Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent clear and useful guide for these stunning Belgium cities!
I have used many Dorling Kindersley gidebooks and they are all visually stunning.

This one is exceptional though. I love Belgium - if you like interesting history and architecture and decent food (and chocolate!) or are "into" lace (!?) then Belgium is the place to go. the fact that you can see Bruges, Ghent and Brussels in a long weekend is a real draw for...
Published on 26 Mar 2009 by uncle barbar

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as it looked
Guide was not that easy to use in Bruges the guide covers selected places of interest and so is not that comprehensive. Maps were a bit small
Published 11 months ago by Greenleaves


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent clear and useful guide for these stunning Belgium cities!, 26 Mar 2009
By 
uncle barbar (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have used many Dorling Kindersley gidebooks and they are all visually stunning.

This one is exceptional though. I love Belgium - if you like interesting history and architecture and decent food (and chocolate!) or are "into" lace (!?) then Belgium is the place to go. the fact that you can see Bruges, Ghent and Brussels in a long weekend is a real draw for me.

This volume - exceptional value at less than 7.50 is all you will need for the four cities on the cover. It's only Antwerp that I haven't been to with this guide - yet!

So, what's inside? Maps of all the important parts of teh cities, history of each area, important places to go with addresses and opening times, places to stay and eat. In fact everything you could want to know and see.

I whole-heartedly recommend this DK book. Go to Ghent and see the castle and the Gothic cathedral. Visit Bruges and go to the Groening museum, the Markt and the Stadhuis (try the Rabbit stew and the Chicken Waterzooi soup they are favulous!) Or go to Brussels where there are too nuemrous places to mention here but don't forget the museums and the Manneken Pis!

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brussels and Ghent, 1 May 2009
As with all the DK Eyewitness Travel, the guide are informative and a delight, with lots of great photos, the 3-D drawn maps and so much detail for when you are in the museums, churches etc. Used it for Brussels and Gent and despite having been to Brussels many times discovered so much more using this guide. The one suprising omission is any public transport maps - at least a map of the Brussels metro would have been expected, although the free map we got from the hotel had this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars as expected, 30 Sep 2013
By 
L. Scott - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Brussels, Bruges, Ghent & Antwerp (Paperback)
Eyewitness are great, I love them, so I always buy them, I like the consistency.
Only gripe with this one is the map - the map shows some streets that aren't there, and then there are streets that aren't on the map; by the time you realise this it's ok, and you can figure it out, but it took me an hour longer to find my hotel because of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as it looked, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Brussels, Bruges, Ghent & Antwerp (Paperback)
Guide was not that easy to use in Bruges the guide covers selected places of interest and so is not that comprehensive. Maps were a bit small
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bit complicated, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Brussels, Bruges, Ghent & Antwerp (Paperback)
I've had better guide books and maps too.
Perhaps Brussels is a bit of a complicated place to get the hang of.
Street by street explainations would help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Excellent Guide from DK, 27 April 2011
Another excellent guide but I would have liked a little more content for Bruge as that was where I was spending the weekend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very informative but missed some of the things we most wanted, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Brussels, Bruges, Ghent & Antwerp (Paperback)
The guide is great. Lovely pull out maps which proved useful. Lots and lots of detail on the history and culture of the country.

Although the guide does have some food and attraction recommendations, we felt that it concentrated much more on the historical architecture rather than modern entertainment. We hoped we would have more information on the chocolatiers and shows/nightlife, but it didn't really.

I would advise buying this if you really are going to Belgium to view the sites only and don't care much for anything else :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always " Top of the Tree", 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Brussels, Bruges, Ghent & Antwerp (Paperback)
Whenever we travel abroad the DK guides are always the first that we aim for.

Details and graphics are top-class and before we visit a venue it is almost as though we know the place already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good travel guides, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like this line of travel guide because they are easy to read, easy to find information in, and are ideal if you've only got a short stay somewhere and don't want to feel that you've missed out on anything. At the same time they offer a brief but interesting history of the area or town, and give a good idea of the local culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the DK guides!, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All these DK guides are brilliant. Love the walks, the history and the pictures. Can't wait to visit to see all the wonderful sites. Good maps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Brussels, Bruges, Ghent & Antwerp
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews