Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Does what is says on the tin'
The Definitive Visual Guide is what this book is all about!
The look and feel of the book gives you the feeling you won't be disappointed!
There is something here for everyone interested in Astronomy!

It is a large, heavy, hardback book which is hard to put down. More suited to the study/living room
than reading in bed.

If you are like...
Published 23 months ago by CulMC

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Universe.
I'm in Australia and bought the book online to send to my brother in the UK for his birthday. Obviously I didn't see the book, but my brother was delighted with it and said that he found it very interesting and informative. I would definitely recommend Amazon.
Published 3 months ago by Ann Lewis


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Does what is says on the tin', 27 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universe (Hardcover)
The Definitive Visual Guide is what this book is all about!
The look and feel of the book gives you the feeling you won't be disappointed!
There is something here for everyone interested in Astronomy!

It is a large, heavy, hardback book which is hard to put down. More suited to the study/living room
than reading in bed.

If you are like me, getting back into Astronomy after a long absence, this book is a must have! It is written by the Astonomer Royal, beautifully presented and covers most of the topics in Astronomy today. The pictures and diagrams are not too complex and are easy to follow. It is as the title suggests, more a visual presentation as opposed to a 'facts and figures' one [although some are given], with good maps of the Terristial [Rocky] planets and our Moon as well as their main craters etc. Would have liked a bit more on the gas giants, but not as much is known about these as the other planets I guess.
The past, present and future are all discussed here too.

Good coverage is also made of star formation/life cycle and galaxies [including our own 'The Milky Way'] as well as the 'Big Bang' theory etc. and what will happen when the 'fuel' runs out.

What I really like is the star maps for each month at the back [for both hemispheres] and the 88 Constellations! These too are easy to follow and well drawn.

Overall it has achieved it's aim: 'The Definitive Visual Guide to the Universe' and to get people interested in the subject!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb reference, 4 April 2013
By 
G. Hayter (Folkestone, Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universe (Hardcover)
This book is all you wanted to know about the univere with superb photographs and illustrations throughout. The overall quality of the item is outstanding. You wouldn't want to read it in bed though - it weighs a ton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Universe, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universe (Hardcover)
This is an excellent and informative book, it has been very useful for school projects and general enquiries. Would definitely recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Book, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universe (Hardcover)
This book is amazing and it looks excellent from the front cover to the back.
So much information in here and the pictures and photos are brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Universe, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universe (Hardcover)
This is the most amazing book in the world!!
Bought it for my grandson, who is totally obsessed with space,
the universe etc.
Had a sneak-peek without creasing the spine & was totally gob-smacked!
Saw two photos in the Mail on Sunday last week & just had to get it for him.
Can't wait to se his face when I give it to him!
Thanks SO much for fast delivery and VERY cheap postage cost.
Also fancy the oceans book in the series for ME.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Start the Trip, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universe (Hardcover)
With lots of illustrations and diagrams (like all the visual guides DK), an introduction to astronomy and awaken curiosity.
Make the way for specific discussion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning book, 3 April 2014
By 
Dr. Peter Davies (Halifax, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universe (Hardcover)
This is a brilliant book. It has everything you could ask for in a visual guide to the universe. The photography is superb, the printing is excellent. The text is good- but it still takes me a lot of thinking to work out just how someone or something got a camera out into space to get the pictures we're seeing here. The images speak for themselves artistically, and the book explains them further.

The whole is a superb production that stimulates a sense of awe and wonder about the Universe we live in.

It's a big heavy book- but nothing less would do justice to this topic. Readers will come away inspired from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 17 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universe (Hardcover)
As this was suggested for my talented goddaughter (12) from a professor at the Institute of Astronomy Cambridge, I bought it. A weighty tome and thankfully something that will last for years as some of it is way beyond her at the moment, and me! All facts, illustrations to go with the text and not the other way round. Very scientific, full of real astronomy for the very interested or considering a career in the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and very big (and heavy!), 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universe (Hardcover)
Beautiful pictures. Very heavy book though. Probably need to be at a solid desk to read it lol Bought it as a present and it was appreciated :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for visual learners, 18 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universe (Hardcover)
It was a little damaged when received (slight tear on side of hard front cover) but not noticeable enough to have to return it. I got it as a gift for my boyfriend and he loved It. It Is a really good book if you are looking for something with both pictures and descriptions. The other book I was considering was a Hubble book but it was mostly images of space. This book is great with its diagrams and visual explanations. Great for visual learners. Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Universe
Universe by Martin (ed) Rees (Hardcover - 1 Oct 2012)
Used & New from: £14.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews