Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent new lay out
This new guidebook is well set out and the new maps are coloured and easily read. The list of top sites is, as ever, very accurate.
Published 16 months ago by cps

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid like the plague
I used to love Rough Guide, but their digital books are awful.
The content is weak, the maps unusable, the navigation diabolical.
Don't bother with it
Published 12 months ago by Colin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent new lay out, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Italy (Paperback)
This new guidebook is well set out and the new maps are coloured and easily read. The list of top sites is, as ever, very accurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD TO GET AROUND WITH ESPECIALLY THE KINDLE VERSION, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
USED THIS BOOK ACROSS iTALY AND FOUND IT VERY USEFUL. A FEW MORE HOTELS IN THE GUIDE WOULD BE VERY USEFUL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant resource!, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Italy (Paperback)
Such a useful guide if you are thinking about going to Italy and need a good insight into each main place along the way. Would advise getting more specific guides if you decide to cover a smaller area of the country as of course it isn't possible to fit every city/town of interest into one book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still the best, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Italy (Paperback)
I have been using the Rough Guides for over 30 years. No travel guide is perfect but RG is still the best - by a long mile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of information!, 27 May 2013
By 
RJ (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Italy (Paperback)
I bought this in anticipation of a trip to Italy later this year, as our logistics have yet to be confirmed. The guide has helped me decide what the must-sees in the different areas are, as well as providing useful travel information and maps. I'd recommend it, especially as it's the most up-to-date guide available at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars v.good but a bit heavy, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Italy (Paperback)
really good as a reference guide. wish the maps came as a separate entity as they were so useful when getting lost finding hostels but carrying a massive book round the city not so great. would definatly recommend. resturants and accomodation suggestions all good. will definatly use it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well updated, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Italy (Paperback)
Like the updated format though the print font size is a tad small. I love Rick Steves guide books too but this is more comprehensive and covers the places RS does not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... rough guides to any country are full of very good information. Fully recommend, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Italy (Paperback)
i think the rough guides to any country are full of very good information.Fully recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid like the plague, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I used to love Rough Guide, but their digital books are awful.
The content is weak, the maps unusable, the navigation diabolical.
Don't bother with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but, but limited coverage of the regions, 11 Aug 2013
By 
Vunzmstr (Western Europe) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Italy (Paperback)
I have used Rough Guides for many years because I have always found them very useful. Good tips, good background information, comprehensive, good maps. The Italy guide is not bad, but personally I doubt whther it makes sense to make travel guide that covers the whole of Italy. There is just too much to see and do in this big country where history began to leave traces already such a long time ago. Wherever you go, you are bound to need additional documentation on the area where you are. The guide covers a bit of everything making it ideal for instance for someone who makes a round trip of one month, covers the whole country and only wants to see the main sights. But who does that? I will give an example of my 2 trips to Italy this year. First I went to a small village in Liguria. We rented a small house there, so were fixed to one location for a week. That means you want to see things in the neighbourhood. On half an hour drive there was the village of Dolceacqua. It has a huge history, a castle, a historic centre and a spectacular old bridge that was even painted by Monet. Yet the guide makes no mention of it. Without other sources we would not have heard of it. A second trip was to the neighbourhood of Rimini. We were in the Valmarecchia which has so many nice old villages. San Leo was mentioned but for instance Sant'Agata in Feltria with a 17th century wooden theatre and a 15th century castle (amongst other things) and Pennabilli not. So here again we needed additional information.

If you go to places that are extensively covered like Florence and Rome, the guide will probably be worthwhile. If you want to explore a particular region, this guide will not be of much help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rough Guide to Italy
The Rough Guide to Italy by Celia Woolfrey (Paperback - 1 Mar 2013)
11.33
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews