Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Would definitely recommend
I have just come back from 4 days in Barcelona, and found this guide extremely useful. The information on the public transport was helpful, the map was excellent, both for finding my way around on foot and on the metro, and the information on the various sites of interest, divided into the different districts of the city, enabled me to plan a full itineray. Barcelona is a...
Published on 26 Sept. 2011 by Mrs. M. Cabot

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Info needs to be updated
The map tucked into the back pocket is excellent - very clear. I also like the sections it's divided into that match the sections in the book. The info is very out of date though, regarding opening times, prices and ticket buying info. It says 2013 inside, but I think these parts haven't been updated in a while. Also DON'T bother getting the train (which is what it...
Published 11 months ago by Miss M Brierley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Would definitely recommend, 26 Sept. 2011
By 
Mrs. M. Cabot (Orpington, Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have just come back from 4 days in Barcelona, and found this guide extremely useful. The information on the public transport was helpful, the map was excellent, both for finding my way around on foot and on the metro, and the information on the various sites of interest, divided into the different districts of the city, enabled me to plan a full itineray. Barcelona is a wonderful city and this guide enabled me to enjoy much of it in the short time I was there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Info needs to be updated, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Rough Guide Barcelona (Pocket Rough Guides) (Paperback)
The map tucked into the back pocket is excellent - very clear. I also like the sections it's divided into that match the sections in the book. The info is very out of date though, regarding opening times, prices and ticket buying info. It says 2013 inside, but I think these parts haven't been updated in a while. Also DON'T bother getting the train (which is what it suggests) into the city from the airport, especially if you're flying into Terminal 1, which involves a shuttle to T2, a walk, a wait for a train and a change. The airport bus is a third of the time and only a Euro more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3 days in Barcelona, 19 Oct. 2011
Great guide, found the 2 day itineraries very helpful but be wary of the restaurant suggestions as many have closed down...
Definitely a good buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and Small, 10 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Rough Guide Barcelona (Pocket Rough Guides) (Paperback)
I love the "Rough Guides" books anyway but this is my first pocket one, it's great and has a 2 day schedule that a first time tourist can go by if they don't know what to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an essential!, 10 Oct. 2011
Great guide- pocket size with very handy, if now tattered map(sign of a good trip). There is so much to see that this was a great advance reading tool. As ever, as soon as something's in print it's out of date but I would add Las Arenas to the places to go - it's a recently converted bullring with roof top terrace/running track, by the Espana metro station
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, concise, informative. A holiday essential!, 16 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Pocket Rough Guide Barcelona (Pocket Rough Guides) (Paperback)
I visited Barcelona in February 2014 having never visited there before and being quite a novice to city breaks in general. I have a pretty bad sense of direction and get lost easily and also like to plan ahead, not really being a "wing it and see kind of person" so I purchased this book a few weeks before my trip.

The book is very well presented, easy to read and navigate through with a useful map at the front and a brilliant fold out map in the back. The recommendations for the top five sights, galleries, restaurants and museums as well as a guide on how to make the most of your first few days in the city were a great summary to go by when you're only there for a few days to make sure you don't miss out on anything essential.

Each attraction that the author has picked out has a little summary of the history of the place and what to expect which made choosing bars and restaurants easy. The prices shown for some of the destinations are a little low, expect to spend around 1 euro more than the price detailed. It's also worth mentioning that a lot of museums and galleries will allow you a discount ticket if you're lucky enough to be under 25.
I kept this book in my bag everywhere we went and the map was brilliant. We didn't get lost at all and everything you need is on the map with colour coded dots. It made the trip a lot more enjoyable and stress free!

My only criticism of this guide is the author's love for Asian cuisine. After all, I'm in Barcelona I want to eat some lovely Spanish food, however a large amount of the recommendations for restaurants are for Thai/Asian cuisine. One restaurant in particular, "Dos Pallilos", was placed in the top 5 tapas bars, boasting Asian/tapas fusion which sounded interesting. The author neglects to mention that all the food is raw, chicken included, and revolting. Also, we always ended up spending more per head than the author advises you will. It would be nice to see a few more good value Spanish tapas restaurants in the book rather than overpriced Asian cuisine.

Overall, a very good book that will make your holiday much more enjoyable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful and portable, 19 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Rough Guide Barcelona (Pocket Rough Guides) (Paperback)
Went for a 5 day trip to Barcelona last May half term and this came in handy. I kept the map in my bag which was useful, and the book too a couple of times.
Lots of ideas for places in, and further from the main town with clear ways of getting there. We needed a bus to get to Park Guell (a must is the Monument area!) and this concisely told us which one unlike a couple of apps which gave us complicated, wrong information! Good old books!
Worth a few quid before you go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good guide, 16 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Rough Guide Barcelona (Pocket Rough Guides) (Paperback)
An excellent guide with sufficient information for a stay of a few days. Good recommendations for best sights to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 16 July 2011
Used this recently published rough guide for a 3 day trip to Barcelona and it proved extremely accurate. The map included with the book is excellent. We also visited some of the restaurants suggested and they were very good too. I booked the hotel before I received the RG and when I read the description in the RG it was spot on. All in all the perfect guide for a city break.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Rough guide, very rough indeed!, 6 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Rough Guide Barcelona (Pocket Rough Guides) (Paperback)
Bought this for a recent trip to Barcelona and it was obvious straight away this is badly in need of an update.
Whilst i wouldn't expect this to tell me everything there is a lot of information that is badly out of date and needs amended, the maps aren't any more detailed and informative than the free one you can pick up on the Aerobus from the airport or any tourist information office.
OK for the very basics in terms of sights to visit and recommended places to eat or drink, simply wrong on a lot of important details.
Sort it and out and update it, until then avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pocket Rough Guide Barcelona (Pocket Rough Guides)
Pocket Rough Guide Barcelona (Pocket Rough Guides) by Jules Brown (Paperback - 2 April 2013)
Used & New from: £3.34
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews