Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic and beautiful guide for Rome, 25 Aug 2014
By 
uncle barbar (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Rome (Paperback)
This volume covers all of the places you could possibly want visit in Rome - and very many more besides!

It obviously covers the BIG places of Rome in superb detail - The Forum has around 20 pages to itself and includes detail on the Colosseum with beautiful diagrams as to how it looks inside out, the Palatine Hill has its own section. The Vatican is covered in extensive detail, the variuos famous Piazzas in the city, the Panthenon etc - I could go on they are ALL in here!

Apart from the really famous things the DK book also covers numerous lesser known museums, architecture, restaurants, churches, art galleries, churches, arches, statues, columns etc from all over the city. Many of which you will want to see but will just run out of time and you'll have to come back for more!

I just LOVE Dorling Kindersley Travel Guides. They are not only really helpful when you are visiting a city but, because of the copious number of colourful photos, diagrams and maps - almost a thing of beauty! All I can say is, if you are visiting Rome - you MUST buy this volume - you will not regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable to our first trip to Rome, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Rome (Paperback)
I bought this guide on the recommendation of previous amazon reviews to prepare for my first ever trip to Rome, both to do research before travelling and for use whilst there. A friend and I went for the full experience - the ancient, the renaissance, baroque, christian, modern, food, people watching, the lot. I ended up reading it cover to cover! It has everything you could possibly need, from a crash course in the history of the city to what to eat and drink, where to stay, area-by-area maps and guides, local customs, phrases, many great maps, practical advice and more. We used it every day and it led us to a number of great attractions and restaurants (and gelaterie...), not to mention stopping us from getting completely lost innumerable times (a miracle).
One thing it didn't tell us that would have been useful is that Terravision run a shuttle bus from Fiumincino to Termini, not just from Ciampino, which you can buy on their website for 4 euros each way per person. Much cheaper than a taxi!

Couldn't recommend this guide enough for those visiting the eternal city for the first time and every time thereafter! One warning - it is a breeze block. Not pocket size...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide book, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Rome (Paperback)
DK does it again. very good guide book with lots of useful tips on where everything is in the beautiful city of Rome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Rome (Paperback)
Informative book but very small writing though! It was difficult to read for very long. However it was still a good quality product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's DK, what more can you ask for, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Rome (Paperback)
It's a DK travel book, what else can I add. Extremely good and enabled me to see some of Rome in four days if non- stop walking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide to the City, 25 April 2014
By 
Ian Burhop (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Rome (Paperback)
We used the guide to help us prioritise our visit and followed the guides suggestions for our two day stay. Would recommend it to anyone planning to visit the city
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful book, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Rome (Paperback)
We found the book very useful to find our way around Rome. There some good suggestions for places to visit. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for a trip to Rome, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Rome (Paperback)
Great easy to use guide and map. Plan your trip before you go and take this with you to add points when your itinary allows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Informative but heavy!, 11 Mar 2014
By 
T. Wilson (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Rome (Paperback)
Wonderfully informative and up to date guide on visiting Rome, only one slight niggle is that it is a tad heavy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Rome (Paperback)
Great book, very useful and easy to use. Thoroughly recommend it :-) up to date, great restaurant recommendations enabled us to try authentic italian cuisine in places we d never had found.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Rome
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Rome by Collectif (Paperback - 1 Oct 2013)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews