Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars34
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 April 2015
Having travelled with rough guide books in a few cities in the past, it was the obvious choice for Portugal too. Compared to other guides, like the Basque country, Rome and Barcelona in particular, the restaurant and bar recommendations are rather boring and touristic. In most towns it was easier to discover restaurants and bars ourselves, as the recommend ones were often tourist traps and not very nice. Otherwise the guide has nice recommended driving routes, perfect for road trips, and good concise descriptions of most towns and areas of Portugal. The highlights pages at the beginning of each chapter help with planning weekend trips. Regarding maps and picture criticisms by others: the maps are good in my opinion, although I mostly use google maps to find my way around. The pictures on the other hand arw good quality, but some more would be useful sometimes to make decisions weather it is worth visiting certain places.

Overall:
(+) good summaries of areas
(+) highlight page at each chapter
(+) nice route recommendations

(-) restaurant and bar recommendations not to par with other rough guides
(-) more pictures would be useful

Overall I would recommend the book, but it is not at the same standard as some of the really excellent other rough guides.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This 528-page book - the 14th (print) edition of January 2014 - is an interesting and readable (the two are not always found together) guide to attractions of the Iberian Atlantic-coast country of Portugal.

Unlike many guides, this is not a glossy booklet dotted with colourful photographs to make it look superficially attractive, but a (literally) rough guide in terms of comparative paper finishes, but well-designed and presented, with readable text, useful maps, and (well-chosen) photographs only where space allows. The excellent design and layout means that you don’t need unnecessary spot illustrations to break up column after column of small-printed data.

The Contents are
P004: Introduction (Where to go, when to go, what to see, etc.)
P024: Basics (travel, transport, accommodation, food & drink, shopping, and other touristy stuff)

The Guide:
P054: Lisbon and around
P128: Estremadura & Ribatejo
P176: Coimbra & the Beira Litoral
P216: Beira Alto & the Beira Baixa
P254: Porto and the Rio Douro
P300: The Minho
P348: Tras-os-Montes
P382: Alentejo
P430: The Algarve

P490: Contexts (articles on history and culture.)
P510: Portuguese
P518: Index
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2015
If you are planning a trip to Portugal in the near future be aware that this book is seriously out of date when it comes to visiting Lisbon! We wasted two mornings travelling to different museums/galleries only to find the opening days in this book are wrong. It also describes to area around the Cais de Sodre railway station and market as run down... when in fact it is a very lively place with a huge Time Out food hall, popular with just about everybody it seems!

We also had problems in Aveiro where the map in the guide gives the main street a completely wrong name!

Usually a great fan of Rough Guides, but I think this one needs a update quickly.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
The usual informative base book for a holiday, sadly let down by some less than clear maps and rather fuzzy photos. The hotel comments were very accurate, but restaurants seem to change too quickly or be too personal to match my experiences
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
Very useful guide, would definitely recommend. Plenty of detailed maps for areas of Lisbon, as well as for different towns and cities in Portugal. Portuguese language section at the back, with the food related vocab coming in very handy when reading hand written menus in some of the more traditional restaurants where an English version wasn't available.
I preferred the layout and typeface of this book to the Lonely Planet equivalent.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2014
Overall good guide. Lacks some detailed info about public transports in the more remote areas of Portugal as well as useful info for hiking opportunities.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
Good guide considering it has to cover such a large area. Used it extensively in the Algarve region.However, some of the entries seemed rather dated. It proved to be useful rather than invaluable and had one or two glaring omissions.Most surprisingly there was absolutely no mention of the Autodromo de Portimao international motor racing circuit, finished in 2008 at a cost of 195 million Euros. This is a major European circuit and certainly would deserve inclusion in the guide.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2015
Bought to support a trip in Cascais in the Lisbon area. Cascais is quite a historical place, but this guide only identifies a couple of notable places to visit in the town and gives a whole load more places to eat - not what I was hoping for.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2015
For our purpose this guide had just the right amount of information. We had a three week trip in Northern and Central Portugal starting and finishing in Porto and the guide helped us decide which places to visit.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2014
Very good guide!, thanks to it we could find easily all places and have the right choice!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)