Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Tome, 1 Nov 2009
By 
P. Walsh "peterwalsh7" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: War (Hardcover)
5000 years of conflict and events that changed and shaped the world. This massive tome is a must for military history buffs and also for anyone interested in why things are the way they are in the world today. Every conflict is covered in good detail from Ancient Egypt to those of the present. It is presented in clear and concise chapters for the various periods in history and tells of the causes of each war and also the aftermath. Also it does not get bogged down with the two world wars, which makes a change in volumes such as these. There are features on how communications, transport, logistics and medicine developed within military circles over the centuries. There is also a chapter on the ethics of war. The last quarter of the book is a directory of all the battles of all the wars era by era. Contained in the latter are also fascinating snippets of information about the history of warfare. Needless to say the book is also lavishly illustrated throughout. The Definitive Visual Guide? I think it is safe to say that it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars extraordinary achievement, 29 Dec 2010
This review is from: War (Hardcover)
A beautifully produced book.

Incredible, concise overview of major wars over an enormous period of time. However, the book does not limit itself to a mere taxonomy of famous battles and wars, it is all set in something of a total historical, and geo-political context, and showing the effect, as well as the details, of the battle or war under discussion.

As with other reviewers, I agree it is a shame that there are not more detailed maps, possibly "pull out" style, to show the development of a particular battle in more detail. For example, coverage of the Battle of Hastings is particularly thin, and skated over, for such a seminal battle in British history.

However, that would only have added to the cost of this beautifully produced book.
The book will, I am sure, encourage readers to seek out more detail on any particular battle or war that has interested them, having been given a good background and overview by this book.

The handling of this massive degree of information and range is really impressive, and must have been a lifetime's work. The book will give the reader a true sense of the developmental process and outcomes of battles and wars, and an understanding of the context of the battle or war.

An extraordinary achievement. Highly recommended to the general reader, as well as the specialist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent summary of warfare, 14 Jan 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (PLYMOUTH, DEVON United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: War (Hardcover)
This volume completes the set of books on warfare by DK (the others being Battle and Soldier. The usual 2 page spread format is retained and the text is concise but informative and easy to read. If I had one small complaint it would be the lack of relevant maps but that is a minor issue. There is a list of major battles for each period of warfare at the back but this is not really necessary and I would have preferred this to be omitted and more main text included. However an excellent addition to the library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History of war, 21 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War (Hardcover)
Very impressed with the layout, detail and pictures. Nicely structured. I got both entertainment and facts out of this book. Very broad but retains detail. I am hot on history of this sort and this is one of the best books in this genre that I have ever seen. Bit big for a coffee table book though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for history buffs, 10 Jan 2014
By 
Donna (Fethiye, Turkey) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of War (Hardcover)
I bought this for my history buff husband and he loves it!
Much thicker than it looks in the add, this book is full of very interesting information and pictures.
I would highly recommend this book for anyone interested in history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lots to read and observe, 1 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. R. G. Raszler "raz" (portsmouth england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of War (Hardcover)
A definite coffee table book on account of its size and weight. I have always admired Dorling Kindersly books because of the depth which they treat the subject. Suitable not only for young people but oldies like me (72)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of War (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my husband who is notoriously difficult to please but who is fascinated by war. He hasn't put it down and has commented on how interesting it is. It catalogues wars from the earliest up to the present in an easy to read format.
I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great big book, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of War (Hardcover)
Nice big coffee table book with a wealth of information, could have had better organisation at times but a handy tome for any military history buff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the grandparents or people interested in history, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of War (Hardcover)
This book is a great source of information and makes a good present for grandparents who love talking about the war and for those who have a love for history based around the war time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Encyclopedia of War
The Encyclopedia of War by DK DK (Hardcover - 2 April 2012)
17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews