Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The really is a fantastic book!, 7 Dec 2009
By 
Sussex by the Sea (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have bought many of the DK "Definitive Visual Guide" books over the past few years. These have ranged in quality from the excellent (Earth, Animal: The Definitive Visual Guide to the World's Wildlife, Human: The Definitive Guide to Our Species), through the solid (History: The Definitive Visual Guide - from the Dawn of Civilization to the Present Day, Ocean: The World's Last Wilderness Revealed) to the occasional below-par effort (Plant (Royal Botanic Gardens Kew)).

I am very happy to say that Science is probably the best book of the the entire series. It is packed with information, both technical and historical, and does an excellent job of explaining the complex in diagrams and text. My science-loving son was enthralled, and eager to read more of it.

Best of all was the reference section near the back of the book, which summarises a great deal of human knowledge in a few pages - and includes the equations on which science is built. I can't find fault with this book, and it certainly deserves much recommendation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect present!, 27 Nov 2009
By 
H. Taylor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
`Science' is a full-colour, large format book with glorious illustrations, a logical arrangement and authoritative consultants such as John Gribbin, Jeremy Cherfas and Douglas Palmer. All fine communicators of science. The editor-in-chief is Adam Hart-Davis, the greatest UK science and invention communicator of them all.

It uses a historical narrative, subdivided by the disciplines of science and technology. It ends with valuable Reference, Who's Who and Glossary sections. However, `Science' is much more than a reference book with great artwork.

Although it has a useful Index and good `findability' for particular topics and scientists, I don't think that is the best way to use it. Try another method: start at the beginning and read to the end! If you do that you will find `Science' uniquely rewarding because it communicates brilliantly the discovery process of all science through of all its history. It gradually unfolds the pattern of science as an amazing, evolving, historically-grounded global culture.

`Science' will make an excellent present for many young - or young at heart - people. It might just change their life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet Again, An Amazing Book From DK, 30 Oct 2010
By 
zx50 (Next to Consett, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is utterly amazing! It's absolutely packed FULL of all the scientific knowledge your brain could ever need to take in. I've browsed through the book and know that I'm going to love this once I start reading it. I don't know whether these could be a COMPLETE substitute for other books (bit of a contradiction here, I know), but by hell, they come very close though. Anyone wanting to know about science, DEFINITLEY get this. I'm so pleased I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Few would not learn something new from this utterly engrossing tome..., 13 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
DK over the years has perfected the pictorially driven, graphically sumptuous genre of reference type books, and this glorious book is a supreme example.

Captured between these covers is the simplified sum of man's scientific understanding of nature, life and the universe - stunningly presented with thousand of photos, cut-away diagrams and thoughtful full-colour illustrations, backed-up with comprehensible and useful text.

Typically, the book teems with time-lines, info-boxes and cameo pieces which help fill the gaps usually ignored by standard treatments, and help fix the knowledge in one's mind.

DK is also to be credited with treating science as a human story as well, giving welcome space to the personal details of the thousands of men (and women) across the ages, who with extraordinary ingenuity and perseverance have unlocked Nature's secrets - arguably mankind's greatest achievement.

Inevitably on such a vast subject there will be some carping about lack of depth and detail, and a bias (PC?) in material selection which seems to short-change the German contribution in favour of a wider spread of individuals from other nations.....for which as a payoff, I learnt about Spanish scientists (to name only one group) that I had never even heard of.....

In an instance of un-PC contrast though, Einstein's wife Mileva who apparently did the maths and co-authored several of his early papers, still remains unacknowledged even here, in one imagines is deference to the image of the icon....

But all this is a pretty trifling detraction from what is overall a brilliant, entertaining, enlightening and beautifully presented book.

Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concise but rewarding, 14 Jan 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (PLYMOUTH, DEVON United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have a general interest in science and this book is excellent for dipping into. It covers discoveries, inventions and applications in the scientific world in chronological order with a double page spread for each topic. There are also biographies of the great scientists. All in all a very good general reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Book, 24 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Science: The Definitive Visual Guide (Hardcover)
Last year I bought the book Universe which is from the same publishers and in the same vein as this one. When I saw this book I simply had to get it. I am not disappointed the book is fantastic, it has enough information about each subject to give the reader an understanding without too much to bore the reader.

Not much point describing the inside of the book as you can look inside the book in the description.

I cannot praise this book highly enough and would recommend it to anyone. It is suitable for adults and older children.

Nothing to do with the book but I have to say that Amazon's delivery was brilliant, ordered Friday Pm and the book arrived Monday Am and that was with super saver delivery!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dip in and enjoy, 1 July 2010
By 
Mr. M Errington "Chelonist" (Hereford UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not a book to read cover to cover, but is fascinating to open at random. Much is useful to children, and all is illustrated in the most wonderful way. It would make a perfect coffee-table book, provided your coffee table is sufficiently strong, as the book is incredibly heavy, physically. With a wide-ranging set of subjects and an approachable style it is perfect for intellectual butterflys rather than deep research, but as a starting point it is without peer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Science an excellent book, 6 Feb 2010
By 
MackieD (Newbury, UK) - See all my reviews
Fantastic book. Made me remember all the science I had learnt at school, all those years ago.

My son thinks it is great and it has helped him with his school projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Science: The Definitive Visual Guide (Hardcover)
Bought this for my eleven year old grandson and it is a wonderful book for introducing young people into science
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for my 12 Year Old, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Science: The Definitive Visual Guide (Hardcover)
My son hasn't put it down since Christmas morning, looks like i can learn a thing or two as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Science: The Definitive Visual Guide
Science: The Definitive Visual Guide by David Burnie (Hardcover - 1 Aug 2012)
15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews