Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars27
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£15.58+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 April 2013
This new guidebook is well set out and the new maps are coloured and easily read. The list of top sites is, as ever, very accurate.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2015
In retrospect I may have done better getting a guide specific to areas of Italy (Tuscany/Umbria/Rome/Lazio) I visited rather than Italy as a whole. The national guide does cover the entire country but does so in less detail and omits places a more regional guide would cover an example being Fiuggi a spa resort and hill top mediaeval town near Rome where I stayed as part of my holiday.
There has been investment in recent years to improve access to tourist sites such as Siena by underground escalators and lifts; Perujia by cable mono rail and a series of underground escalators to Spoleto which are not mentioned in guide. Perhaps this is due to being a national guide or it could be it shows how soon a guide becomes out of date.
The cover of the guide is only laminated paper and not sturdy enough for a guide that is to be regularly referred to.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This 1040-page book - the 11th (print) edition of March 2013 - is an interesting and readable (the two are not always found together) guide to attractions of the Mediterranean European country of Italy.

Unlike many guides, this is not a glossy booklet dotted with colourful photographs to make it look superficially attractive, but a (literally) rough guide in terms of comparative paper finishes, but well-designed and presented, with readable text, useful maps, and (well-chosen) photographs only where space allows. The excellent design and layout means that you don’t need unnecessary spot illustrations to break up column after column of small-printed data.

The Contents are
P004: Introduction (Where to go, when to go, what to see, etc.)
P026: Basics (travel, transport, accommodation, food & drink, activities, and other important touristy stuff,)

P050: The Guide
This contains 17 chapters on the various regions and islands of Italy

P978: Contexts (articles on history, art, architecture, etc.)
P1019: Italian
P1026: Index
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
I have been using the Rough Guides for over 30 years. No travel guide is perfect but RG is still the best - by a long mile.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
USED THIS BOOK ACROSS iTALY AND FOUND IT VERY USEFUL. A FEW MORE HOTELS IN THE GUIDE WOULD BE VERY USEFUL.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
Such a useful guide if you are thinking about going to Italy and need a good insight into each main place along the way. Would advise getting more specific guides if you decide to cover a smaller area of the country as of course it isn't possible to fit every city/town of interest into one book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2013
really good as a reference guide. wish the maps came as a separate entity as they were so useful when getting lost finding hostels but carrying a massive book round the city not so great. would definatly recommend. resturants and accomodation suggestions all good. will definatly use it again.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2013
I bought this in anticipation of a trip to Italy later this year, as our logistics have yet to be confirmed. The guide has helped me decide what the must-sees in the different areas are, as well as providing useful travel information and maps. I'd recommend it, especially as it's the most up-to-date guide available at the moment.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2014
A good guide to Italy. I used it in Rome and found that this book gives good signposts, but I also had their guide to Rome, which goes into more detail, and I used the latter more.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2015
A good, reasonably comprehensive guide to Italy's highlights. True to generally excellent Rouge Guide standards (reccomendations of restaurants, cafes, and usual attractions being particularkt

My only criticism is that elements of the book's 'commentary' seem aimed at a very inexperienced traveller. What particularly springs to mind is a section on driving in Tuscany which wildly exaggerates the difficulty of roads which turned out to be remarkably easy and enjoyable to drive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)