Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars21
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This 208-page book - the January 2014 print edition - is a colourful and informative guide to the Spanish city of Barcelona, capital of the region of Catalonia. There is a small section on Catalonia, but this volume is primarily about the city. It has all the usual features, including excellent maps and diagrams. There are excellent colour photos breaking up the text columns, so you can see what you are looking for. It is a handy up-to-date guidebook, with day trips, walks, maps and phrase book.

The Contents are -
P009: Introducing Barcelona & Catalonia
P049: Barcelona Area by Area (Old Town; Eixample; Montjuic; Further Afield, Walks)
P109: Catalonia
P133: Traveller’s Needs (where to stay; where to eat & drink; shopping; entertainment, etc.)
P173: Survival Guide (practical information; getting there, getting around)
P188: Streetfinder
P198: General Index
P207: Catalan Phrase Book
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2013
Guide itself is OK, but I had expected that its coverage of Barcelona and Catalonia would be more detailed than the DK Eyewitness Travel Guide to Spain (which I already had). Having done a page by page comparison of the first 30 pages of Barcelona, and a quick look in Catalonia, it isn't. Even some of the introductory pages are just duplicates. So a bit of a pointless purchase if you have the Spain guide. (And if you don't, the Spain guide is better value for money if you're ever thinking of going back to Spain.)
I'll take it as it will be a bit lighter to carry around!
It seems a bit lazy by DK.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2013
Very nicely presented and delightful and easy to use as these series always are, but when called "Barcelona and Catalonia" we expect at least half the book to contain material on Catalonia.But pages devoted to the province is very limited and not sufficient to call it a guide for the province. At least 100 pages are needed.
The book therefore, was a bit of a disappontment,but it is good on Barcelona basically.
Some mistakes in the map references - street reference on recommended restaurants not always easy to find
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
All ready for my trip to Spain. I love the DK Eyewitness travel books. They are packed with lovely photos and lots of information. The only downside is the weight of the full-size books. The 'Top Ten' series are lighter but with less information overall.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
This guide lives up to the high standard set by DK. It is clearly laid out with great pictures and details of most of the things you'll see as you travel around the city of Barcelona. I didn't venture out of Barcelona, so I can't comemnt on the rest.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
I used this guide daily in my last, but not my first, visit to Barcelona. I love the DK series because of the clarity of text and illustrations. It is hard to say who has the best advice, but I haven't gone wrong with the DK series.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2013
The title of this guide is misleading to say the least. informative detail on the city but only a few pages to describe the whole of Catalonia.
I will be needing another guide before I go.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2013
Looks to be a very informative & inspirational guide book
Great price compare to high street
Speedy delivery
Absolutely no complaints at all
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
Used it with my girlfriend on a weekend trip to Barcelona. Was very helpful in finding the must-see spots. Would recommend to friends.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2013
When I take a city break this is always the guide series I use. Very well detaild with good local knowledge, as always a must
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)