Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book!
I love Alison Smith's books as they are so clear to read and understand and this book is no exception. It is very weighty with a huge content. Lots of images and instructions on how to do a wide range of techniques as well as information on how to make a range of key items.
Published 18 months ago by Julie

versus
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Potentially really good...
I was given this book as a birthday gift and as with all DK books it's beautiful. My real problem with the book is the .pdf patterns that are included with the book. The book says you can either photocopy and enlarge the patterns as they're printed in the book, draw them yourself using the grid lines as a guide (I was useless at that sort of thing when I was a kid, I'm no...
Published 20 months ago by H. Colthup


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I needed, 30 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dressmaking (Hardcover)
I was looking for a book with clear instructions on how to alter patterns to fit and this book does just that. I can't wait to get started
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for any stage dress maker, 12 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dressmaking (Hardcover)
Excellent book for any stage dress maker. Lots of diagrams that lead you through ever stage of the item you are making. I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful Dressmaking Book, 10 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dressmaking (Hardcover)
Really good book that has everything you need for dressmaking . We bought one for our Daughter and she loves it as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellant service, 5 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dressmaking (Hardcover)
This book arrived in good time and was as described. My thirteen year daughter has just started to make her own clothes as this book has been and will continue to be very useful to her. Glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love this book, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dressmaking (Hardcover)
This book is exactly what wanted. I bought it to reintroduce myself to sewing and brush up on my sewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great for the basics, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dressmaking (Hardcover)
i bought this to reengage with my sewing machine and i cant wait to get making myself some new clothes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 21 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dressmaking (Hardcover)
Good book for experienced and novice sewers. includes some patterns to try out new skills. Good value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 28 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dressmaking (Hardcover)
Disappointing. Dealing with a series pf projects, it's not accessible as a general reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dressmaking (Hardcover)
great book and so much cheaper that in the shops,
thanks,
bev tweedle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My dressmaking bible, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dressmaking (Hardcover)
This book is amazing. I am a bit of a novice having not used a sewing machine for 15 years. Also I never learnt to to do anything apart from the most basic of dressmaking patterns. I opened the book when it arrived and immediately learnt a different and better way to do a tailors tack. The book is wall to wall packed full of great tricks and ideas to get the best results from your sewing project. I can't recommend this book enough but it has now become my dressmaking bible. Thank you Alison Smith after a very long search I found your book and I need not buy any others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dressmaking
Dressmaking by Alison Smith (Hardcover - 3 Sept. 2012)
£17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews