Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great handy guidebook that's easy to use and carry
A simple, easy to use and easy to carry guide to Malta and Gozo. The top 10 format is helpful when deciding what to do on a short trip - it doesn't have the sort of heavy detail that a guide such as Lonely Planet might, or get you 'off the beaten track' - but it doesn't need to. Most travellers do plenty of internet research these days. I get all my detail and...
Published 6 months ago by BookWorm

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
We were very disappointed with this book. We even wondered whether the author has visited Malta recently, because of the factual inaccuracies. As an example, the 2013 edition refers to the beautiful old buses, but these had been replaced before our last visit, in 2011.

Any short guide will have its limitations, but we found the amount of duplication and lack of...
Published 20 months ago by R. Mortimer


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 7 Nov. 2013
By 
R. Mortimer "mamorti2" (Gloucestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
We were very disappointed with this book. We even wondered whether the author has visited Malta recently, because of the factual inaccuracies. As an example, the 2013 edition refers to the beautiful old buses, but these had been replaced before our last visit, in 2011.

Any short guide will have its limitations, but we found the amount of duplication and lack of detail quite frustrating. In our opinion it would be better to buy a more detailed book, even if it is a little bigger. Alternatively, do your own research on the internet - it's what we did in the end, anyway.

Having always been fans of DK books, this one just isn't up to the usual standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Informative but very out of date, 27 Jun. 2014
By 
ljd (South West, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Malta & Gozo (Paperback)
I bought this because it was the most recently published Malta guide book at the time, and I therefore expected it to be the most up to date. Unfortunately I was very wrong as a lot of the detail is woefully outdated. For example, it notes that Valletta shuts down at night and that it is difficult o get dinner in the city - this couldn't be more wrong as there are lots of wonderful restaurants and cafes, with tables set up in many streets and live music all over the place.
This book is only useful as a very basic outline of tourist attractions but for details such as correct opening times and admission prices you need to check online.
Immensely disappointed that this was reprinted without having been properly updated. Will put me off buying another DK publication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great handy guidebook that's easy to use and carry, 27 Dec. 2014
By 
BookWorm "BookWorm" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Malta & Gozo (Paperback)
A simple, easy to use and easy to carry guide to Malta and Gozo. The top 10 format is helpful when deciding what to do on a short trip - it doesn't have the sort of heavy detail that a guide such as Lonely Planet might, or get you 'off the beaten track' - but it doesn't need to. Most travellers do plenty of internet research these days. I get all my detail and up-to-the-minute information from the web, and a guidebook is then just to jog my memory and give me something to carry when I've not got internet access.

Like all books in this series, it is compact (fits easily in a handbag) and sturdy, with a thick glossy cover that survives a rainstorm and plenty of battering. The inside of both back and front covers feature fold out maps, which are tough enough to last a lot of unfolding and refolding and the odd shower. The front cover inside has a map of all three islands with the key places marked. The inside back cover has street maps of Valletta and the Three Cities, Sliema, and a map of bus routes on both islands.

A new addition from older versions of these books is the 'pull out guide' - a small fold out map stored in a pouch inside the back cover, which can be removed and carried with you if you want to travel really light and leave the guide behind. It's made of the same tough, glossy card as the cover, and features the same maps along with essential numbers, phrases and a selection of things to do (all map referenced).

The guide covers all three islands making up the country (Malta, Gozo and Comino), so whichever island you stay on you should find plenty of information. Many will visit all three as part of their trip anyway, as the distances are small and you can visit sites even at the opposite end of the other island in a day. As well as top 10s of things to see and do, it includes practical information such as transport, customs and safety, and a short phrasebook (although English is an official language and spoken very well by virtually everybody).

Some other reviews criticise the guide for not being completely up to date, which I agree with on certain aspects. But lets admit, no guidebook is ever completely up to date - by the time its published several months at least have usually elapsed. I don't know anyone now who would rely on a guidebook for that sort of information - that's not why people use guidebooks nowadays. These books provide what the modern, internet-connected user really wants from a paper guide - a nice layout, good maps, lots of colour photos, helpful advice. It doesn't rely on being plugged in or having enough battery, and it costs you nothing in roaming charges to read the contents. And if your internet research reveals a discrepancy in details, you can just biro them in!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top travel tips, 10 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Malta & Gozo (Paperback)
Treated myself to this in advance of holiday in Malta. Although I've been there before I wanted to educate myself a bit more on the history and places of interest to visit, eat etc etc. Really good guide-doesn't drone on, is precise but interesting and although I haven't read from cover to cover [am saving for the flight], I've already booked a trip up front after reading about one of the oldest underground discoveries in the world-something I knew nothing of previously. The book quality is very good and has extra bits-like a fold out portable map. Definately worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Malta book, 23 Aug. 2013
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Malta & Gozo (Paperback)
Very good service, very happy with product. Trip to Malta planned for next month, so looking forward to using my guide book then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful holiday guide, 18 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Malta & Gozo (Paperback)
A comprehensive guide to Malta,used it on our recent holiday to Malta and can thoroughly recommend it to fellow travellers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book, 7 Nov. 2013
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Malta & Gozo (Paperback)
Just got back from Malta and found this book very helpful. Lots of good ideas for tours on foot.. Places to eat etc. It really helped us get the most of our hols. Will buy an eye witness guide again for next holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very informative, 8 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Malta & Gozo (Paperback)
Pocket size for ease of carrying around and frequent reference plus lots of useful information on places to see, where to eat and especially things to avoid like driving your own hired car
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, compact and consise travel guide, 8 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Malta & Gozo (Paperback)
A really helpful, convenient size travel guide, which helped us to prioritise how we spent our limited time in Malta.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You know what to expect with DK guides, 2 April 2015
By 
J. Finlay (Leicester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Malta & Gozo (Paperback)
This book follows the format of all of the other "Top 10" books in the series, so is easily fitted in the pocket with pull out maps and lots of colour. You may need a magnifying glass with the maps but at this price you cant go far wrong. DK seems to have cornered the market with this design of pocketable guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Malta & Gozo
DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Malta & Gozo by Mary-Ann Gallagher (Paperback - 1 July 2013)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews