Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic and beautiful guide for Rome
This volume covers all of the places you could possibly want visit in Rome - and very many more besides!

It obviously covers the BIG places of Rome in superb detail - The Forum has around 20 pages to itself and includes detail on the Colosseum with beautiful diagrams as to how it looks inside out, the Palatine Hill has its own section. The Vatican is covered in...
Published 9 months ago by Uncle Barbar

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Heavy reading map of Rome good though.
Published 7 months ago by carole


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic and beautiful guide for Rome, 25 Aug. 2014
By 
Uncle Barbar (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Rome (Flexibound)
This volume covers all of the places you could possibly want visit in Rome - and very many more besides!

It obviously covers the BIG places of Rome in superb detail - The Forum has around 20 pages to itself and includes detail on the Colosseum with beautiful diagrams as to how it looks inside out, the Palatine Hill has its own section. The Vatican is covered in extensive detail, the variuos famous Piazzas in the city, the Panthenon etc - I could go on they are ALL in here!

Apart from the really famous things the DK book also covers numerous lesser known museums, architecture, restaurants, churches, art galleries, churches, arches, statues, columns etc from all over the city. Many of which you will want to see but will just run out of time and you'll have to come back for more!

I just LOVE Dorling Kindersley Travel Guides. They are not only really helpful when you are visiting a city but, because of the copious number of colourful photos, diagrams and maps - almost a thing of beauty! All I can say is, if you are visiting Rome - you MUST buy this volume - you will not regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable to our first trip to Rome, 4 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Rome (Flexibound)
I bought this guide on the recommendation of previous amazon reviews to prepare for my first ever trip to Rome, both to do research before travelling and for use whilst there. A friend and I went for the full experience - the ancient, the renaissance, baroque, christian, modern, food, people watching, the lot. I ended up reading it cover to cover! It has everything you could possibly need, from a crash course in the history of the city to what to eat and drink, where to stay, area-by-area maps and guides, local customs, phrases, many great maps, practical advice and more. We used it every day and it led us to a number of great attractions and restaurants (and gelaterie...), not to mention stopping us from getting completely lost innumerable times (a miracle).
One thing it didn't tell us that would have been useful is that Terravision run a shuttle bus from Fiumincino to Termini, not just from Ciampino, which you can buy on their website for 4 euros each way per person. Much cheaper than a taxi!

Couldn't recommend this guide enough for those visiting the eternal city for the first time and every time thereafter! One warning - it is a breeze block. Not pocket size...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Valuable companion, 25 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Rome (Flexibound)
As most of the DK Eyewitness Guide I have bought, a superb mixture between valuable facts and informative illustrations. Naturally the book concentrates on the well-known sights in both Classic and Baroque Rome, but ventures also to the lesser-known worth-whiles. The section on worth to know is fairly comprehensive and provides much useful information.
The size and weight of the book maybe makes it less useful while walking the cobbled streets of Rome, but this is a minor issue. I have solved it by using the foldable map and add small post-it arrows with information - this is easy to carry around.
As background material and inspiration for travel planning this book is a valuable and thorough companion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another triumph by Dorling Kindersley, 24 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Rome (Flexibound)
This allows for an incredible insight into Rome. The pages are full of detailed information about the historic sights in all parts of the historical city. The photographs are of a very high standard and the detail generally is excellent, with information on transport, a city map and clear guidelines for eating out etc. etc. I cannot praise this book enough. It is excellent and I do not think any other travel guide of Rome can match it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide book, 19 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Rome (Flexibound)
DK does it again. very good guide book with lots of useful tips on where everything is in the beautiful city of Rome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is the perfect size and the best guide, 25 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Rome (Flexibound)
Unbelievable! Well described, once you arrive to the Eternal City, you are ready to meet all the culture in real life. if you were to travel without a touristic guide, this is all what you need. Do read it before you travel, do use it as a reference when you are there. It is the perfect size and the best guide. High quality!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 9 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Rome (Flexibound)
Great book, very useful and easy to use. Thoroughly recommend it :-) up to date, great restaurant recommendations enabled us to try authentic italian cuisine in places we d never had found.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent and informative, 20 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Rome (Flexibound)
Geeat book very informative witha great maps including a map that is easy ronuse on the go.ngreat pics and all the info you would need,

Arrived very quickky after ordering
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant when combined with their Top Ten Rome guide, 21 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Rome (Flexibound)
This book was invaluable on my trip to Rome over the summer, a lot of detail and a wide range of topics covered. Brilliant when combined with their Top Ten Rome guide!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide to the City, 25 April 2014
By 
Ian Burhop (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Rome (Flexibound)
We used the guide to help us prioritise our visit and followed the guides suggestions for our two day stay. Would recommend it to anyone planning to visit the city
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Rome
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Rome by Collectif (Flexibound - 1 Oct. 2013)
Used & New from: £2.54
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews