Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Would definitely recommend
I have just come back from 4 days in Barcelona, and found this guide extremely useful. The information on the public transport was helpful, the map was excellent, both for finding my way around on foot and on the metro, and the information on the various sites of interest, divided into the different districts of the city, enabled me to plan a full itineray. Barcelona is a...
Published on 26 Sep 2011 by Mrs. M. Cabot

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Info needs to be updated
The map tucked into the back pocket is excellent - very clear. I also like the sections it's divided into that match the sections in the book. The info is very out of date though, regarding opening times, prices and ticket buying info. It says 2013 inside, but I think these parts haven't been updated in a while. Also DON'T bother getting the train (which is what it...
Published 3 months ago by Miss M Brierley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Brief 2 day stay in Barcelona, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Rough Guide Barcelona (Pocket Rough Guides) (Paperback)
Excellent guide to all the 'must see' sights.
Perhaps clearer instructions about the Metro as well as the main line train from the airport would've been helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Barcelona Pocket Guide, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Rough Guide Barcelona (Pocket Rough Guides) (Paperback)
Easy to find everything, but rather limited in its descriptions of various places. Loved the pocket map at the back of the book. Good directions to get to places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, concise, informative. A holiday essential!, 16 Feb 2014
This review is from: Pocket Rough Guide Barcelona (Pocket Rough Guides) (Paperback)
I visited Barcelona in February 2014 having never visited there before and being quite a novice to city breaks in general. I have a pretty bad sense of direction and get lost easily and also like to plan ahead, not really being a "wing it and see kind of person" so I purchased this book a few weeks before my trip.

The book is very well presented, easy to read and navigate through with a useful map at the front and a brilliant fold out map in the back. The recommendations for the top five sights, galleries, restaurants and museums as well as a guide on how to make the most of your first few days in the city were a great summary to go by when you're only there for a few days to make sure you don't miss out on anything essential.

Each attraction that the author has picked out has a little summary of the history of the place and what to expect which made choosing bars and restaurants easy. The prices shown for some of the destinations are a little low, expect to spend around 1 euro more than the price detailed. It's also worth mentioning that a lot of museums and galleries will allow you a discount ticket if you're lucky enough to be under 25.
I kept this book in my bag everywhere we went and the map was brilliant. We didn't get lost at all and everything you need is on the map with colour coded dots. It made the trip a lot more enjoyable and stress free!

My only criticism of this guide is the author's love for Asian cuisine. After all, I'm in Barcelona I want to eat some lovely Spanish food, however a large amount of the recommendations for restaurants are for Thai/Asian cuisine. One restaurant in particular, "Dos Pallilos", was placed in the top 5 tapas bars, boasting Asian/tapas fusion which sounded interesting. The author neglects to mention that all the food is raw, chicken included, and revolting. Also, we always ended up spending more per head than the author advises you will. It would be nice to see a few more good value Spanish tapas restaurants in the book rather than overpriced Asian cuisine.

Overall, a very good book that will make your holiday much more enjoyable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rough Guide Barcelona, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Rough Guide Barcelona (Pocket Rough Guides) (Paperback)
Clear, concise and useful -- as are the Rough Guides generally. ( a bit dear for a just a city guide as opposed to a full country one)
But you know in advance what you get in terms of presentation and style of writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 16 Nov 2013
This review is from: Pocket Rough Guide Barcelona (Pocket Rough Guides) (Paperback)
Aesthetically pleasing and set out into sections of the map. Only minor problem I had was a couple of attractions were in the book but not on the map e.g camp neu
Would recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide book, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Rough Guide Barcelona (Pocket Rough Guides) (Paperback)
Very useful whilst in Barcelona for the weekend and excellent map, would highly recommend it if you're visiting the city
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Compact but everything you need, 31 July 2013
By 
Mrs. A. M. Fitton (Longridge UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Rough Guide Barcelona (Pocket Rough Guides) (Paperback)
Having been to Barcelona some years ago I just wanted to refresh and update my knowledge before visiting again, I found this guide excellent in every aspect from accommodation to restaurants to places to visit and also getting around
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Rough Guide Barcelona (Pocket Rough Guides) (Paperback)
Good guide, but not much different from many others on the market. I think it is hard for this type of publication to have a USP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 13 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Went Barcelona years ago but are planning another trip and wanted to be sure not to miss anything - really informative little book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Barcelona area by area tips, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent short-form guide to a fascinating city. The restaurant and cafe suggestions were up-to-date and accurate. Relevant for short and longer stays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pocket Rough Guide Barcelona (Pocket Rough Guides)
Pocket Rough Guide Barcelona (Pocket Rough Guides) by Jules Brown (Paperback - 2 April 2013)
5.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews