Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved the book. Good illustration and the touchy feel is good quality
This is a beautiful book. the pictures are bright and beautifully illustrated. the touch and feel part is also very good. each rhyme has a different texture for the touch. making it very interesting.

ba ba black sheep is one of my 18 month old son's fav songs and we enjoy reading it in this book.

I bought my son another rhyme book before this...
Published on 13 Jan 2011 by Kandan

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Feeling disapointed
Rashly bought this over the internet without having seen it first and was very disapointed with the poor textures offered. Two of the rhymes involved touchy sheep - one was wool and fine the other was a black immitation fabric that was not particularly 'cuddly' or woolly. Of the remaining five textures one was a tartan fabric, quite smooth and uninteresting to touch, one...
Published on 8 Mar 2012 by PollyJ


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved the book. Good illustration and the touchy feel is good quality, 13 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Touchy-feely Nursery Rhymes (Usborne Touchy Feely Books) (Board book)
This is a beautiful book. the pictures are bright and beautifully illustrated. the touch and feel part is also very good. each rhyme has a different texture for the touch. making it very interesting.

ba ba black sheep is one of my 18 month old son's fav songs and we enjoy reading it in this book.

I bought my son another rhyme book before this.

Nursery Rhymes (Book & CD)

he loves that book and it got him interested in rhymes. and when he saw this one, he requested for this one as well (i am guessing cause of the touch and feel ).

we now use both the books to enjoy our song time

Since (at the time i bought the book) the images in the amazon page is different outside and when i click on it, and there was no description of what songs at that time - i was not sure what songs i am going to get. so i just thought i will list the songs and what the touch and feel is

1. Humpty Dumpty - pants of Humpty in a cloth like feel
2. Ba ba - the black sheep itself in a wooly feel
3. twinkle twinkle - smooth star
4. littl bo beep - again 2-3 wooly sheep (a white one)
5.hey diddle diddle - the moon in a smooth feel

and the cow on the outside cover was also a touchy feely one. Hope this helps.

would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful First Participatory Book, 23 Nov 2011
By 
MLA (Wien, Österreich) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
The Usborne Touchy-Feely Nursey Rhmes board book is a wonderful way to start a baby reading. It isn't the ideal book for passively absorbing but it is a terrific book for a baby to engage with. Perhaps best suited from around 3 months to 1 year, the board book is well constructed with a sturdy enough cover and nice points to touch throughout the book. It features 5 different nursery rhymes - Humpty Dumpty, Baa Baa Black Sheep, Twinkle Twinkle, Little Bo Peep, and Hey Diddle Diddle.

There are two features of this book that make it work so well for babies - the touchy-feely content and the easy to turn page markers. The touchable content starts on the cover though that could be quite easily overlooked. Inside, Humpty Dumpty has textured tartan trousers, the Sheep has a fairly coarse wool coat, the Star is shiny and smooth, the Moon has a canvass feel, and best of all Bo Peep's sheep have lovely soft wool.

The touchy-feely sections are well constructed. Despite regular touching, they have not come apart and even the most popular Bo Peep page is still fully intact even though the wool urges babies to grab at it. The board book itself is robust enough though the seam could conceivably be chewed through. The construction is hard enough to take daily affection and the pages are firmly implanted into the board.

Best of all are the flags for page turning. The four flags feature characters from the rhymes and are a great size for a baby to practice turning the page. With each page bringing something different to touch, babies seem to love finding their way forwards and backwards through the rhymes. The flags are sized so well for a baby to grip and they act very well as levers to turn the pages. It is so rewarding to see the baby engage with the book and find joy in it even if the words cannot yet be read.

The illustrations are nice enough and serve for additional material once the fun of turning the pages has worn off. Simple cartoon animals adorn each of the pages and are attractive for a baby. The contrasts in background colour across the different stories also adds to the appeal.

The book has lots its place at the top of the pile for us after the first birthday. It still comes out occasionally but it probably works best as a formative page turning and feeling experience that can bring joy and happiness to a small baby learning to be able to move things around in its own environment and discovering the wonder of books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cute little book, 15 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Touchy-feely Nursery Rhymes (Usborne Touchy Feely Books) (Board book)
Bought this for a friend's baby who absolutely loved it. The little tabs down the side of the pages make it easier for babies to turn over and 'read' themselves. The touchy-feely areas are smart and fun. A definite recommendation to keep children occupied for longer than 5 minutes!!! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Feeling disapointed, 8 Mar 2012
This review is from: Touchy-feely Nursery Rhymes (Usborne Touchy Feely Books) (Board book)
Rashly bought this over the internet without having seen it first and was very disapointed with the poor textures offered. Two of the rhymes involved touchy sheep - one was wool and fine the other was a black immitation fabric that was not particularly 'cuddly' or woolly. Of the remaining five textures one was a tartan fabric, quite smooth and uninteresting to touch, one was smooth shiny gold paper with stars on it (of no tactile interest) and another was silver paper with a slightly silk feel to it.The front cover was the most interesting with a suede feel cow with padding behind the fabric.

Nice idea but very poorly executed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, but look carefully for favourites, 19 Jan 2011
By 
Elfie (Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Touchy-feely Nursery Rhymes (Usborne Touchy Feely Books) (Board book)
My 14 month old loves nursery rhymes and this is a real hit. Her favourites in this book are 'twinkle twinkle' and 'baa baa black sheep'. She does like to touch the wooly sheep on that page, but isn't really interested in the other touchy-feely bits, although they are quite nice. The quality is lovely, nice thick pages with tabs to make it easier for little hands to turn the pages. Lovely, bright illustrations (but not gaudy)! It has quickly become a favourite, which we have to sing repeatedly every day.
Two points I found a little disappointing: 1. It's a little short - only 5 rhymes. 2. I think the edition I received is different from the image shown when I purchased it - from the image it looks like 'hickory dickory dock' is included (another of my daughters favourites and reason for purchasing), but actually a couple of the rhymes are different from the picture shown. Oh, well, she still loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great book, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Touchy-feely Nursery Rhymes (Usborne Touchy Feely Books) (Board book)
Good pictures and plenty of colour. Good format and simple too. Very successful book, loved y parents and children alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Grandchildren love it, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Touchy-feely Nursery Rhymes (Usborne Touchy Feely Books) (Board book)
Lovely book. Grandchildren love it. Even surfaces can be damp-wiped if sticky fingers. Sounds fairly realistic. A few more paces would be good!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Touchy-feely Nursery Rhymes (Usborne Touchy Feely Books) (Board book)
This book is ok but my son is not a big fan. Once you've sung the songs a few times it becomes rather boring. I don't think rhyme books are for us
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Could be better, 4 Oct 2013
This review is from: Touchy-feely Nursery Rhymes (Usborne Touchy Feely Books) (Board book)
I bought the book because i thought the touchy feeliness of the book would appeal to my daughter, however I was a bit disappointed with the lack of texture. The book is nicely put together though and I read her the rhymes just before bed which she appears to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Okay, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Touchy-feely Nursery Rhymes (Usborne Touchy Feely Books) (Board book)
This book is ok. Has about 5 rhymes. Has a bit of different fabric inside, e.g the sheep in baa baa black sheep has some wooly fabric in it etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Touchy-feely Nursery Rhymes (Usborne Touchy Feely Books)
Touchy-feely Nursery Rhymes (Usborne Touchy Feely Books) by Kerry Meyer (Board book - 30 Oct 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews