Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars love DK guides
I bought this Malaysia guide to research more about the country and its sights and best destinations when trying to decide on a luxury holiday. It does a good job, as do most of the DK guides, on the culture, sights, geography, etiquette, history, and traditions of the country. Excellent colour pictures to entice the traveller, and well written text. I didn't decide...
Published 8 months ago by Lesley-Kent

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, not great
I used this for a 2 week trip I had from Singapore up to George Town. I had the DK book, while a friend I traveled with had the Lonely Planet (LP) version for Singapore/Malaysia. Overall, the DK book had a nice introduction on the history, culture, natural world and people that live in the area, but for information to travel around it was a little too brief...
Published 18 days ago by That Guy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars love DK guides, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this Malaysia guide to research more about the country and its sights and best destinations when trying to decide on a luxury holiday. It does a good job, as do most of the DK guides, on the culture, sights, geography, etiquette, history, and traditions of the country. Excellent colour pictures to entice the traveller, and well written text. I didn't decide on a trip to Malaysia this time, but it is definatly on my wish list for a future visit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, not great, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Malaysia & Singapore (Paperback)
I used this for a 2 week trip I had from Singapore up to George Town. I had the DK book, while a friend I traveled with had the Lonely Planet (LP) version for Singapore/Malaysia. Overall, the DK book had a nice introduction on the history, culture, natural world and people that live in the area, but for information to travel around it was a little too brief.

The book is, to it's credit, not bad. However, it really lacks the depth of information found in the LP guide. The DK book places emphasis on pictures and would be useful if you are (pre)planning a well organized trip to the area. However, if you are planning on doing things on the spur of the moment (as frequently happened on my trip) I would strongly recommend getting the LP guide. The "Bible" for the area is the LP guide to South-East asia, but this covers additional neighbouring countries.

If you are just visiting Malaysia/Singapore then LP guide to Singapore & Malaysia is what I would recommend, though this DK book does offer some information it's simply not as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Singapore Travel Guide, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Malaysia & Singapore (Paperback)
Brilliant piece of information and guide to Singapore and beyond. There is history, travel recommendations and loads of facts to digest - it provides so many choices to explore, giving everything a flavour. Something in the book for every type of visitor whatever their hobby or interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Malaysia & Singapore (Paperback)
I am travelling Malayasia and Singapore at the end of the year and have been looking for a travel guide for ages. This is the most up to date one I found and it has the perfect combination of information and pictures. Very detaield book and perfect for planning my travels around Malaysia and Singapore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eyewitness, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Eyewitness books are always my first choice for travel guides. They present relevant information in a very eye-catching way, with excellent photos, maps and illustrations and useful text. I feel that other guidebooks often go overboard on either text or pictures; these guides have a perfect balance of both. Also handy is the fact that they're very compact and easily portable.

I also love the Top 10-guides from this same publisher, I bought one for Singapore and would have purchased a Kuala Lumpur one had it been available! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hardly used!, 3 Jan 2014
By 
K. WILLIAMS - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Malaysia & Singapore (Paperback)
Really good guide but I had to cut short holiday so didn't get full use of it. A stunning country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DK Guide, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Malaysia & Singapore (Paperback)
an excellent guide with fine images / maps and intelligent and helpful information, all beautifully designed and printed on good quality paper
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Malaysia & Singapore
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Malaysia & Singapore by Ron Emmons (Paperback - 1 Aug 2013)
11.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews