Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good guide, but...
The Rough Guide to Android Phones and Tablets is providing me with some good assistance in getting my Android Tablet going, BUT unfortunately too much prior knowledge is assumed. What I really need is a step-by-step guide. So far I have been unable to locate one. If you have a good basic knowledge of Android Tablet, then you'll get lots of useful tips from this Guide, and...
Published 23 months ago by OldFatherWilliam

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not clear who it is meant for
I bought the book in order to understand my first Android Smartphone. However the writer assumes you already know something about smartphones. He gives you lots of tips about Androids, useful no doubt if you have a collection of them, but not much on the basics.
Published 11 months ago by Kanglajot


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good guide, but..., 14 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Android Phones and Tablets (Paperback)
The Rough Guide to Android Phones and Tablets is providing me with some good assistance in getting my Android Tablet going, BUT unfortunately too much prior knowledge is assumed. What I really need is a step-by-step guide. So far I have been unable to locate one. If you have a good basic knowledge of Android Tablet, then you'll get lots of useful tips from this Guide, and on that basis, I recommend it.
If anyone knows of a BASIC guide, I'd appreciate them letting me know!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful for "Ice-Cream Sandwich" (Android v. 4.0) users., 25 May 2012
By 
Kenneth J. Morris (Burton-upon Trent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Android Phones and Tablets (Paperback)
An excellent guide for those whose device (smartphone or tablet) has been delivered or up-graded with Android Version 4.0. Clearly written with an excellent index as well as a glossary of terms this pocket-sized guide is a must for 'old-uns' like me facing up to a fast moving technological 'personal device' scene. I really can't fault it in any way. But don't buy this 2012 Second Edition if you only have a device using (or non-upgradeable from) Android Version 2.xx.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not clear who it is meant for, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Android Phones and Tablets (Paperback)
I bought the book in order to understand my first Android Smartphone. However the writer assumes you already know something about smartphones. He gives you lots of tips about Androids, useful no doubt if you have a collection of them, but not much on the basics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Really Useful Book, 14 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Android Phones and Tablets (Paperback)
For someone who's not owned a tablet before, this book is good. Well set out, good index, sensible and easy to follow chapter divisions and instructions. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not for starters, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Android Phones and Tablets (Paperback)
It really does not take you throught the steps to get going and understand how the device works. Assumes a much greater level of knowledge than a raw recruit has
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Androids! Piles of Troubles?, 20 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Android Phones and Tablets (Paperback)
Mainly written for smartphones and the American market. Unless you are a complete novice tablet user, save your money snd find a friend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handy guide, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Android Phones and Tablets (Paperback)
Covers a lot of ground for a handy small pocket size book, writen in style that is easy to read and understand
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very usefull, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Android Phones and Tablets (Paperback)
I tried the manufactureres website but not at all good, this gets straright to the point. well worth having. Graete starting point
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars quite good but not a lot on faults, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Android Phones and Tablets (Paperback)
very good reading but lacks information about when things do not work,and how to rectify them, battery life not as long as stated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good basic book on Android, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Does what it stay on the tin and gave me a few tips, but did not reveal anything startling that I had not found by playing with the phone for a few days
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rough Guide to Android Phones and Tablets
The Rough Guide to Android Phones and Tablets by Andrew Clare (Paperback - 1 May 2012)
6.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews