Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who can solve the mystery, 27 Nov. 2008
of the worn out shoes?

From the story by the Brothers Grimm, retold by Emma Helbrough, for 'Usborne' - in one of a series of books which combines good stories with easy reading text.

'The Twelve Dancing Princesses was first written down by two brothers, Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm. They lived in Germany in the early 1800s and together they retold hundreds of fairy tales.'

From the back cover:-

'Princesses are supposed to be quiet and well behaved, but the twelve princesses in this story like to have fun.
When their father finds out they've been sneaking off at night to go dancing, he is furious.
"Dancing is banned!" he declares.
But will that stop them?'

Durable board covers open to 48 high quality shiny pages in the popular 2-page spread format, split over 6 chapters:-

Chapter 1 - Family trouble
Chapter 2 - The sister's secret
Chapter 3 - Taking the challenge
Chapter 4 - Ralph and Rascal
Chapter 5 - Ralph on the trail
Chapter 6 - A shock for the king

Beautifully illustrated throughout, this book is further enhanced by relevant facial expressions and some speech bubbles. Numbered pages, complete with pale pink ribbon bookmark to keep your place!
Clear, easy-to-follow-text.

Example of text (first chapter):-

'There were once twelve beautiful princesses, all with long, flowing hair and short, fiery tempers.
Their father, the king, was a grumpy old man who didn't believe in having fun.
In fact, he believed that princesses should be seen and not heard.
The princesses strongly disagreed.
The thing they argued about most was dancing.
Their father hated it, but the princesses loved it.......so whenever he wasn't looking, they danced anyway.....'

And despite a locked bedroom door, the shoes belonging to the princesses are regularly worn out, which leads to more confrontations with the king.
He sets up a competition to find out what is going on....with rich reward for the winner, but rather gruesome runner up prizes!
Entrants come....and go......but still no one can solve the mystery of the worn out shoes.......until a bit of magic works wonders!

Super book for little girls!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Expensive but worth it, 21 May 2008
By 
Humpty Dumpty (Wall St, Upton Snodsbury) - See all my reviews
In this version of the old tale, the story remains simple but the illustrations are something else again - grotesque and exciting, taking the young reader to the heart of this strange myth. If you and/or your children are a fan of masterly book ills, then this is for you. One of the nice things is that each full page design is a symphony of colours upon a set scheme - now browns, now hot oranges, nor cool greens or blues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fairy tale modernly retold, 3 Oct. 2011
By 
S. Suárez - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Twelve Dancing Princesses (Young Reading (Series 1)) (Young Reading Series One) (Hardcover)
Beautiful illustrations. My daughters love to pick out their favourite princesses. Story retold in a humorous way, with a grumpy, old-fashioned father and actively disagreeing daughters, which lead to "family problems", as the first chapter puts it. Nice for simple discussion and CD is useful for car trips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 16 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Dancing Princesses (Young Reading (Series 1)) (Young Reading Series One) (Hardcover)
My 3-year old granddaughter is enjoying having this story read to her very much and loves the pictures. Excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Erroll le Cain's "The Twelve Dancing Princesses", 23 Jan. 2011
By 
"The Twelve Dancing Princesses" is a wonderful time-honoured story which exists in many beautifully illustrated versions. This particular version is all the more spell-binding because of Errol le Cain's imaginative and very detailed illustrations. I have two grand-daughters living in Japan who have been unable to obtain copies of this story in that country. We grew up knowing it; so did our children. We wanted our grand-daughters to know the tale of "The Twelve Dancing Princesses" so ultimately this book is being forwarded on to them. Dealing with Amazon who were asked to locate the book and Books Found Fast who supplied it was a straight-forward transaction which went smoothly. Congratulations to all involved for the speed and efficiency with which this book was located and despatched to New Zealand on the other side of the World.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The very best version of this book, 6 Aug. 2009
By 
Ms. Anna Morton "Anna" (St Albans, Herts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I had this book as a young girl and have finally found it on Amazon! It's by far the best version - the pictures are outstanding! I remember looking at them for days on end as a child and deciding which princess I wanted to be! As the other reviewer states - the pictures tell the story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Allie, 22 Oct. 2009
By 
Allie (Henley, UK) - See all my reviews
The illustrations are beautiful and the story captivating. It was my daughter's favourite book for years and she never tired of having it read to her. I now buy it for all my friends' young children too.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We love the story, 8 Jan. 2010
By 
F. Monterrubio (Rolle, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Twelve Dancing Princesses (Young Reading (Series 1)) (Young Reading Series One) (Hardcover)
We love the story so we love the book, great for younger readers and it comes with one cd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent princess story for young children, 14 April 2013
By 
J. Whittemore - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My nursery class children (both boys and girls) loved this story. It led to lots of dancing and extention work on Kings and queens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars it`s a great book, 29 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
i think this book is a excelent price because it is an old fairy tail brought to life by a great authoress.any aged person will like this book but it is a little short and the text size is a little big for my age [11].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Twelve Dancing Princesses (Young Reading (Series 1)) (Young Reading Series One)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews