Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great map of an obscure place!
Accessible, readable, informative and comprehensive. Author tone is realistic and practical as the book acknowledges that Iceland is expensive but there are ways of seeing the island.
Published 21 months ago by BruTam

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok
Liked the general layout of the book.
Disappointed with the lack of accommodation listings.
These days a lot of people use a website called "airbnb" to advertise their own private accommodation.
Also, I found more alternative accommodation online, particularly around the south coast, than this book lists.
This is particularly important in areas...
Published 20 months ago by M. U. Hulse


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok, 5 Aug. 2013
By 
M. U. Hulse - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Iceland (Paperback)
Liked the general layout of the book.
Disappointed with the lack of accommodation listings.
These days a lot of people use a website called "airbnb" to advertise their own private accommodation.
Also, I found more alternative accommodation online, particularly around the south coast, than this book lists.
This is particularly important in areas where there is not much choice.
There are quite a few chalet based accommodations which this book doesn't list.
Another gripe I have is that there is absolute no mention of the famous F208 road from the south to Landmannalaugar.
A road we took with our 4x4, crossing 30 odd fords and passing through an ever changing landscape that is out of this world.
East of Reykjavik is another good stop that is not mentioned: a geothermal power station open to the public that provides a unique inside into this type of power generation.
All in all a book that is good for background reading and gives you a taste of things but do your own research before you go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great map of an obscure place!, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Iceland (Paperback)
Accessible, readable, informative and comprehensive. Author tone is realistic and practical as the book acknowledges that Iceland is expensive but there are ways of seeing the island.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 18 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Iceland (Paperback)
Awesome! A clear guide to anyone who wants to visit the island, the book is cleverly split into sections for different regions of Iceland making planning a trip easier and gives good advice on best attractions to see. I have been reading this book now for a couple of weeks as I have a trip coming up myself and have found this book resourceful in helping to prepare for my visit. Helpful guide on all areas from transport to accommodation to attractions, and local food and drink too! Don't normally write reviews but this is worthy of one!! Buy it! 😄
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Average, 20 Feb. 2015
By 
Gt Pattison "huscarl" (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Iceland (Paperback)
I bougt it before a trip to Iceland with my children, it was not quite as informative as I was expecting with few maps/pictures. I sold it and went for the Lonely Planet guide which is much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Guide, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Iceland (Paperback)
Thorough, clear, detailed. The sort of book which still works best in physical, rather than virtual, form. This will soon be comfortingly dogeared...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars rough guide to iceland, 1 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Iceland (Paperback)
Helpful book, found some amazing scenic places, which I may otherwise have missed! and some good advice about the swimming pools!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide, 5 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Iceland (Paperback)
An invaluable source of information when touring this summer. A great supplement to the itinerary information we had been given.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I gather it was very useful., 27 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Iceland (Paperback)
Bought as a gift for a lucky person that was visiting Iceland. I gather it was very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Iceland must., 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Iceland (Paperback)
Full of helpful hints and advice. Saved me time and money on my trip! Covers all aspects of a trip to Iceland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Iceland (Paperback)
Packed ful of valuable information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rough Guide to Iceland
The Rough Guide to Iceland by James Proctor (Paperback - 2 April 2013)
£11.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews