Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good clear guide
I bought this book as a condensed guide to carry with us on our visit to Japan in March. We found it really useful as we could find Temples and Shrines that weren't overcrowded. The street maps were great for finding our around during our self-guided tour.
Published 19 months ago by Shirley Pickin

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for tourers
Japan is a very long country, so make sure you need this, and not just the Tokyo version- the Tokyo guide book covers the most popular excursions that you can do in a day on the bullet trains.
The part about Japanese customs is worth reading, take note of the section about public toilets. They are as weird as they sound.
And use the Japanese Tourist centre if...
Published 7 months ago by Ronni Lamont


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good clear guide, 5 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Japan (Flexibound)
I bought this book as a condensed guide to carry with us on our visit to Japan in March. We found it really useful as we could find Temples and Shrines that weren't overcrowded. The street maps were great for finding our around during our self-guided tour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for tourers, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Japan is a very long country, so make sure you need this, and not just the Tokyo version- the Tokyo guide book covers the most popular excursions that you can do in a day on the bullet trains.
The part about Japanese customs is worth reading, take note of the section about public toilets. They are as weird as they sound.
And use the Japanese Tourist centre if you're near London- very helpful before you go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide, 8 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is my favourite guide series, perfect balance between info and graphics, exactly what one needs for a holiday. Not a big fun of other travel guides that are so extensive they could be an encyclopedia of the country :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good overview but lacking depth., 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Japan (Flexibound)
Brought this book based on recommendations and with a view to planning a short trip this year. The main reason was to help evaluate a mid-way stay between Tokyp and Kyoto. I have found that the majority of the central Honshu area is covered in not much more that 20 pages - perhaps not much of a surprise for a book this size. On the positive side the Kyoto region has as many pages.
The book is as clear all DK guides and I am sure that it will still prove to be a valuable guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Information overload, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Japan (Flexibound)
I received it in the post today, and was frustrated after reading it for about an hour. It has loads of information, if you know where you want to go. But for me, just knowing I have five days in Japan, arriving in Tokyo and leaving again from either Kyoto or Osaka, and trying to map out the time in between, it was no help at all. Loads of potential sights of interest are listed with no information which sights may be more relevant than others and how you get from one to the other - a railway map might have helped a lot, but it was not just that. The Arakawa tram line in Tokyo sounds interesting, but it is only a blob on the map with no indication where it starts and ends. A guided 5 day tour of central Japan on the internet suggests "continue to Nara and visit Todaiji Temple and Nara Park (60 min.), Kasuga Grand Shrine (40 min.), and Nara Nagomikan (20 min.)" but neither of the last two is even mentioned in the DK guide. To get to the Ise Peninsula Tour, DK says "trains run to Ise, Futamigaura, Toba and Kashikojima" but none of these places can be found anywhere on the related map. To cut it short: I just ordered a Lonely planet guide, which at least promises some possible itenaries, and hope for better things to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proposed Japanese holiday, 28 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Japan (Flexibound)
We love the eyewitness guides and always use them. This one lived up to full expectation and we are looking forward to our tour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Japan travel guide, 11 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Japan (Flexibound)
This guide is one of the BEST guide for travellers ! Very clear and so helpful ! It is a great pleasure to read it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review, 15 Mar. 2012
Very good guide to Japan, giving a good overview of everything. Excellent way of planning a trip before getting into the fine detail via the websites of the places and facilities covered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars everything yo need to know, 7 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Japan (Flexibound)
This is the best guide book I've ever used. It became my bible during a two week visit to Japan. Comprehensive and easy to read this book, now dog-eared and grubby showed me, in some detail, what sites were essential to visit and offered a peek into Japanese culture. It even gave tips on the best places to see the cherry trees in full bloom.A truly invaluable companion on my trip/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DK EYE WITNESS TRAVEL GUIDE JAPAN; PERSONAL THOUGHTS!, 31 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Japan (Flexibound)
Excellent resume; give a good cross section right across Japan - Geography, Culture, culinary, local custom, facilities etc etc etc

We plan to do 3 week tour soon; proof of the pudding is in the .........

Very Good reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Japan
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Japan by John Benson (Flexibound - 17 Jan. 2013)
£11.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews