Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Appreciation of a long awaited DK Volume., 10 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Aircraft Book (Hardcover)
Having previously digested many other DK books including The Car Book, I could'nt wait to see what a job they wuold make of this subject. I am extremely pleased with this book which was well worth the wait. It was obviously impossible to include every aircraft ,given the attempt to cover every period of aviation. Nevertheless,this is a volume well worth it's place on every enthusiasts bookshelf. I am well pleased. Ken Boyall
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Quality, 15 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Aircraft Book (Hardcover)
After visiting a couple of aircraft museums we wanted a decent book on the subject for our son and this item fits the bill perfectly. Lavishly illustrated, highly detailed and indexed but written clearly and in small bite-size peices which keeps interest going. Heavily bound and with embossed covers, these are very good value for money and should last a lifetime. Even as adults we keep dipping into them to find out more about different aircraft!

So impressed were we that we bought the The Motorcycle and The Car book in the same range and hope that DK bring out more, perhaps on Ships and Trains?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Visual and Informative Guide to Aircraft, 11 July 2013
By 
G. P. Jones (St Neots, Cambridgeshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Aircraft Book (Hardcover)
I read this book cover to cover in less than a week and thoroughly enjoyed it. The book is well-researched, informative and not dry like other factual books of this type and contains plenty of fantastic images of aircraft from all over the world from the dawn of aviation to the next generation of aircraft. There's also detailed insights behind some of the world's most well-known aircraft manufacturers, engines and pioneers of aviation. Whilst fighter and commercial planes make up the bulk of the book, balloons, airships, and helicopters are also well represented. If you are fascinated by aircraft, then this book is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent visual resource, 6 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Aircraft Book (Hardcover)
The Aircraft Book lays out the entire history of flight: from skeletal machines covered in canvas that you had to launch off a hill, to the supersonic fighters that fly with the aid of a computer.

It is split into sections, from before the 1920s, then a section for each decade to the 1990s, concluding with a summary of developments post-2000. Within these sections the aeroplanes are grouped into various types; for example, single seat fighters, biplanes, airliners, warplanes, bombers and jet fighters. Scattered between these collections are focuses on individual iconic craft, manufacturers, engines and aviators.

The groupings allow you to compare various similarities and changes of craft between certain eras as you turn the pages and it is enjoyable to see the rapid progress of technology, for instance caused by the First World War. Planes from the 1930s were characterised by sleeker metal bodies and advances in speed, with bombers coming into their own in the 1940s, followed by jets and the rise of airline travel as well as affordable civilian light aircraft. The later section details developments such as pilotless aircraft, drones and civilian spaceflight with craft like SpaceShipOne.

Despite the huge number of aeroplanes, each one has information including its name, year, country of origin, top speed and a short paragraph that gives an insight into their unique design features and assesses how their technology advanced aviation.

For more detail, certain well-known planes are focused on over several pages, with a montage of close up shots of their interior and exterior. All of the illustrations are explained and the views of cockpit controls and machinery give you a sense of being up-close with pieces of history.

It’s a great reference work to have because of the large format pages, hundreds of colour illustrations and high resolution printing. The entries are very comprehensive, also featuring craft like balloons and airships, gliders, rotorcraft and helicopters. I also liked the attention to detail with information about experimental aircraft, flying boats and even a bit on airport design.

At the end there is an explanation of how aircraft fly and how piston and jet engines work - which perhaps would have been more appropriate at the beginning. There is also a double page spread on landmark engines as well as a glossary and index.

Like other DK books the presentation is excellent and it is a quality book that readers of all ages will enjoy dipping into.

The in-depth features – by category:
Aircraft: Blériot XI, Royal Aircraft Factory S.E.5a, DH60 Gipsy Moth, Piper J3 Cub, Douglas DC-2, B-17, Supermarine Spitfire, F-86 Sabre, Super Constellation, McDonnell Douglas F-4 Phantom II, Concorde, Bell 206 JetRanger, Mikoyan MiG-29, Duo Discus Glider, Eurofighter Typhoon.

Engines: Anzani Three-cylinder fan, Gnome 100 Horsepower, De Havilland Gipsy I, Rolls-Royce Type R, Pratt & Whitney R-1830 Twin Wasp, General Electric J79, Rolls-Royce Pegasus, Allison 250/T63 Turboshaft, Rotax UL-1V, Rolls-Royce Trent 800, Rotax 912ULS.

Manufacturers: Fokker, Sopwith, De Havilland, Piper, Douglas, North American, Cessna, Boeing, Sikorsky, Airbus, Lockheed, Robinson, Northrop, Scaled Composites.

Pioneers: Otto Lilienthal, Lincoln Beachey, Lillian Boyer, Amelia Earhart and a feature on Frank Whittle’s jet engine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful feast for aircraft aficionados, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Aircraft Book (Hardcover)
I expected something good from the hand of Philip Whiteman, and was delighted to find something outstanding. I'm a long-time PPL and have been buying aircraft books and magazines for fifty-something years, and this may be the best thing I've seen so far. It is a huge visual feast, a well-chosen selection, with beautiful picture quality and terrific detail. The accompanying text is concise and well-informed. I keep dipping back into it, just for pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the aircraft book, 6 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. Brian Martin (Harrogate UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Aircraft Book (Hardcover)
excellent reading for the aviation buff. Brilliantly set out chapters deal with many areas of flight and flying.. A must for a very wide age range and great value from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lavish and stunning value, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Aircraft Book (Hardcover)
Beautifully produced at a remarkably low price. With lavish illustrations and a fair level of detail this book should delight aviation enthusiasts and anyone with even a passing interest in aeroplanes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 27 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Aircraft Book (Hardcover)
Bought this for my son (8) - he loves tracing the progression of aircraft through the years. Perhaps the book is ready to be updated a bit, but overall I think it is a very good reference volume for a budding enthusiast
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPBERB, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Aircraft Book (Hardcover)
What an amazing book for anyone interested in aircraft detail. I make model aircraft and this book will allow me to study detail that otherwise I would not be able to view. Excellent Value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 21 April 2014
By 
Ms. H. Jackson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Aircraft Book (Hardcover)
Got this for my boyfriend as he's very into aviation - I liked it too as there are LOADSSS of awesome pics and illustrations of aircraft from the very beginning! It's pretty cool seeing the development of aircraft through pictures.
I'd say it's a good staple book to have, even just for reference!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Aircraft Book
The Aircraft Book by Philip Whiteman (Hardcover - 2 April 2013)
17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews