly 4-7 years old range depending on the childs development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars first encyclopidia of science, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Encyclopedia of Science (Usborne First Encyclopedias) (Hardcover)
great book for first intro to science easy to read and to under stand for my eight year old granddaughter would recommend it and the delivery service was excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Usborne are very good, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Encyclopedia of Science (Usborne First Encyclopedias) (Hardcover)
Bought it for grandson who is 7 for Christmas. He enjoys reading and love investigating so he will hopefully love this book. It is also very robust and at the same time attractive to look at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply excellent., 20 Dec 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A delightfully simple reference book for children; it's now gone to Santa for our 8yr old grand-daughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First encyclopedia of Science, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Encyclopedia of Science (Usborne First Encyclopedias) (Hardcover)
A simple and easy introduction to Science. The book is written in such a way that it encourages children to love the world of science which is not easy at an early age! My grandson, aged 6, loves it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Again a Christmas present, 14 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Encyclopedia of Science (Usborne First Encyclopedias) (Hardcover)
Hope our godson will like this and it dosen't get pinched by his older brother! I'm glad I never had that problem!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oh no another book, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Encyclopedia of Science (Usborne First Encyclopedias) (Hardcover)
Getting very fed up now with these so called reviews, its a kids book that I have not read, email my grand kids
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

First Encyclopedia of Science (Usborne First Encyclopedias)
First Encyclopedia of Science (Usborne First Encyclopedias) by Rachel Firth (Hardcover - 25 Feb 2011)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews