Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Information overload
This gives a complex guide to Tuscany and is extremely heavy for carrying round a city. Therefore I would suggest anyone buying this reads before travelling (very interesting facts) and makes separate notes for pocket or handbag!!
Published 20 months ago by JMO

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars holiday guide
I bought this book as we were going to Tuscany and Florence, although I had a small book on Tuscany I thought this one would be in greater depth. Florence was certainly well covered but as we were travelling up the west side of Tuscany there was no or little mention of some of the places that we visited and were well worth seeing such as Castiglione della Pescaia, Massa...
Published 18 months ago by susie


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars holiday guide, 15 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Florence & Tuscany (Flexibound)
I bought this book as we were going to Tuscany and Florence, although I had a small book on Tuscany I thought this one would be in greater depth. Florence was certainly well covered but as we were travelling up the west side of Tuscany there was no or little mention of some of the places that we visited and were well worth seeing such as Castiglione della Pescaia, Massa Marittima and Volterra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Information overload, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Florence & Tuscany (Flexibound)
This gives a complex guide to Tuscany and is extremely heavy for carrying round a city. Therefore I would suggest anyone buying this reads before travelling (very interesting facts) and makes separate notes for pocket or handbag!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great DK Guide., 18 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Florence & Tuscany (Flexibound)
Not too much info, not too little. Colourful pictures including photographs and cut-through cross-sections of important buildings. They set the standard for tourist guides in terms of accessibility and presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DK guide, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Florence & Tuscany (Flexibound)
DK guides are the best - full of useful information and visual aids for travellers. I would recommend this guide for any first time visitor to Tuscany.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really useful guide., 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Florence & Tuscany (Flexibound)
A really useful book for visitors to the area. Lots of great ideas for things to do, and good places to eat.
Can't wait to get back there.
Loved the pull-out map of Florence - a must on side street rambles!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Florence, 28 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Florence & Tuscany (Flexibound)
I really wanted just Florence but this book was useful - tended to leave it at the hotel and take a list with us because it's a bit heavy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful source of information, 4 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Florence & Tuscany (Flexibound)
I bought this ready for a holiday to Florence and found it useful and reassuring in explaining how easy it is to get from Pisa airport to Florence (tip #1 - take the bus and not the train. You will get a seat on the bus, while the train is generally overcrowded with people standing in the aisles for the 1 hour journey) The book had enough information to help me plan our days in Florence, and will be useful again when we go back to Tuscany as we are now sure to do. (tip #2 - beware pickpockets if you go to Pisa, as I found to my cost on a city bus from the station to the Leaning Tower).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Worst travel guide, lack of info, missed lots of good stuff because of it, 12 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Florence & Tuscany (Flexibound)
I can't believe others have rated this so high. Total lack of information, of no use at all, even the map provided is poor compared to the ones given for free by Tourist information. I decided to give DK a go this time and steer clear of the usual Lonely Planet or Rough Guides. I knew it would not have as much information but I was not expecting this guide to be so poor, in fact it's all pretty useless. Might be suitable for those who are there for one day only, but certainly not recommended for any longer stays. If you opt for this book over others you will miss out on a lot of what Florence has to offer and probably waste half a day looking online or at another guide to get more or correct information. Really gutted we chose this on the merit of other customer reviews, I will never choose a DK book again for travel. Will be sticking to LP or Rough Guides or for even more in depth information The Blue Guide to Florence.Big Disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love DK books, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Florence & Tuscany (Flexibound)
Booght this for my impending trip to Florence and Pisa in July.
Nicely laid out. Have made plans to travel further afield because of it.
I have a few of these and would always look at these books before others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty but already out of date, 3 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Florence & Tuscany (Flexibound)
Attractive book to keep as a souvenir. Gorgeous photos and well written descriptions. As with all DK Guides, the quality of the graphics and layout is great - even if the print is a bit small. This guide's strength is the superb condensed art history. Was only in Florence a few days and so only dipped into the book a few times and on each occasion one or two of the facts were incorrect. Might have just been unlucky with the odd restaurant's closure, but the old pavilion tearooms/toilets facilities listed for the Boboli Gardens have been closed for over 10-years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Florence & Tuscany
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Florence & Tuscany by Christopher Catling (Flexibound - 2 April 2013)
£9.98
Usually dispatched within 1 to 2 months
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews