Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars71
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£22.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 May 2013
Have been looking at my garden for a long time and wishing I knew how to even start with it. This book starts off with a whole section on planning your garden, and how best to go about it. After that there are detailed drawings, photos and paragraphs on how to look after individual plants, from planting them to pruning them, and also a list of some more popular varieties of certain plants which have their attributes listed. They have sections on how to deal with broader categories such as 'fruit trees' and others, and even have information on how to put together raised beds, water gardens, etc. As a beginner, this book will guide me well for a very long time I would imagine!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
I'm new to having my own garden and really didn't know where to start. My dad (a keen gardener), bought me this as a Christmas gift and it's perfect. The sections are easily laid out to both read through all together and find specific items when you need to. The pictures are great and the captions match perfectly. My dad also has this book and he as a more experienced gardener finds it really helpful just to find small things he can't remember.

Would definitely recommend this to any other newbie gardener like me, or just as the staple book in your gardening collection.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2012
this book was recommended to me by the team at Royal Botanical Gardens Edinburgh where i have been studying horticulture - its a great reference book on all key topics of gardening...
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
My husband (a very keen amateur gardener) was delighted with this book. It is extremely comprehensive and contains everything you need to know about gardening!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
Excellent all round information for the enthusiastic gardener or like me horticulturist about to take level 2 exams soon. Contains everything you need to know.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
i bought this as a present from a new gardener . one of the best reference books i know off covering all aspects of gardening usually £35 so a great price here for £14
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
Anyone who enjoys gardening will love this book. It cover every topic imaginable and is an invaluable source of information.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2016
At 750 pages, RHS Encyclopedia of Gardening is a real heavyweight - but it puts its bulk to good use by being thoroughly comprehensive.

Gardeners of all levels will find something useful here, with sections covering everything from garden design and fruit tree grafting to water and container growing, cacti and succulents.

There's plenty of full colour photographs throughout to illustrate, and if you want to grow your own there's plenty of detail in the chapters on herb, fruit and vegetable gardens.

The book rounds off with chapters on propagation, pests and diseases and weeds, followed by basic botany. If you're looking for a garden reference book, this is definitely one to consider.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2013
Fantastic present for a gardening lover, great book and arrived in good time for the birthday. My boyfriend is training to be a gardener and has found this collection of books really useful.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2013
An overwhelming detailing of many and all aspects of the everyday garden. Great for the novice. Impossible to read in bed.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)