Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beware if you are a UK crocheter.
This is an excellent book for beginners, although experienced crocheters will still find it a valuable resource, with some useful patterns, tips and hints. However, beware if you are a UK crocheter as this book uses American terminology. For example, a UK double crochet is a US single crochet. Some of the patterns, especially the motifs and edgings, have diagrams, so no...
Published 18 months ago by erl1634

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for beginners but needs some correction
This book is largely clear and easy to follow with a compendium of techniques and a number of project patterns at the back. The version I have used has the UK crochet terminology not US.

The only real criticism is that the baby blanket pattern has an error and despite checking the publisher's website I've been unable to find anything which has since corrected...
Published 12 months ago by Sarah Fisher


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beware if you are a UK crocheter., 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crochet Step by Step (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book for beginners, although experienced crocheters will still find it a valuable resource, with some useful patterns, tips and hints. However, beware if you are a UK crocheter as this book uses American terminology. For example, a UK double crochet is a US single crochet. Some of the patterns, especially the motifs and edgings, have diagrams, so no problem if you can follow these, but some patterns are written so you need to be aware of the US terminology here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple crochet, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crochet Step by Step (Hardcover)
Easy step by step crochet. Good price and useful reference. Would recommend to anyone thinking of trying to crochet from scratch or renew skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compact but impressive, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crochet Step by Step (Hardcover)
This is a small compact book with a lot packed in. As other reviewers have said the fact that the writting is
1. Very small
2. Due to fine font used and at times grey difficult to read.

If you have difficulty with small print this isn't for you. I've since seen Jane Crowfoot's Ultimate Crochet Bible and if I'd realised that was the large format it was I'd have bought that instead.

A good price, not too much jargon, I struggled with no prior knowledge with this book alone but with You Tube and also later a DVD by Wendy Poole got on much better. I have revisited this book and now better understand what it was trying to explain.

If you only want to buy one book to learn crochet, go with Jane Crowfoot's one as it has basics, a better description of symbols and how to read patterns and covers way more. But is more of an investment.

If you are just passing through and don't want to spend too much to get started, and have good eyesight this is still a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for beginners but needs some correction, 2 Sep 2013
By 
Sarah Fisher (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crochet Step by Step (Hardcover)
This book is largely clear and easy to follow with a compendium of techniques and a number of project patterns at the back. The version I have used has the UK crochet terminology not US.

The only real criticism is that the baby blanket pattern has an error and despite checking the publisher's website I've been unable to find anything which has since corrected this mistake. As a relative beginner I followed the pattern without questioning until the shape of the blanket was obviously not correct. I asked some more experienced crocheters (three of them!) to take a look at the pattern and all confirmed the mistake was where I had come to believe it was. This error led to a lot of wasted effort. Obviously if I'd had more experience I would have noticed and adjusted the pattern accordingly!

The problem now is that I am reluctant to trust that the other patterns in the book are correct. It's not practical to have to refer every new project to someone more experienced to check over before I start.

It's a shame that there is this error as I would otherwise rate this book far more highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just a great book for every crochet lover., 8 Oct 2013
By 
Lynx file (Knutsford, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crochet Step by Step (Hardcover)
Clear diagrams and a step by step approach. Would not go anywhere without it! A must have for beginners and everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good basic crochet book, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crochet Step by Step (Hardcover)
I have done basic crochet on and off for years and found this book very good to get me back into it again and give me more ideas and stitches to try. I would recommend this book for beginners and more advanced crocheters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crochet Step by Step (Hardcover)
A present for my mother, easy to read and learn from good pictures and step by step instructions. Good present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the book so much I purchased another for my sister!, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crochet Step by Step (Hardcover)
Lovely book with clear instructions and a few projects.
A must have for beginners. Blanket and cushion cover patterns are good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crochet step by step - Sally Harding, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crochet Step by Step (Paperback)
A very informative book, well written and well presented. The instructions are clear and concise and there are plenty of pictures which greatly help.
its a good sturdy, quality book which Im sure will prove hardwaring.
I would certainly recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book. Very clear, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crochet Step by Step (Hardcover)
Yes, excellent book. Very clear, informative and great patterns
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crochet Step by Step
Crochet Step by Step by Sally Harding (Hardcover - 17 Jan 2013)
£9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews