Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a must
A really useful companion for anyone visiting Venice independently. Readable, easy to follow and full of accurate and useful information.
Published 5 months ago by Eric Morrell

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for kindle
Thought it would be great idea to have a travel guide on my Kindle, it wasn't. navigating the guide was awkward and frustrating. Continually had to backtrack to the kindle menu. The maps were worse than useless as they were too small to read.
it might be a good book but not on your Kindle
Published 3 months ago by C H Melia


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a must, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Venice & the Veneto (Paperback)
A really useful companion for anyone visiting Venice independently. Readable, easy to follow and full of accurate and useful information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By far the best guide to Venice, 14 April 2013
By 
M. Ellingham "Mark Ellingham" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Venice & the Veneto (Paperback)
This is, simply, the best guide available to Venice; indeed, one of the best written guidebooks I've had the pleasure to use. That is perhaps not such a surprise as its author, Jonathan Buckley, is a significant novelist. He clearly knows Venice inside out and his recommendations are spot-on, throughout, whether he is enthusing about a cycle of paintings in one of the Scuolas or the glassblowers on Murano, or dismissing (rightly) the disappointing modern art at the Ca' Pesaro. The advice on bars and restaurants is equally good. Venice is notoriously full of very average tourist restaurants but following the reviews in the book we hit the jackpot each time (wonderful cicchetti at the Rialto market bars, memorable meals on Murano and at Corte Sconta and the fabulous Alle Testieri); all of them are keyed, clearly (if in rather small type), on maps of each of the areas of the city - very useful. And each of the sights is clearly accompanied by details on the relevant vaporetto stops. But the biggest thing about this book is just how well written it is and how much the stories and descriptions enhance your visit to the city. Hugely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for kindle, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thought it would be great idea to have a travel guide on my Kindle, it wasn't. navigating the guide was awkward and frustrating. Continually had to backtrack to the kindle menu. The maps were worse than useless as they were too small to read.
it might be a good book but not on your Kindle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Venice guide, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Venice & the Veneto (Paperback)
Great book to have with you in Venice, well explained good images of Venice. Informative of history, architexture and culture. Maybe the text is a little to small and makes it difficult to read mainly under low light and there is plenty in Venice because of churches, palaces and small narrow streets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rough guide - always an essential!!, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Venice & the Veneto (Paperback)
This is probably the fourth edition I have bought..essential to get the best out of a place, especially Venice.. where it is easy to miss some things. This edition carries on the excellent tradition..and gives everything from culture..and what NOT to miss in different churches and museums..restaurants and cafes..
This is a travel essential!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, up-to-date guide to wonderful Venice, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Venice & the Veneto (Paperback)
We had been to Venice a few years ago, but decided to buy an up-to-date guide book. We found the Rough Guide to be really useful and well written. I would thoroughly recommend it for those who have been before and want to explore a little deeper (as we did) and those visiting for the first time. We didn't need anything else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rough Guide Venice/Veneto, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Venice & the Veneto (Paperback)
I'd borrowed this book from the local library and loved it, so when I was given an Amazon gift certificate it was the ideal book to use it for. It takes you from your sofa at home to Venice straightaway, it's excellent on the city and its byways, and great for the other islands. The detail on the Veneto makes you seriously consider dragging yourself away from Venice for a few day trips on the mainland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Venice & the Veneto (Paperback)
I love these new guides, easy to use and at a price you can afford to always buy the latest edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Boring!, 21 April 2013
By 
Ms. J. James "jjoy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Venice & the Veneto (Paperback)
Being a long term user of Rough Guides I was very disappointed by this book.
It certainly provides great detail on all of the historic building but reads like a school history book, not a travel guide. Both my partner and I were left less enthused by our trip after reading this book, this is a first with Rough Guide.
There are no walking routes in the book and the maps won't really support a good look around.
I'm now looking for a travel guide with guided walks and detail provided in a more interesting manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of best in the Rough Guide series, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Venice & the Veneto (Paperback)
Venice is never easy to describe with clarity - but this Guide has some clunky layout.
As with all Rough Guides there is an absence of any significant reference to issues of accessibility. My wife is a wheelchair user and (given the rapidly ageing demography of Western Europe and thus of travellers with mobility problems) it is high time that there was integral attention to this in descriptions of hotels, restaurants etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaef45954)

This product

The Rough Guide to Venice & the Veneto
The Rough Guide to Venice & the Veneto by Jonathan Buckley (Paperback - 17 Jan 2013)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews