Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another list book?
Although it doesn't say so in the title, "Making the Most of Your Time on Earth" is another entry into the increasingly popular style of travel 'list' books - in this case 1000 ideas for exploration and experience which span the globe and the spectrum of travellers' interest (and budgets!). I should admit that I'm something of a addict to these style of books - not only...
Published on 7 Sept. 2012 by A. Webb

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not that Good.
Very ambiguous information with no exact dates of key events. Its colourful and well presented but the content is disappointing, It would be better organised by country and city, so quick reference would be possible. I would not recommend for any serious traveller wanting real advice.
Published 18 months ago by J D Rippon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another list book?, 7 Sept. 2012
By 
A. Webb "spider_al30001" (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Make The Most Of Your Time On Earth (Compact edition) (Rough Guide Make the Most of Your Time on Earth) (Paperback)
Although it doesn't say so in the title, "Making the Most of Your Time on Earth" is another entry into the increasingly popular style of travel 'list' books - in this case 1000 ideas for exploration and experience which span the globe and the spectrum of travellers' interest (and budgets!). I should admit that I'm something of a addict to these style of books - not only for inspiration but also for satisfaction - I appreciate having my own travel experiences ranked as worthwhile by someone other than myself. Whilst this kind of bullet point travel guide gets a bad rap from the more serious minded travellers, there should be space for a couple on anyone's shelves.

Like all books of this nature, the format and presentation can make or break them, and it is in this case that this book falls down. Whilst it's beautiful to look through, there aren't pictures for most of the entries, which is frustrating if the purpose of the book is to leaf through and dream about going - there's probably dozens of walking suggestions in here, and with no pictures to distinguish them they easily become forgettable entries. Furthermore, the lack of page numbering is a strange decision. All the experiences are numbered, and so the index has a reference to this, but when pages have multiple entries, it can take a while to skim through to the right page (finding entry 516 might involve opening the book roughly halfway, then flicking back a bit, forwards a bit...). Also, whilst the book is split into clear geographical sections, within this they are mixed up; entries on Italy, for example, are scattered through the 'Southeast Europe' section, along with such places as Serbia, Turkey and Bosnia.

The question is, then, what sets Rough Guide's offering apart from the many others available? More than any other it is the quality of writing on offer. With so few words available entries in these books can often seem basic, glib and uninvolving - at worst they seem like nuggets of information gathered from a brief Google search. Here, however, there is an admirable mix of hard information, personal experience and inspirational language. Some entries are written as brief travelogues ("I toil uphil..."), a nice way to prevent the book becoming dry and dull. Also, at the end of each section is a page with brief sentences about how to act further on entries that particularly take your fancy - a nice touch when some books leave so much unclear.

This is, then, a decent purchase. The pitfalls of any book of this nature (format, target audience, lack of travel advice) are present as always. If you already own "1000 Things to Do Before You Die," "501 Must Visit Cities" etc. there's not a huge amount new here, what makes this preferable to many of these books is the quality of writing on offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for anyone wanting to travel with no ideas of where to start!, 18 Nov. 2011
I have just got engaged and am looking at the future with my fiance. I bought this for him for Christmas because we want to go traveling but don't know where to start! Even though it's not Christmas yet, I haven't stopped looking at it! It's like the author has literally been to every place written about and this book may stop endless hours of internet searching to plan your trip because it's so specific. It's full of gorgeous photos and gives practical advice about places to go and what things you should do while there. Most importantly, it's VERY honest and it tells you if a temple actually looks shabby in person and whether it's worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Making the most of it, 11 July 2011
By 
Super book crammed with interesting experiences, places, and suggestions. With any of these kind of books the problem is always going to be what's been missed out, but this book does its best to mitigate that with the sheer volume of information it contains.

The slightly laconic writing style nevertheless gives a sense of genuine pleasure in encountering new cultures and places, and supported by the lush photography fills the open reader with a wanderlust that demands to be satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book you come back to time after time!, 14 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Make The Most Of Your Time On Earth (Compact edition) (Rough Guide Make the Most of Your Time on Earth) (Paperback)
This is the kind of book you flick through for an hour here and there. It is very well laid out and interesting. Its one I will be taking with me when I travel to a particular country or area. Beware it will make you want to get up and make plans to travel. I would recommend this to anyone who loves to travel or is planning on travelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not that Good., 25 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very ambiguous information with no exact dates of key events. Its colourful and well presented but the content is disappointing, It would be better organised by country and city, so quick reference would be possible. I would not recommend for any serious traveller wanting real advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting purchase, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Make The Most Of Your Time On Earth (Compact edition) (Rough Guide Make the Most of Your Time on Earth) (Paperback)
Bought this book for a friend who was planning on travelling and she loved it! The book is quite chunky but every page has a nice photo on and interesting fact. Everything worth seeing in the world is in there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect gift for a world traveller, 24 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Make The Most Of Your Time On Earth (Compact edition) (Rough Guide Make the Most of Your Time on Earth) (Paperback)
Exactly what I expected from Rough Guides. Very well written, many non-touristy placec described, beautiful images...good gift for a traveller who still didn't visit all places and is open for travel ideas...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a must, 10 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Make The Most Of Your Time On Earth (Compact edition) (Rough Guide Make the Most of Your Time on Earth) (Paperback)
Inspiring, definitely gives you the travel bug. Would recommend it to anyone, whether you want to get more out of the places you go, or just want to find somewhere to start. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 11 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this as a 50th birthday gift for an ardent bucket -lister, it seemed to go down well! Filled with loads of great things to do and places to see an dots of great pictures
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun travellers book, 12 Jan. 2011
By 
S. Deblander - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book packed with information. Perfect present for young traveller or couple who love to sit at home getting ideas, inspiration and planning trips. Lighthearted, young format really works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews